Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disneys' Underwater Epic
Even 50 years after it was released, Disneys' 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea is still the best screenplay based on the Jules Verne novel.
The story is well known:- A sea monster attacking shipping in the 1860s is hunted by a U.S. warship and is revealed as being an advanced submarine boat. Three survivors from an attack on the warship, a French professor (Paul Lukas),...
Published on 21 April 2004 by David Hobson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for it's time...now a little dated
Jules Verne was considered one of the greatest science-fiction authors of his generation. However I can't help but feel that a lot of his work is slightly dated nowadays, and it really shows with this Disney adaptation of one of his most famous novels. While the performances are very good, it just lacks the excitement present in other science-fiction films.
Published 17 months ago by Gatekeeper197


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Verne adaptation, 6 Aug. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
Watched this one recently and was delighted to find it stands the test of time as one of the better Disney live action films on the market. A quality take on Jules Verne's advanced story of subs and the atomic threat that was to become ever so prominent in the public conscious. This adaptation is a corking sci-fi adventure that benefits from great work from all involved.

The cast are just smashing, James Mason is the stand out as the barmy but intelligent protagonist Capt. Nemo, gruff and menacing with a dandy slice of camp into the proceedings. Then we have Kirk Douglas who out Popeye's Popeye, tough and rugged with a song and dance to help moral along, and even taking time out to befriend a seal to help jolly the film in heart. Peter Lorre is solid as ever, and Paul Lukas almost steals the show as the conflicted Professor Pierre Aronnax. The sets are wonderful, the direction seamless, and the special effects make it hard to believe this was made back in the early 1950s, but ultimately its a story for adults and an adventure for the kids. Containing a giant squid sequence that sees Mason & Douglas fighting it to the death serves as proof positive that 20000 Leagues Under the Sea is an unadulterated joy. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood favourite of adventure above and beneath the waves ..., 24 July 2012
By 
Josh "The Claw" (Wherever I'm needed) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
I first saw this as a young child in a small old fashioned cinema, a perfect venue, and have always enjoyed seeing it again. It is a masterful blend of adventure and thought provoking ideas. There is mystery, there are monsters, there is action and humour, but there is also wonder and inspiration concerning notions that will always be relevant to human endeavour. James Mason is at his best, backed up by great turns from Kirk Douglas and Peter Lorre. No childhood should pass without a viewing of this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars oldy but goldy, 19 Jan. 2014
By 
M. Steedman (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
This 1950's production is beginning to show its age as far as special effects are concerned, but the story is as fresh as the day Jules Verne wrote it.

The acting is more than able to carry the dodgy sets and is a credit to those who appear in the film.

My only grip would be the story develops slowly and the film is overlong, but then so is the book. Definitely something from an earlier era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Disney's very best!, 5 Jan. 2014
By 
PhillyJQ (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
This film, because of the brilliant, outstanding art direction, will always be timeless (the design of the Nautilus is inspired! Not only does it look Victorian, but it's also practical for sinking ships) . The special-effects for the squid attack creak a little, but they're still very good -alas(?) no CGI in 1954.

Everyone puts in a good day's acting, but James Mason steals the show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20,000 Leagues under the Sea, 19 Jan. 2012
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
I saw this film at our local Cinema when it came out in the 60s and enjoyed it very much.
As the DVD was on offer I bought it. It didn't disappoint.
OK the Nautilus doesn't correspond to the shape in the original book but who cares.
The special effects were still good despite being over 50 years old and bearing in mind the technology available at the time i.e. no computer graphics. I really enjoyed it.
I shall watch it again soon..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good for it's time...now a little dated, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
Jules Verne was considered one of the greatest science-fiction authors of his generation. However I can't help but feel that a lot of his work is slightly dated nowadays, and it really shows with this Disney adaptation of one of his most famous novels. While the performances are very good, it just lacks the excitement present in other science-fiction films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Whale of a Film!, 19 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
What a great film, as great now as when I saw it as a child. True family entertainment with action, adventure, comedy and just pure enjoyment. James mason as Captain Nemo is aloof and menacing but also unpretentious and vulnerable. The nautilus is a marvellous creation and is the iconic version of the submarine boat, it looks like a monstrous fish speeding through the water.
Kirk Douglas is a joy, Ned Land is a cocky, swaggering rogue but you dont hate him as he is an everyman hero, perfect for Douglas.
The extras include a rejected squid sequence, and you can see why it was rejected, the sequence in the movie is a show-stopping amazing sequence. The rejected sequence is languid and boring! Also included in the extras is a sequence from and old tv "making of" show with Peter Lorre and kirk Douglas, this was worth the price of the dvd for me.
An almost perfect film, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grand., 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
I loved the movie when I first saw it on TV. Love the design of the Nautilus, and loved watching this again. Nice extras. This is one of the few films I'd go to see in the cinema, if it was shown again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
Bought this DVD for my partner as a birthday present, as he loved watching it when he was younger. The item arrived quickly in the post, was well packaged and the price excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have and watch, 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
A wonderful, must watch movie. The colors and remastering is far beyond my expectations.I advise everbody at ages >40 (and also their children) to see this classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea [DVD] [1954]
20,000 Leagues Under the Sea [DVD] [1954] by Richard Fleischer (DVD - 2004)
£4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews