Customer Reviews

10
3.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Armaggedon 2003 ended the year and this was an all RAW brand card that peaked and fell in differing stages,so a mixed enough event.
The event opened with mark henry against booker T,this was an ok opener,got a tad dull towards the end but was a decent enough way to kick off the event.
The intercontiental belt was up for grabs next,the champ rvd went up against randy orton who had ric flair by his side and mick foley was guest ref,this match started well,with lots of hard work and skill being flashed about but then the worst thing happened,it got dull and a little samey,the ending was good,but this match died before it should have.
Next up was a match which pitted trish and lita against christian and chris jericho,so for those who may not know,thats two women against two men,this match sounded terrible and it was,some comical moments aside this was filler of the worst kind.
Shawn michaels was up against batista next in a fiery encounter,high in skill and batista had a very good match,michaels causes wrestlers to adapt and in doing so a better match is had,here there was some good stuff and a clinical finish to a good match.
The match between maven and matt hardy was terrible,granted it never happened as batista beat the bald head of maven so it was a no contest but this was lame all the same.
A tag team turmoil match was up next,i liked this rule,two teams start and when one team loses another team enters,the belts were up for grabs and a shock 6th team was added at the last minute to make this even better,but this was a good match nonetheless.
The womens title was up next as the champ molly holly went up against ivory in a very very poor match even by the ladies standards.
The main event was next,a triple threat match for the world heavyweight championship and oh yeah,it was a no dq match so anything could happen,the champ goldberg went up against kane and triple h,this was a very good match with three men who wanted the prize no matter what and they all worked well together,a stunning end meant that the final picture before the end is a true iconic moment but i wont spoil that for you,4 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 3 February 2007
Mark Henry vs Booker T 6/10

A pretty decent match but they could have put somebody else against Booker T and pull off a better match.

Intercontinental Title Match

Rob Van Dam vs Randy Orton: Guest Referee Mick Foley 8/10

An outstanding match with two of the best young superstars of the wwe even though this is a bit long

Battle of the Sexes Match

Trish Stratus and Lita vs Chris Jericho and Christian 7/10

This was surprisingly good for a women vs men tag match and Trish and Lita did really well against the talented Christian and Jericho

Batista vs Shawn Michaels 8/10

Another excellent match from a huge new talent in evolution member Batista and one of the best wrestlers ever Shawn Michaels

Tag Team Turmoil Match for the World Tag Team Titles

Participants are The Dudley Boyz (Buh-Buh Ray and D-Von), La Resistance (Rob

Conway and Renee Dupree), Val Venis and Lance Storm, Scott Steiner and Test, Hurricane Helms and Rosey, and Mark Jindrak and Garrison Cade and a Mystery Tag Team 5/10

This match is good and bad and is not one of the best matches on this PPV which is a surprise

Women's Title Match

Ivory vs Molly Holly 2/10

Boring that's all I am saying

World Heavyweight Title Triple Threat Match

Goldberg vs Kane vs Triple H 7/10

A pretty decent match not much really happened and it could have been better

The two best matches on this PPV are the Intercontinental Title Match and the HBK/Batista Match but other than that we hope 2004 will get off to a great start
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 7 March 2004
WWE Armageddon 2003 was the first WWE PPV not to be shown on Sky in years. Due to a contractual dispute with WWE (although the problem actually goes back as far as December 99' when Channel 4 outbidded Sky for 4 PPV events including Armageddon), Sky refused to broadcast the show, which meant that UK WWE fans weren't able to see it. Thanks to WWE Home Video, UK fans can now see it on video/DVD, but the question is, was Armageddon worth seeing anyway?
The first match of this Raw-only event is a grudge match between Booker T and Mark Henry. Despite the involvement of the lumbering Henry, this is a surprisingly passable opener.
Following an appearance from Co-GM (at the time, anyway) Mick Foley and some celebration cart-wheels from the leggy Stacy Keibler (which are well worth seeing!), Rob Van Dam defends his Intercontinental Title against Randy Orton in an excellent match where Foley does a surprisingly unbiased job as the Guest Referee.
The Battle Of The Sexes Match pitting Trish Stratus and Lita against Chris Jericho and Christian was the result of a love story gone sour. Trish and Lita had fallen for Jericho and Christian, but it later emerged that the guys had only shown interest in them because they had a $1 Canadian bet to see who could sleep with their respective diva first.
Despite the unorthodox nature of this match, Trish and Lita look competent in their roles and the result is an entertaining inter-gender match which sees Jericho sit on the fence with regards to how he reacts to Trish's aggression.
One of Armageddon's big matches was Shawn Michaels VS Batista. Due to the limitations of Batista, many fans weren't expecting too much from this match, but thanks to Michaels, this is pretty decent.
The next match between Maven and Matt Hardy (a last minute addition made on Heat) is a total waste of time (you can't even call it a match. Watch it and see). The Tag-Team Turmoil Match (featuring The Hurricane and Rosey, La Resistance, Val Venis and Lance Storm, Cade and Jindrak and The Dudley Boyz) features some good action, until Co-GM Eric Bischoff adds another team to the mix (clue: they hang out with HHH).
In another card-filler, Molly Holly defends her Women's Championship against Ivory. The ladies put on a pretty fair match (especially considering the short amount of time they've got to work with).
Finally, Armageddon concludes with a surprisingly enjoyable Triple Threat Match between HHH, Kane and the WWE Raw World Champion Goldberg. This arena-wide brawl is the match of the night and is a great effort by all 3 men (although the end result may have allot of fans tearing their hair out).
The DVD extras are plentiful and feature Armageddon promotional spots (most of which weren't shown on UK TV), backstage interviews from Heat (as well as a pre-PPV bout between Rico and John Heidenreich, although this is best avoided), Mick Foley's return to Raw, The Rock's return to Raw, post-match Armageddon interviews and more.
Although it's had quite the grilling elsewhere, Armageddon 2003 is actually an impressive PPV and truly the best sole brand PPV of 2003 (it's also one of the best WWE PPV's of the year). There may be a few booking flaws here and there, but Armageddon 2003 still provides plenty of entertainment and proves to be a great way to cap off the year 2003.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 26 October 2004
This was the final wwe ppv for the year 2003. The ppv wasnt bad, could of been better in parts, but could of been far worse too! There is three championships on the line.
Booker T Vs Mark Henry
I have no idea why the wwe like mark henry so much, he sucks in the ring. However the match was ok i suppose, although i think they should have picked a better match to open the show with. The match includes a botched powerbomb by Henry. [5/10]
WWE Intercontintal Championship
Special Referee: Mick Foley
Rob Van Dam (c) Vs Randy Orton w/ Ric Flair
This was possibly the best match of the night. Both men seem to work well together, and there was some very good moves done by Rvd & Orton during the match. [9/10]
Battle Of The sexes
Trish Stratus & Lita Vs Chris Jericho & Christian
The match itself wasnt very good, however the match was good for story lines more than anyhting else, due to Jericho's impending face turn. Still watchable. [5.5/10]
'HBK' Shawn Michales Vs Batista
The match was surprisingly pretty good. I say surprisingly because Batista isnt the best in the ring at the moment. However Batista worked hard in the macth and it came off pretty good due to the fact that his opponant was HBK, and how often does HBK have a bad match?!? = hardly ever. [8/10]
Maven Vs Matt Hardy V.1
This wasnt even hardly a match, a quick brawl on the outside of the ring before a heavy beatdown by Batista. [3/10]
World tag Team Championship
Tag Team Turmoil Match
Dudely Boyz (c) Vs Mark Jindrak & Garrison Cade Vs Val Venis & Lance Storm Vs Hurricane & Rosey Vs La Resistance Vs Scott Steiner & Test Vs ??? (surprise entrants)
This match wasnt that good in my opinin, should of been far better. Still alrite though. The ending was pretty good though when Eric Bishoff brought out a team of surprise entrants. [6.5/10]
WWE Womans Championship
Molly Holly (c) Ivory
A typcial womans match, so nothing special. Good efforts by both women though for a fairly short match. [5/10]
World Heavyweight Championship
Triple threat Match
Goldberg (c) Vs Kane Vs Triple H
A decent enough match, depsite Goldberg being in it - as he sucks. Good efforts by all three though. Second best match of the night behind the RVD/Orton match. Good entertaining stuff. [8.5/10]
Overall a good ppv. Some good matches and some not so good ones aswel. Worth buying.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 27 February 2004
This was a mediocre PPV, but I believe worth buying. It began with the singing of the american national anthem to celebrate Saddam Hussein's capture (WWE are very patriotic). It would contain many good matches which were Booker T vs. Mark Henry, the Women's Championship with Molly Holly Vs. Ivory, a Tag Team title match in Tag Team Turmoil, the Battle of the Sexes with Trish and Lita vs. Jericho and Christian. The 3 top matches were an Intercontinental title match with RVD defending against Randy Orton with Mick Foley as a guest referee, HBK vs. Batista, and a Triple Threat match with Goldberg vs. Kane vs. Triple H. One group will be holding all the titles by the end of the night. This DVD will appear tempting for many WWE fans in the UK due to the event not being showed on Sky Box Office, but it would be better to get the webcast from WWEShopzone.com as there is not much more on this DVD than the actual event. It was however, quite a predictable evening, not too interesting and I see why Sky didn't buy the rights to this. I rated it 3 out of 5 because despite the many boring parts of this, there are a couple of good matches, including the Shawn Michaels vs. Batista match. Overall, I'd say this was a not so good PPV and as the title says, not the best end to the year for the WWE.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 25 June 2010
I got to say that I really enjoyed this edition of WWE Armageddon 2003, nearly every match was so exciting to watch, including the main event for the World Heavyweight Title.

I have to say that the whole of this event does really evolve around Evolution where each member of the group was involved in title matches.

The match of the night in my opinion was the main event as it was just fun and exciting to see and witness. Triple H and Kane worked very well as a team in this match as they were trying to destroy Goldberg. Goldberg did come into this match with his usual powerful moves but in my opinion Kane and Triple H were the better performers, just a shame really that Kane lost this match, but the King of Kings got back his World Heavyweight Championship.

Both the RVD vs Orton and HBK vs Batista were my sub favourites as Orton totally dominated RVD into a match that was awesome for the WWE Intercontinental Championship, and Shawn Michaels and Batista put on a really good match with a super sweet chin music finish.

This dvd has a great deal of extras and am really proud and pleased to say that this PPV is one of my favorites, and glad to have it as part of my WWE collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 5 August 2005
alot of people have said bad things about this pay per view but it was'nt all that bad the main event was good wwe heavyweight championship goldberg(champion)vs triple h vs kane a good match i thought taht at last kane would win the title he has'nt won it since he defeated stone cold steve austin at the king of the ring 98 rvd vs rob van dam quality match,but the match that for me stole the show was the heartbreak kid shawn michales vs the animal of evoultion batista if your a maven fan i advise you not to watch all in all prety good pay per view probably the best armageddon in its 5 event history
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 26 February 2005
Very good PPV let down by the main event, Triple H (the greatest pro wrestler of the last 10 years) was injured and Goldberg was overated.
But good matches in general, Evolution on top!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 15 June 2004
Suffice to say, that this pay-per-view was not aired in the UK, that is nothing but good news in my opinion. There is nothing interesting in this very poor Armageddon event, the matches are predictable and almost every match (with the exception of shawn micheals (Batista), and RVD (Randy Orton), this pay-per-view is almost painful to watch. Why Batista is employed is beyond me? even the A-train has a few more moves than this muscle freak.
Triple H on the other hand cannot be blamed for his mediocre performance as he was suffering from a groin injury. This is one pay-per-view that I would never recommend to any WWE fan. I am thankful that it was not shown on Box office to persuade fans to purchase it.
Also another point, WWE, get rid of Batista hes a waste of space Im sorry to say but its true.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 26 July 2004
It felt like "Armageddon" when watching it!!! This is the worst event ever along with The Great American Bash 2004.
Booker T vs Mark Henry
Bad, this is a waste of booker's time, thank god he's gone to smackdown and maybe they'll do something with him now eh? As far Mark Henry well he's just rubbish now. 3/10
RVD vs Orton (IC Title)
This was actually good, but not good enough to salvage the event. These two are great wrestlers, and i can't wait for orton to become the World Heavyweight Champ, Mich Foley as a referee isnt bad, but the match in general was pretty good. 6.5/10
Trish and Lita vs Jericho and Christian.
Good storyline but bad match, in my opinion what bad way to use the first ever undisputed champion. No decent moves and a waste of everyone's time. 4/10
HBK vs Batista
This was the joint best match of the night, good performance from shawn, not bad from batista and they did well in a good match. 6.5/10
Maven vs Matt Hardy
ABSOLUTELY RUBBISH, can't say anything else 1/10
Tag Team Turmoil
Not as good as it could have been, the ending was was ok, but in general a bad performance from teams who will never be as good as the hardyz, edge and christian and the dudleyz on their day. 5/10
Molly vs Ivory
Waste of time again, dont even bother watching this. 2/10
Triple Threat
HHH vs Golberg vs Kane
For starters, what the hell is Goldberg doing, he is the most overrated wrestler of all time,he ruined summerslam 2003, he ruins wrestling and the wwe. He cannot wrestle and has ended the career of the greatest wrestler of all time, Bret Hart. Kane was good in his old character and hhh did ok considering he had an injury, this match is no-where near as good as possible i'd say this is about 5/10
The extras aren't too bad actually, but even if this was at £2 this event isn't worth it...i've watched wrestling for just over 10 years and never have i seen seen such a shambolic display. Bring back the good years!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
WWE - Vengeance 2003 [DVD]
WWE - Vengeance 2003 [DVD] by Wwe (DVD - 2003)
£32.68


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.