Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (61)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Were the other reviewers playing a different game?
I recently purchased Championship Manager from Amazon. I was really chuffed because I had picked up an absolute bargain. I then had a look at some of the reviews after I had ordered it and they all said the game was poor. Too hard. This made me regret my purchase i even tried to cancel the order but I couldn't.
When it arrived it took no time at all to load and...
Published on 19 Feb 2006 by A. Fallows

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Bigger Disappointement than Bakayoko!
This is quite honestly the worst Championship Manager game I have ever played. I am an avid Champ fan and have played every version since Champ 2, where Ibrahima Bakayoko was possibly the best player in the game (Unfortunately when he joined Everton in real life he was about as good as this game!).
The game feels comic like and is very unrealistic. I have lost many...
Published on 1 July 2005 by toledorobson


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this is a load of nonsense, 26 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Championship Manager 5 (PC) (Video Game)
I can honestly say that this is the biggest piece of nonsensical rubbish ever. This game doesn't even deserve the championship manager name. There are some many blips in this game no wonder Eidos created a patch for it on the day of release. Here are some of the mistakes in the game.
1. Stupid news column-- links the likes of Rory Delap with the likes of man United. Trust me that really happened.
2. Useless 3D match-- everyone runs away from the ball.
3. Unrealistic player ratings (Ronaldinho has something like 12/20 for flair and overpriced players.
4. Crazy commentary (eg. David Unsworth uses his 'skill' to get past Luke Chadwick.)
All of these faults plus a huge number of others make for a terrible game. It's so bad I felt like setting my friends whos Pc I played it on game on fire. It's so bad it should be illegal to buy it. The store should PAY YOU £39.99 for the purchase of this rubbish. Eidos - put this game where it belongs - in the trash. This isn't football management
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Littered with errors, 18 May 2005
By 
MR C GOOD (Norwich, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Championship Manager 5 (PC) (Video Game)
What a disappointment. So many postponments of the release but i stood firm with the CM series, even though Football Manager 2005 was there and receiving rave reviews.
Finally receive it and it is awful. Userbility is increadibly poor and the program is littered with errors. News items are left blank, players who are retiring suddenly appear in your team, the list goes on. I've downloaded the first official patch and i think it has made things even worse (certainly hasnt got better). To top it all the game is only single player. I use to enjoy a bit of rivalry with a mate but now i can only do that by playing over the net (and paying for the pleasure).
Total waste of money, so much so, three weeks later of trying to like it, ive given up and sold it on. Buying Football Manager 2005 instead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely dire, 22 Mar 2005
This review is from: Championship Manager 5 (PC) (Video Game)
I have never in my life played such a big ridden game. It looks awful, it plays awful, and simply isn't anywhere near as good as Football Manager 2005.
Your entire squad will be inelegible for Europe, most of the goals are own goals, teams don't qualify for the right competitions, wins are shown as draws and vice versa, and many more. How can this be considered good?
The fact people are being asked to pay money for this without even being able to try a demo first shows Eidos' strategy: they know the game is awful yet want people to PAY before finding that out.
Do yourself a favour, do NOT buy this game. Spend the money on the vastly superior Football Manager 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Rubbish, 12 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Championship Manager 5 (PC) (Video Game)
I looked forward to CM5 being released for months and was excited when it came out, but I was extremely disappointed with the poor game that replaced the last CM. It was so bad and the game play awful that I de-installed the game after 1 hour and returned to Football Manager 2005 which is a 100% better game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CM5 - Poor, 21 Mar 2005
By 
Tattersall "Tatman" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Championship Manager 5 (PC) (Video Game)
I cannot express how disappointed I am with this game. I've played the CM games since CM2, and this is by far the worst. You can tell they've started the game engine from scratch, it is far more bugged than CM3 (which was poor). The stats are poor and in some cases non-existent, the interface cumbersome and ugly to look at and the gameplay shoddy. You learn nothing from watching the match which either takes 45 minutes or a minute, you can't see the stats whilst still watching the game - it's all a bit too chaotic.
Searching for players is basic and poor compared to previous versions. I could go on, but you'll probably get the picture.
It seems FM2005 has got everything that CM hasn't considering it is the proper CM game engine, it looks like an EA Sports title with style over presentation. It is only a name people are buying, the real deal is FM2005. The developers released a patch on the day of release which says a lot. I cannot believe they have sent out such a shoddy game after so much 'alledged beta testing'.
I'm glad I got it at a cheap price. If you want to stay loyal to the CM name, subscribe to the online version, cm-online.com - otherwise avoid this poor excuse for a game and play FM2005 instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING!!, 24 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Championship Manager 5 (PC) (Video Game)
If you have too much money and are looking for a way of wasting some of it, by all means feel free to buy this game! Otherwise stay well clear. This game is extremely poor. For the same money you could buy Football Manager 2005 which is vastly superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why did they even bother!, 18 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Championship Manager 5 (PC) (Video Game)
I got my championship manager game this morning preordered been playing it for few hours now and just don't think its any where near footy manager 2005. if you want to watch a game with ball bouncing all over the place and not going anywhere and as soon as the keeper gets it he allways kicks it out the park then this is the game for you.
They also have a patch for it allready on the [...] this is to update the players and fix some things i think they will be bringing many more patches out soon lol.
If you havent got football manager 2005 then get it because even though championship manager has the name football manager 2005 is what we all know as championship manager (the real deal).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably Bad, 26 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Championship Manager 5 (PC) (Video Game)
The people who designed this game must of been drunk at the time. I have never played such a poor football simulation in all my life. People will pay good money for a game that should be excellent due to the history of CM but will probably think that they have bought the wrong game. Very Poor, very disappointing!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this is awful......, 20 Mar 2005
This review is from: Championship Manager 5 (PC) (Video Game)
first thing first.....if you want a good football manager game.....go for football manager 2005.the only flaws FM 2005 has is once or twice you will get a player valuation that may seem unrealistic.
but championship manager 5 is awful.i own both FM 2005 and CM5.and FM 2005 is by far the best.
the first thing about championship manager 5 is there is a bug problem again,meaning there are no player histories at all.
the new 'out of 100' player profiles are confusing.there dosent seem to be much of a difference between a reserve player and a first team player.plus the valuations are unrealistic.
the new 'tilted pitch' during a game is a nice idea.....but the only way you can see goals properly is if you play the match in real time......witch oviously a lot of us dont have time for.
plus you cant view any team before you manage them anymore.(when you start a new game)
but the worst thing about CM5 is the new layout.this looks bad.and you have only 3 different styles to choose from.....which are all the same only different colours.it makes it look as if the game was made in the 80s.
ive always been a fan of the CM siries.....i own most of them....but this has made me think otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Masive dissapointment, 6 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Championship Manager 5 (PC) (Video Game)
I've always been a big fan of Championship manager and was eagerly awaiting CM5. Surely another great football management game.
However after a couple of hours I realised that it wasn't great, in fact it was pretty dire.
The game is riddled with little annoyances and lacks any sense of realism. Players never get injured during games, but you can expect at least two a week during training. Players also get unhappy for no reason and you can do nothing to rectify the situation. I was sixth in the league with Birmingham City and three quaters of my players were unhappy, the fans were calling for my head and the board was unhappy about our recent run of defeats?! Also, despite having a bank balance of 20 million plus, the board said our finances were cause for great concern?!?! These annoyances might be small, but they add up to become hugely frustrating.
On a closing note, I once, purely by accident, played David Dunn in goal and still beat Arsenal 3-2! Nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Championship Manager 5 (PC)
Championship Manager 5 (PC) by Eidos (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews