Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should be available on the NHS, 17 Aug 2004
By 
Mrs Tina Hammond (Telford, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doctor [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Whilst William Hurt is superb in this film, the main reason for recommending it is, that I believe, it should be compulsory for all people entering the medical profession to watch it.The story portrays an arrogant consultant (Hurt)who shows little regard for the feelings or fears of his patients.He then becomes ill and finds himself under an equally arrogant consultant. The effect of this experience is life changing for him, his staff and his patients. His new methods of training junior doctors, as a result, is inspired !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and a tear jerker, 22 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: The Doctor [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This film explores what it is like for a Doctor, being a patient, when he becomes terminally ill. You get a real sense of how the medical system, treats patients like conveyor belts, with no dignity.

William Hurt struggles to find a voice, in his role as the patient. He attempts to remind the consultants, whilst he is being treated, that he is a doctor, but noone seems to care. Once he becomes a patient, they forget he was once one of them.

He is forced to look at the way he practiced before he became ill, when he is a patient. He also learns from other patients what their view of the system is, and this touches him.

When his health improves, and he goes back into practice, he changes the way he relates to patients.

As other reviewers have mentioned, this film is essential, for anyone who works in the medical profession. I hope that over the years it has changed the way services are delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A three hanky movie, 2 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Doctor [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
William Hurt isn't known for his passionate roles on screen and for years I couldn't get his emotionally constipated 'Accidental Tourist' out of my mind whenever I saw his face, but his performance in this film changed my perception of him as an actor. From arrogant doctor to frightened and vulnerable human being, his transformation is totally absorbing and convincing, and the film shows up the medical establishment in a very accurate and unflattering light.

I agree with another reviewer here - this film should be compulsory viewing for every doctor and nurse everywhere, to remind them of their limitations, and of the patient's humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving film, 26 Feb 2010
By 
Dr. Tom Bell "Tom Bell" (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doctor [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I have watched this film three of four times. Hurt is as always majestic. But the film is stolen by the young actress who plays the woman with the brain tumour.
Witty humorous and deeply sad. Good movie and as others have said worth showing to all involved in health care .. there are lessons to be learned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor,Superb film, So glad i decided to add this one to my collection, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doctor [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
What's it like when the boots on the other foot, When the Doctor suddenly becomes a patient ?
Loved this film, Brilliant acting, Sometimes funny,Sometimes sad, Really makes you think though,
One you will watch over & over,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY WORTHWHILE FILM .., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doctor [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
.

William Hurt is SO brilliant in this film - why is he so under-rated when he is always so good (watch 'Deceived' for another example)?

I won't review the storyline as others have done so perfectly well. Suffice to say that this is a worthy film and well worth watching.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doctor [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I saw this film a number of years ago. A must for all people working in the Health professions. Based on a true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doctor [VHS] [1991] (VHS Tape)
Bought this movie because I wanted to see William Hurt in other movies. Hes such a great actor as well in "Damages".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doctor [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
A film every medical student and nurse ahold be made watch. Will recommend it to my friends as I work in medical profession
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A film for PEOPLE people!, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doctor [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This is a great film. It puts a different perspective on the way we look at people. The Doctor becomes a patient and this changes his whole outlook on life. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Doctor [DVD] [1992]
The Doctor [DVD] [1992] by Randa Haines (DVD - 2004)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews