Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A exciting watch
My mum had the book the swiss family robinson, and she gave it to me to read. I found it very exciting and interesting. I was soo happy when i found the video of Swiss family Robinson.

The family consists of Mum, Dad and three brothers.

They get ship-wrecked, and they get on a lovely Island, but there are pirates and wild animals. will they survive...
Published on 8 Jun 2006 by T. Stanton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars xmas pressie
enjoyed watching it with the family at Christmas time. Not too long so held the attention of younger family members
Published 9 months ago by Bob the builder 1


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A exciting watch, 8 Jun 2006
By 
T. Stanton "coolgirls" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swiss Family Robinson [DVD] (DVD)
My mum had the book the swiss family robinson, and she gave it to me to read. I found it very exciting and interesting. I was soo happy when i found the video of Swiss family Robinson.

The family consists of Mum, Dad and three brothers.

They get ship-wrecked, and they get on a lovely Island, but there are pirates and wild animals. will they survive? its a really good watch for kids and big kids too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great adventure, 10 Jun 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Swiss Family Robinson [DVD] (DVD)
A family is shipwrecked on a seemingly uninhabited island. Using the remaining recourses of the wrecked ship they build an elaborate tree house. They have a realy nice Christmas scene. Then the adventure begins.
This movie has a great family feel to it and I really liked the animal races; it is a classic Disney. The pirate attack scene was suspenseful. You are kept wondering if, and how they will get out of it.
You can see John Mills play a more serious side with his real daughter Hayley Mills in "The Chalk Garden" (1964).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FUN FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY..., 17 Nov 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
You can't get much more wholesome than this. This film definitely has the Disney stamp all over it. The Swiss Family Robinson are on their way to New Guinea. Chased by pirates on the high seas, their ship runs up against a reef, and they find themselves shipwrecked by a deserted tropical island. They manage to get themselves and all their belongings and animals ashore, intact and none the worse for wear.
The mother, played by the lovely Dorothy MaGuire, is always clean, perfectly groomed and coiffed. The father, played by the wonderful English actor, John Mills, is positively cheerful the entire film. Talk about optimism. His three sons, played by the hunky James MacArthur, the adorable Tommy Kirk, and the cute-as-a-button Kevin Corcoran, work tirelessly to make their new home into an island paradise.
In record time, they build a multi-level house to die for, high up in the trees. Somehow, they manage to get a pipe organ off the wrecked ship, ashore, and up into their multi-level tree house, so that they can sing Christmas Carols at the appropriate time. Kevin Corcoran even has a baby elephant for a pet, and they parade around their sculpted lawn which is surrounded by what appears to be a manicured, English country garden.
After a while, two of the boys set out on a home made sail boat to check the terrain around the island. They discover yet another casualty of the pirates' onslaught, delightfully played by Janet Munro. The two older boys are sweet on her, which causes a little fun loving tension. All is well, until the pirates come a-calling on the island, and all you know what breaks loose. Never fear. Rescue is on the way.
Who in their right mind, however, would ever want to be rescued from this magical island, where nothing can possibly go wrong, and everyone loves each other? Pure Disney fantasy, this film is a lot of fun to watch and, better yet, can be enjoyed by the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Adventure story From Disney!, 28 May 2004
This review is from: Swiss Family Robinson [DVD] (DVD)
You can tell as soon as you start watching this film that it is definately a disney production, and this "stamp" remains right the way through the film, even in the climatic battle at the very end, with the nasty pirates.
Based on the classic novel by Johann Wyss this film is simply about a European family who leave their home country to start a fresh in New Guinea. However a huge storm leaves them stranded on some jagged rocks just off-shore from what appears to be an unihabited island. By using the timber from the boat, they construct a raft and within no time they have landed on this new island, and created a wonderful, multi-story tree house complete with running water, a fridge and they even managed to salvage an old organ from the wreck.

Still wanting very much to continue on to New Guinea, the two sons, Fritz and Ernst construct a small boat, and sail round the island to see if there is any way off it. On their journey they come across an old man, and a young boy, both being held prisoner by a group of nasty and very mean pirates, with big swords, and proceed to free the boy and make a daring escape.
After arriving safetly back to their home, the family bagin to set up loads of bubby traps, including tiger pits, cocanut bombs, and even a collapsing draw bridge, so that when the pirates come, they won't win so easily.
There have been many adaptations of this classic novel Johann Wyss but i have to say that this one is one of the best, and deserves the five stars which i have given it. Overall, a great disney adventure film, that the whole family can sit down and watch and enjoy together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece!, 26 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Swiss Family Robinson [DVD] (DVD)
This is without a doubt one of Walt Disney's greatest live action films. Originally released in 1961 and feauturing a stellar cast including John Mills. A New Guinea-bound family is shipwrecked by pirates and manages to transport the goods from the stranded ship to an island where they create their own paradise. There they build their own breathtaking treehouse and have to find a way to survive using only what nature provides. With some wonderful cinematography (especially in the dramatic opening of the shipwreck and then the journey on raft by the Robinson family to exotic shores and yet. They begin to enjoy life in this 'paradise' carelessly on the island with a variety of wild animals and inevitably they begin to have run ins with some dangerous creatures. Along the way they encounter many threats including pirates, but will their island paradise prove toi be a paradise or a prison?
It's a high quality production and I rate it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stranded in paradise, 1 Aug 2003
By 
Angela Hunt (Bolton, Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Swiss Family Robinson [DVD] (DVD)
This is the Walt Disney version of the story,done as only Disney can. There is, as always, excellent performances from John Mills and Dorothy Magiure as the parents. Here also we see a young James MacArthur pre Hawaii 5-0 giving an excellent performance as Fritz. The scenery is glorious, it almost makes you want to be stranded there.
The only drawback, if there is one, is the stilted pirates. At times you almost want to go out and help them they are so clumsy. But on the whole, the film is one for the entire family. I sat through it with my 2 hard to please sons aged 9 and 6 and hardly heard a peep out of them. I suppose it shows that even a film which was made over 40 years ago, on a smaller budget than todays films, can be just as enjoyable without all the special effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic family fun., 14 Feb 2010
By 
mummy spoon (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swiss Family Robinson [DVD] (DVD)
Swiss family Robinson is definately one of Disney's best live action films, it was enjoyed by the whole family from my young children to the parents and grandparents.

This film has everything you would want from a family film there's plenty of action and lots of fun, with kids, animals, pirates and some amazing surroundings you end up wishing you were shipwrecked there too.

I can't recommend this enough, don't be put off by the films age as we don't normally buy older films and we loved it, I will definately be buying a few more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great adventure, 25 July 2004
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
A family is shipwrecked on a seemingly uninhabited island. Using the remaining recourses of the wrecked ship they build an elaborate tree house. Then the adventure begins.
This movie has a great family feel to it and I really liked the animal races. It is a classic Disney. The pirate attack scene was suspenseful. You are kept wondering if, and how they will get out of it.
You can see John Mills play a more serious side with his real daughter Hayley Mills in "The Chalk Garden" ASIN: 6300186121
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swiss Family Robinson, 25 Aug 2010
By 
Maggiemay (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swiss Family Robinson [DVD] (DVD)
This may be a very old film - John Mills looks about 35! However, because it is in costume, it doesn't appear 'old fashioned'. My grandchildren aged 10 and 8 loved it. It's exciting without being too scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great family adventure film - but get the 2-disc NTSC version, 28 Nov 2008
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Walt Disney's hugely expensive adaptation of the classic tale of a family of castaways on a desert island maintains enough of a running thread not to seem too episodic even if it does drag a tad in places. There's not much sense of danger, despite the fact that the anaconda James MacArthur and Tommy Kirk wrestle with in one sequence turns out to be real - this is far too wholesome for that. The Robinsons are very much Disney's idea of the ideal All-American sixties family: the girls don't get to have any fun, unless you count girly stuff like dancing. Some of the animal scenes are a bit worrying 30 years on (such as the Great Danes attacking the tiger) and Kevin Corcoran is plain annoying, but for all that it remains an entertainingly old-fashioned adventure story.

While the UK and European PAL releases typically boast no extras whatsoever, the 2-disc NTSC `Vault Disney' release is as handsome a package as you are ever likely to see and can be heartily recommended to all fans of the film.

Aside from an audio commentary with director Annakin, Tommy Kirk, James MacArthur and Kevin Corcoran, the copious extra fatures include an 18-minute cutdown of the 1940 version of Swiss Family Robinson, featurettes, storyboard-to-film comparison, 6 radio spots, radio story album, stills galleries, original location scouting reports, script extract, the original theatrical trailer and TV spot. But the highlight (or lowlight, depending on your point of view) of the supplementaries is the 'Swiss Family Robinson Calypso' in a 28-minute extract from an episode of 'Disneyland' devoted to the making of the film -

'Yes my friends we had a lot of fun,
Making Swiss Family Robin-sun,
Yes my friends we had a lot of fun,
Spending Walt Dis-i-ney's five mill-i-un.'

Uncle Walt himself, resplendent in brylcream, begs to differ - it was actually $4,518,000, but heck, that wouldn't rhyme (the calypso was actually released to cinemas as a promotional single). If it would have been nice to have seen more of the programme, it does include fascinating footage of the hurricane that hit the crew in the middle of filming one of the raft sequences.

Highly recommended - the NTSC version, that is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swiss Family Robinson [DVD]
Swiss Family Robinson [DVD] by Ken Annakin (DVD - 2004)
£4.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews