Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bamboo steamer
A fantastic little steamer, exactly as specified and good quality. It is the first Chinese steamer that I have used and would recommend them to anyone.
Published on 23 July 2012 by Kev

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars its not old school - but none are today
wanted to see if these were more solid than those now being sold at my usual UK chinese food / utensil cash-and-carry. sadly, they are just the same flimsy design.

while my old school 20cm bamboo steamers are 6mm thick on the rim, these ones are only 1mm thick on the rim. inevitably this makes them not as long-lived.

it also means you can't balance...
Published 21 months ago by notino


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars its not old school - but none are today, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Of Flavours Oriental 20cm Two Tier Medium Bamboo Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
wanted to see if these were more solid than those now being sold at my usual UK chinese food / utensil cash-and-carry. sadly, they are just the same flimsy design.

while my old school 20cm bamboo steamers are 6mm thick on the rim, these ones are only 1mm thick on the rim. inevitably this makes them not as long-lived.

it also means you can't balance them as safely on the rim of a deep 20cm pan. for safety, these ones you will need to stand in the water inside the pan. with only 25mm clearance between the bottom rim of the steamer and the slats, the maximum water height to provide the steam is 25mm, probably less on rolling boil, if you want to use the lower ring to steam rather than just as a support for the higher ring. that's not much if you're used to using the water to boil something else at the same time.

in summary, its ok for what it is - but what it is, is a pale shadow of the more solid and versatile product it would have been a few years back. if anyone knows where they still sell 20cm bamboo steamers with 6mm thick rims, let me know !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I feel cheated they are so thin and flimsy, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Of Flavours Oriental 20cm Two Tier Medium Bamboo Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
They are very thin and flimsy and not worth the money.....my others are more robust and have lasted...

Very disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bamboo steamer, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Of Flavours Oriental 20cm Two Tier Medium Bamboo Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
A fantastic little steamer, exactly as specified and good quality. It is the first Chinese steamer that I have used and would recommend them to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh and healthy, 10 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Of Flavours Oriental 20cm Two Tier Medium Bamboo Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
Having purchased a series of stainless steel and microwave steamers, I thought that I would try the more traditional bamboo steamer. I certainly appreciate the simplistic design and ease of use. These are practice, easy to use and can be used for a variety of dishes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quality product for the price, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Of Flavours Oriental 20cm Two Tier Medium Bamboo Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
I liked this steamer a great deal when I got it, It's traditionally made and well built with 2 tiers and lid all fitting well together. I did run it under warm water for a little while to remove any dust and loose bits before using it, but it did exactly what I wanted it to. It works well and the food steams great as long as you follow the instructions and make sure the water doesn't boil away! I'm well pleased with the delivery timing and it was in a box that didn't let it rattle around in transit. If you like your food to taste well and also enjoy authentic cooking, then you'll enjoy cooking with this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good buy, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Of Flavours Oriental 20cm Two Tier Medium Bamboo Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
This fits our wok perfectly and is good for two people. It looked much better when it arrived than it does in the pictures. Its slightly flimsy and has now started to break around the edges. But it serves us well and for the price, we are glad that it lasted this long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not good, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Of Flavours Oriental 20cm Two Tier Medium Bamboo Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
Very bad, the steamer broken on me while i was putting the food in it and the guest were waiting for the food and it was very embarrassing so i had to go to Asian shops and found it really cheap, around 3 pound and very good quality. if you still want to buy it don't put lot of food inside it or it will break since its not good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kitchen Craft 8" Pure Oriental Bamboo Steamer 2 Tier with Lid, 18 Jan 2011
By 
Mrs. P. M. Littlemore "Pauline" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Of Flavours Oriental 20cm Two Tier Medium Bamboo Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
This 8" steamer is two-tiered and quite small. I haven't returned it as sometimes my husband is away on business and it provides me with a quick meal. It would be perfect for a single person or a couple. I have cooked wontons in my steamer and they came out perfect. I have rated this steamer as a 4 star, only because of the size. However, I will now be looking around for a single tier 14" to fit in my wok!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total rubbish - one star is one too many!, 4 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Of Flavours Oriental 20cm Two Tier Medium Bamboo Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
This is utter rubbish, poorly made, it has a broken lid, what a waste of petrol, packaging etc to even bother to deliver such a useless item - very disappointing! I will be returning this straight away. Why does Amazon sell such trash? who on earth would keep such a badly made steamer?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
This review is from: World Of Flavours Oriental 20cm Two Tier Medium Bamboo Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
Quick delivery and just what I need - some of the bamboo is splitting already though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews