Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2004
This is a very touching movie about a carpenter who has been hurt in the past, finds a little girl who wandered into his house in the middle of the night and adopts her, only to his horror finds out 10 years later that the little girl's father is a wealthy politician whom he makes furniture for. In the result of his wife suffering several miscarriges, he wants his daughter back. There are powerful performances from Steve Martin and Gabriel Byrne and excellent supporting cast from Laura Linney and Catherine O'Hara. In my opinion this movie is brilliant.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
Just wanted to point out that the cover may deceive people into thinking this is a comedy and it`s not.I do however believe most people who stick with it will find it a most rewarding film.Not a true classic which i would give 5 stars but reading the other reviews it`s nice to know i`m not the only viewer who appreciates it.Great cast and Steve Martin proves once again that he`s good in straight roles too.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
The cover of this DVD is rather misleading, since it looks as if this film is going to be a light comedy. Since Steve Martin stars, and the plot blurb doesn't suggest otherwise, that's what we assumed.

There are one or two amusing scenes in the middle of the movie, but the first section is - basically - one tragedy after another, with adultery, poverty, drug addiction, burglary, blackmail... and towards the end there's a somewhat unpleasant court case.

However, it's an excellent film. Steve Martin is superb in the role of Michael who seems to have lost everything until little Mathilda walks into his life, and the supporting cast are believable too. Very nicely done with a thought-provoking plot.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2011
Fantastic. Steve Martin at his best. I have read the book, Silas Marner a million times and was captivated by the story from the start.
As a "modern" update on a classic, this film is brilliant. A tad hammy in bits but that adds to the quirkiness. If you don't know the story of the "Weaver of Raveloe", watch this then read the book by George Elliot. If I could rate this film out of 10 it would be 10 every time.
Mary
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2009
Based on the story "Silas Marner" by George Eliot, a tale of loss and gain
Set in modern day, Steve Martin plays Michael McCann, who is cruelly robbed of the family he longed for , only to be wronged again by having his savings stolen. All seemed hopeless until the day an unexpected visitor came into his house and his life.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
just bot this dvd but i saw this on sky tv in the uk and loved it it made me cry its so sad but so good to stev marten was so good in it not a comady but so good the story was i could not stop watching it till the end of the film my eyes were glued to it gabrel burn to was great in it i bot this to see it agen as i told a frend i got in the usa she nos stev as she was at school with him i told hur of this film she did not no about this film but she bot it now and is going to watch it she new stev for years but cant beleave how well he is doing now i think he is a good all round entertaner and will buy moor of his films to my frend bot hur dvd of this film on ebay ,com as i bot mine on amazon i am so happy i got this one as its a must for pepole who like a good cry film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2008
A lovely emotional film for those who like tear jerkers.
Also a comedy that fits Steve Martin. Gabriel Byrne is both a good guy and a bad guy in this film.
But Matilda is a great kid to watch especially with Steve Martin.
I would definitely recommend this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
enjoyable film and not over sentimental in the storyline as it could easily have been. there is far more to steve martin then just the comedy roles. a good watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2011
This is one of the best films I have ever seen. I liked all the characters. The acting was very good. It is a film I can keep watching and never tire of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
a very good modern rendition of Silas Marner, a story i read as a teenager in America and thoroughly enjoyed. Steve Martin turned in a fine performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)