Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars26
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 May 2014
Similar to the Canadian Atanarjuat, the Pathfinder took me back in time, in an authentic, believable way. This is a story of ancient honour, bravery, sacrifice, mysticism, and love. A I alway learn some new survival techniques and environmentally friendly ways of living in nature with nature.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 2 December 2009
Watching this starkly beautiful film is like catching a glimpse of our distant past. Forget big Hollywood blockbusters crammed with overpaid celebrity stars and crash-bang special effects, here you are confronted with a simple story from Sami mythology set in the stunningly beautiful landscape of northern Norway. All modernity is stripped away as we are faced with the traditional tale of the senseless murder of innocent tribespeople by the vicious 'Tjude'. Only the sharp mind of brave Aigin stands between the survivors and disaster. Watch this in the original Sami language (not 'Norwegian' as it is incorrectly called on the box) as it adds to the beautiful and exotic atmosphere of this half-forgotten classic. I first saw this film one rainy evening in London during the 1980s. The contrast with the noisy, complex, selfish materialism of the city could not have been more poignant. Here was life stripped bare - hard but beautiful. This is a wonderful film. You will not regret watching it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2009
Pathfinder [VHS] [1987]
This film is impossible to get hold of on DVD with English subtitles.Thanks to Amazon I found a VHS dubbed into English, and it saved my day, dubbing or not;-)
Only a few days after ordering, the film was in my mailbox. Good work:-)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 21 May 2009
Beautiful nature and excellent plot based on an ancient legend from Northern Finland, where the bandits (tjurdes) - who are masterly instructed and filled with persons I would mot like to meet a cold dark night - hunt down one same colony after the other, until the pathfinder gets in their way ...

Excellent film
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Low-budget movie of high quality. An excellent story, beautifully shot with amazing sound and silence. Unfortunately the dialogue is not in the original Saami but in German. Why?!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 26 February 2011
This is a truly beautiful film, nothing like the Hollywood movie of the same name. It actually reminded me at times of Kurosawa in it's directing. You really get a sense of the land & weather, & the hardships that it forces on its inhabitants. None of your unrealistic Conan-esque, bear chested hero here. The central character is a young boy taken prisoner by a group of brigands after an attack on his small village. An attack that is wonderfully realistic in its depiction of the less than perfect conditions & myth of honourable mano a mano conflict. It then follows the group as the boy is forced to act as pathfinder for them across the frozen landscape and their fate.

I saw this film years ago on video and raved about it for years, but never saw it again till now. If you like films where you can engage with the characters & soak in the beauty of the landscape then I'd recommend it. No two dimensional beefcake prettyboys showing their perfectly choreographed fighting styles here, just great film making showing what great storytelling on a tiny budget can do.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Classic myth where the scenes drives the story forward,-there is not a single word to much in the sparse conversation.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
A gripping story, a fine cast, and a setting for the tale that is fascinating from start to finish.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 28 August 2009
I first saw this film when I was living in Finland during the 90's and it captivated me, I never forgot it but as an obscure non-mainstream release I was certain it would just be a memory. It's wonderful evocative soundtrack, massive gorgeously brutal landscapes, touching and gentle moments, vicious bad guys, all topped off by an edge of seat climax just would not leave me. When I saw it here on Amazon it was one of those must buy it now moments.
Buy it yourself you will never regret it, and do yourself the favour of watching it in it's native language with subtitles in your own language. The nuances are far more subtle and telling.
One of the rarest and most memorable classics, you will not be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2014
Great film. Old Norse fable and this isn't a bad film and very story driver.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Atanarjuat - The Fast Runner [DVD] [2001]
Atanarjuat - The Fast Runner [DVD] [2001] by Natar Ungalaq (DVD - 2009)

Pathfinder [DVD] [2007]
Pathfinder [DVD] [2007] by Karl Urban (DVD - 2007)

Black Robe (Widescreen Edition)
Black Robe (Widescreen Edition) by Lothaire Bluteau (DVD)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.