Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fable for a post-apocalyptic world
'Time of the Wolf' is one of Michael Haneke's less-heralded masterpieces and, in my opinion one of his best. The drama unfolds amid anonymous countryside in northern France where Parisians Anne (Huppert),her husband Georges and their two children have fled an un-named disaster.

The family's world unravels in a single brutal moment and the ensuing quest for...
Published on 10 Sep 2009 by Dr. P. J. Edwards

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Apocalyptic times
Haneke depicts a post-Apocalyptic France. He conceals the cause and gives no answers. This is a mute end of world aftermath. The title tells us we have reverted back to a medieval back-to-basics scenario. Performances are emotionless shot dogme-style, with natural light. We, the audience, are literally in the dark as are the main characters, Anna(Huppert) and...
Published on 17 May 2009 by technoguy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fable for a post-apocalyptic world, 10 Sep 2009
This review is from: Time Of The Wolf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
'Time of the Wolf' is one of Michael Haneke's less-heralded masterpieces and, in my opinion one of his best. The drama unfolds amid anonymous countryside in northern France where Parisians Anne (Huppert),her husband Georges and their two children have fled an un-named disaster.

The family's world unravels in a single brutal moment and the ensuing quest for sanctuary is a compelling human drama enacted with economy and understatement even when emotions are fierce and raw.

While we recognise how thin the veneer of civilisation can be when society breaks down the narrative of Haneke's film also subtley demonstrates the collective urge to organise and for natural leaders to emerge as a fundamental human trait.

Running through the film is a narrative thread, a post-apocalyptic fable, which informs the film's shocking but powerfully humane denouement.

The film is without music and the cinematography is artful but unobtrusive allowing the audience to focus on some superbly naturalistic performances including those of Huppert and especially Anais Demoustier who plays Eva, the young teenage daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoughtful reflection, 4 July 2012
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Time Of The Wolf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Thought provoking, reflective, showing both the best and worst sides of humanity, stretching the characters across dimensions rather than compressing them into composites.

A world has collapsed, but not completely, the supply centres have been thwarted. A slow film for those requiring car chases and big bangs, this offers none, just the day to day struggle of a social world that has stopped rather than been obliterated. So no mad max stunts, or lord of the flies manhunts, other elements of both are gently integrated rather than obviously built upon.

Reminds me of the Survivors series of 1970's Britain, as we are led into the woods and barren fields of the countryside, as elements of the french round up emerge, along with paranoia.

The ending becomes another question, but given that Haneke asks deep psychological questions rather than states the obvious, the film has to be worked out to individual taste rather than the viewer being forced fed rusks to help with a smooth diet. This way the film lingers rather than evapourates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Post-Apocalyptic Thought Provoking Ever, 21 Jun 2012
By 
Peter Colback (Jersey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Of The Wolf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is one of the Best Post-Apocalyptic sequences ever.
You may have to watch it a few times to get the important, small charisms out.
You know it is right but what would I do in that situation; we like to think we'd be our best and to be the best means moral and noble; but how well do we really know ourselves? To live on day by day like those in the Warsaw Ghetto before the Aktions is akin to this.
Real love? Not sure if I can put that into words but this film goes some way to put it into actions.
Brilliant Director; Thanks Mr Haneke!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After the end of the world, 6 Sep 2008
By 
S. Bentley "stuarthoratiobentley" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Of The Wolf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
After an unspecified event that has apparently cut most lines of communication except radio, a family leaves town to go to their weekend home. But the weekend home has been invaded by another family, and the father of the family is killed by the squatters, who take the family's supplies and shelter, forcing them to move on nomadically through the countryside. They meet a young boy who steals and raids corpses for whatever he can scavenge and then join a group of people waiting at a railway station for a train to take them somewhere else.

This is an end of the world story, but it eschews Mad Max style action to look at human reactions, from the mother slowly coming apart, to the daughter who fights on, to the young boy who suffers in silence. The world quickly loses its laws and its justice and life becomes squalid. And so the story feels realistic, feels like this is how things would go if the world ended. Which of course means that it is also a microcosm of our life today.

It's a dark little tale, which only shows a little hope in the human kindnesses that are done. It's rife with little biblical touches, and the sudden explosion in population suggests it is also human history potted into a little under two hours.

If you want laughs or action, you won't get it. But if you want a human drama, intended to make you think about how we live our lives, then you should be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to learn to interpret, 10 Mar 2008
By 
J. P. Perkins "jperkins73" (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Of The Wolf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
What has happened to the world? Why did they leave the City and which City? If you like a film which flows in a nice narrative style then this film is not for you. Haneke wants you to interpret his film and indeed he refuses to interpret it for you. Much of the action takes place beside a railway with a gathering of people whose world has changed. They are waiting for a train that may never arrive and rescue them. The final scenes are an landscape empty of people and animals. But hangon this is my interpretaton yours may well be better. Try it, the experience is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Temps de loup, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: Time Of The Wolf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a great realistic account of a post appocalyptic world set within well off western society, swathed in symbolism, depicting how humanity copes when pushed to the edge of destruction. As with real life there is no real beginning or end it is your job to depict the hidden messages and meanings. This is no Hollywood dramatisation and don't expect it to be, it has charming tonal qualities that may cause some viewers to fall asleep, but to those more astute it proves an interesting watch. In light of recent events regarding Fukushima, Haneke's decision to hide what happened before the film becomes more prominent, you don't need to much persuasion to accept these circumstances as a potential reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Legend Of The Just, 8 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Time Of The Wolf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Being brought up with the threats of the Cold War has kept the idea of man-made apocalypse in our psyche. And when the laws and civilities of society are swept away we find the true nature of men - both good and bad. This is obviously an interesting and worthy area to explore be it with zombies, plague or nuclear war.
I believe that the title "Time of the Wolf" belongs to Norse myth and Ragnarok - the Twilight of the Gods. Norse mythology is one where even the Gods die.
Tied to this concept is the Legend of the Just. Which I must admit is new to me. This concerns the idea of a handful of people who throughout time have been prepared to sacrifice themselves through self-immolation to save mankind and rekindle the protection of the Gods.
I am not too concerned with comments that this movie is bleak - Apocalypse isn't generally known for its laughs. Some reviews find it frustrating that the disaster is not described but I found a clue in a drawing pinned to the wall...
There is much that is emotionally stirring in the movie: a relationship between Eva and the feral boy who dares not trust; and of course a mother who must protect her children.
There are intellectually interesting themes too: the culture of romance that has developed over male-female relations is stripped bare. Men are either protectors and providers or alternatively predators and thieves? At the desolate railway station the main characters end up, that reading is too simplistic.
Of course, when a society comes under pressure the first victims are foreigners and here I began to sense a theme to Haneke's work.
Those that see nothing in this movie may have been conditioned by the Hollywood dream-factory formula of love, trust yourself and redemption themes. Those themes that are recycled again and again and are warm and comfortable but ultimately don't unsettle or stretch your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Unique, 6 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Time Of The Wolf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
As someone who is on occasion drawn to a post-apocalyptic, dystopian setting for books and films, I can't say "Mad Max: Beyond Thunderdome" pops into my head when I think of "Time of the Wolf". This film centres on a family in the midst of the aftermath of a serious but unspecified disaster, and takes quite a realistic approach to it's subject matter. The opening scenes are immediately arresting and the film unfurls at a steady rate as the characters' desperation palpably grows. The look of the film is quite dark and true to life, but nonetheless the cinematography is stunning in parts. All in all I enjoyed it and I'm intrigued to get my hands on some more of director Michael Haneke's work. The action may be too slow for some (see other reviews) but they can't all be shoot-em ups and car chases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Apocalyptic times, 17 May 2009
By 
technoguy "jack" (Rugby) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Time Of The Wolf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Haneke depicts a post-Apocalyptic France. He conceals the cause and gives no answers. This is a mute end of world aftermath. The title tells us we have reverted back to a medieval back-to-basics scenario. Performances are emotionless shot dogme-style, with natural light. We, the audience, are literally in the dark as are the main characters, Anna(Huppert) and Eva(Demestier) and Ben, deprived of security,home,husband/father,possessions and transport, forced to beg and rely on others. Haneke doesn't give his audience the picture, he keeps things undefined. Using blunt realism he avoids the pyrotechnics of genre movies and sci-fi elements. Exactly what is going on is never revealed. A lack of information and non-specific vagueness undermines the film. Sparse dialogue and stark imagery make up for a lack of dramatic variation and convey monolithic dourness. We end up in a depot for refugees, a small commune with tribal leader. Survivors trade goods for water and women barter sex for food,children die of thirst. They all await a train that may not come(the one from which cameras roll at the end onto a sunny countryside?)Stripped of their humanity people can only come together and pool their resources. Where strangers are predators, this kind of collective may help humanity recover.

TOTW strips away our Western complacency and shows a what-if scenario when others lay claim to your security and social constraints are dismantled. Haneke uses shock tactics evident in the murder of the father, the real deaths of animals, rape at knifepoint and xenophobic scape-goating. Women, children and animals have the lowest place in the new hierarchy. Some cut their own throats or wish to sacrifice themselves. The subtext seems to be ethnic cleansing, refugees and trouble in the Balkans. Extremist religious beliefs of the `Just 36' seem to flourish. The moody cinematography takes place in darkness, blazing fires the only light source. Fire is both destructive and brings hope. Inside the railway depot is a grey, crepuscular light. There is no soundtrack. Things are gloomy. This vision of Judgement Day reflects harsh reality for thousands of war refugees each year. The only sparks of hope are Eva's friendship with the ostracised outsider figure and Benny's new found father-figure who saves him from immolation. The ending too, is almost cheerful, a green luscious landscape insunshine from a moving train.The film for me lacks the coherence of Hidden and the brilliance of Code Unknown.This film needed a simpler narrative(e.g. 28 Days Later, Strayed, Shame).The austerity, desolation and violence recalled his earlier 7th Continent. Haneke doesn't really work through his ideas of the `36Just' and mostly he doesn't utilise Huppert's considerable talents,so she becomes a bystander. Demestier steals the film for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT TV, 16 Feb 2014
By 
noah "t watkins" (Calabasas, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Of The Wolf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I'm American and I am in love with this DvD.. Watching foreign TV is amazing and fun. I'm in awe of how great the storytelling and love the actors roles. I got my movie in a very fast follow thru...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time Of The Wolf [DVD] [2003]
Time Of The Wolf [DVD] [2003] by Michael Haneke (DVD - 2004)
6.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews