Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doris Day Collection
I am thrilled with this boxset. Even before watching the films I was delighted with the lovely box that it came in- and all for 17.43 including P&P. If you are a Doris Day fan you will love this classic collection which includes all three Rock Hudson films which are delightful and hysterical in parts (the scene with the moose!!) Each DVD comes cellophaned and each has...
Published on 15 May 2005

versus
25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great presentation, bad quality content
Ok, I got this without hesitating for like 15 pounds as amazon is discounting it. Be warned:
This comes in a fantastic package! A big box, almost 12" tall and 3" thick. What's inside? 3 baby blue trays with matching ribbons to pull them out, each holding 1 dvd next to the second. All dvds are available separately to buy, just as you find them in here, in their white...
Published on 30 April 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doris Day Collection, 15 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Doris Day Collection - Pillow Talk/Young At Heart/The Thrill Of It All/That Touch Of Mink/Send Me No Flowers/Lover Come Back [DVD] (DVD)
I am thrilled with this boxset. Even before watching the films I was delighted with the lovely box that it came in- and all for 17.43 including P&P. If you are a Doris Day fan you will love this classic collection which includes all three Rock Hudson films which are delightful and hysterical in parts (the scene with the moose!!) Each DVD comes cellophaned and each has the original trailer as an extra and one can see that the quality of the films has been improved. Definately her best work but would like to have seen 'please don't eat the daisies' included. A fantastic buy that is even better then i hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doris made my wife's Day, 16 Jan 2010
By 
Wiz "Wiz" (Apperley Bridge, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Christmas present for my wife who is a lifelong fan of Doris Day. This box set of DVDs is great value and contains some really lovely gentle films. Yes they are from a different era and the world has changed since they were made but they still have the happy knack of drawing you into the stories they tell.

We all sat down as a family (even my 14 year old daughter) and enjoyed "It happened to Jane" which was beautifully told and kept our interest all the way through - can't wait to watch the other five films in the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good selection of films, 8 Nov 2010
By 
Bobbin (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought these for my wife who likes Doris Day films.
Good selection of films but not great quality. Would have expected better on dvd.
Still a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great classic comedy, 26 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love classic comedy then don't miss this box set. You will find youself thrilled with laughter. The period during which these 6 movies were filmed is the 50's and 60's. Also, three of them include the great pair made with Rock Hudson. It was one of the screen's greatest performances as a comedy couple, great chemistry (although in reality something else was happening :) ).

The last movie It Happened to Jane has in its cast Jack Lemmon, probably the greatest comedy actor to come up in Hollywood during the 50's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last Day's talent is recognised, 10 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: The Doris Day Collection - Pillow Talk/Young At Heart/The Thrill Of It All/That Touch Of Mink/Send Me No Flowers/Lover Come Back [DVD] (DVD)
This collection is worth buying for 'That Touch of Mink' alone. It is one of my favourite films, a witty and sophisticated twist on the usual romantic comedy - though the boy gets the girl in the end, don't worry! 'Young at Heart' gets an excellent special presentation, worthy of its interesting Day-Sinatra pairing and serious edge. 'Pillow Talk' is of course the quintessential Day-Hudson film, here rendered with excellent picture quality - and the other three less-known films are equally entertaining. In particular, the hypochondria of Rock Hudson's character never fails to amuse in 'Send Me No Flowers'. A boxset for all the family to watch - buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dorisday, 14 Dec 2009
Had the videos years ago and decided to replace with this excellent value dvd set.My children have enjoyed a couple of the movies also as they love watching the children and listening to the songs.Excellent quality and value again offered by Amazon.Now on look out for more sets!Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great presentation, bad quality content, 30 April 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doris Day Collection - Pillow Talk/Young At Heart/The Thrill Of It All/That Touch Of Mink/Send Me No Flowers/Lover Come Back [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, I got this without hesitating for like 15 pounds as amazon is discounting it. Be warned:
This comes in a fantastic package! A big box, almost 12" tall and 3" thick. What's inside? 3 baby blue trays with matching ribbons to pull them out, each holding 1 dvd next to the second. All dvds are available separately to buy, just as you find them in here, in their white amaray cases.
Now the bad news: the transfer is often definitely not the bes that is around for the same movies on other editions. But here's the worst: Some are even full screen. Let's take a look:
Pillow Talk: widescreen, old remaster probably
That Touch of Mink: AWFUL full screen, not remastered. The US version, issued waaay before this one, is in widescreen!!! From the same studio might I add.
Young At Heart: a WB non-scope movie is definitely remastered.
Send Me No FLowers: another washed-up colors presentation in widescreen (though I remember is being c.scope, here it's 1.85....
The Thrill Of It All: acceptable
Lover Come Back: another barely acceptable grainy presentation, again 1:85...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars doris day box set, 27 Mar 2009
By 
Mrs. E. M. Radcliffe "dvd heaven" (cumbria england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if your a doris day fan this you should love , my sons bought it for me for mothers day i was very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars and at a better price than buying off the high street, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for one film in particular - The Thrill of it All, and at a better price than buying off the high street. But like all the films and have watched each one again, enjoying them as I worked through them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars doris day, 11 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Leonard Morris (ludlow,u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great set of 9 classic movies bought for my girlfriends birthday, who is a big fan of Doris Day movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews