Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vice Versa
Wow! This takes me back. There have been a lot of body swap comedies since Disney released Freaky Friday, the biggest hit was the Tom Hanks film Big but Vice Versa was less slushy and more of a comedy in my opinion. Judge Reinhold switches perfectly into a big kid and Fred Savage does a brilliant turn as a straight man(boy)
The amazing thing is that this film was...
Published on 23 Jan. 2011 by Mr.Markzilla

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Party till you puke!
Separated from his wife and son, Charlie, Marshall Seymour has made himself into successful buyer for a big chain department store. Unfortunately his workaholic ethic leaves little time for him to spend with Charlie. When Charlie comes to stay with Marshall for a break, the pair row and wish they were in each others shoes. A wish that comes true on account of a mystical...
Published on 8 April 2011 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Party till you puke!, 8 April 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vice Versa [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Separated from his wife and son, Charlie, Marshall Seymour has made himself into successful buyer for a big chain department store. Unfortunately his workaholic ethic leaves little time for him to spend with Charlie. When Charlie comes to stay with Marshall for a break, the pair row and wish they were in each others shoes. A wish that comes true on account of a mystical skull that Marshall mistakenly brought back from his last buying trip.

You got to ask yourself one thing if you are interested in watching Vice Versa for the first time; "are you tired of body swap movies" If the answer is yes then this really isn't the film for you. The fourth adaptation of F. Anstey's novel, Vice Versa is funny, pleasant and not suffering by way of trying to be clever with the format. And rest assured that in spite of its pretty low internet rating, it has a bit more to offer than the likes of The Hot Chick. But it is rigid to the formula of such films, so expecting anything fresh will prove to be a futile exercise. Judge Reinhold & Fred Savage play father and son respectively and both do considerably well with the material to hand. With both proving to have a nice line in comic timing. Sure it's not genre defining or exceptionally hard, but the tidy writing throws up amusing scenarios that both of them utilise to the maximum. Winning scenes come by way of the school and the workplace of the respective individuals, while the involvement of the ex-wife/mother and Sam {Corinne Bohrer} the girlfriend create some nice light hearted touches.

Entertaining fluff for the undemanding viewer. 6/10

Footnote: UK viewers should note that the TV showings of Vice Versa contain many annoying cuts that dull the impact of some scenes. Moderate swearing and obscene finger gestures are the most telling cuts. So if one is interested in catching it, be advised that a pre watershed showing will not be of full comedic value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vice Versa, 23 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vice Versa [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Wow! This takes me back. There have been a lot of body swap comedies since Disney released Freaky Friday, the biggest hit was the Tom Hanks film Big but Vice Versa was less slushy and more of a comedy in my opinion. Judge Reinhold switches perfectly into a big kid and Fred Savage does a brilliant turn as a straight man(boy)
The amazing thing is that this film was written and produced by Dick Clement & Ian La Frenais, the people responsible for the Ronnie Barker comedy, Porridge.
If you are looking into building a collection of 80's movies on dvd, this should be on the list along with the films of John Hughes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "80'S COMEDY AT ITS BEST", 9 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: Vice Versa [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This fim is a scream from start to finish its a laugh out loud comedy starring Fred Savage & Judge Reinhold.. The story = The father and son find an Ancient Mystical Skull which makes them swap places when they both say at the same time "i wish i was you".. There are some Great 1 Liners and a young Fred Savage is Excellent.. This Film was largely overlooked at the time because it was overshadowed by BIG starring Tom Hanks, I prefer VICE VERSA myself so "GO NOW & BUY and Judge for yourself it's a BARGAIN" Its perfect for those rainy Sunday Afternoons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vice Versa Film Review, 2 Feb. 2010
By 
Gkspence (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vice Versa [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is one of the best films I have seen and caters for both adults and children.For fathers and son's in particular this is a must view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double take comedy, 4 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Vice Versa [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Very funny trading places Judge Reinhold/Fred Savage trading places comedy which allows Reinhold free range with the comic mugging, and there are moments when you find yourself wondering 'did they really say that?' . Savage clearly relishes playing the adult. Both are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly funny, better than BIG?, 12 Aug. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vice Versa [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I watched this recently as Im a major fan of 80s movies and I was surprised to find that this movie had me laughing out loud at quite a few scenes (which is rare these days! Gotta love the 80s!). I always remembered this film being compared with and largely inferior to the other 80s hit 'BIG' given the similar subject matters. But I have to say although BIG is probly superior overall as a movie, I really cant remember laughing that much at BIG. Whereas Vice Versa genuinely had me laughing throughout most of the movie. Both Savage and Reinhold play the roles to perfection especially Savage. Of course theres some 80s cheese here, but thats as standard in most and its bearable.

I highly recommend a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but it's no "Big", 22 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Vice Versa [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Good, but non-essential. This is one of the many 80's comedies to deal with kids ending up in an adults body and it has to be said one of the best. It says a lot for the rest!

The film's funny, entertaining and doesn't overstay it's welcome.

But, did this movie kill Judge Reinhold's career?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good film, 9 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Vice Versa [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Never before seen or heard of Vice Versa until I recorded it on Sky Movies on the Sky+.
I watched it and quite liked it not as good as big which I think I gave a 9 but this still gets a 7 out of 10 I think I will keep a copy of this to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vice Versa, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vice Versa [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This film is made brilliant by the actors - especially Judge Reinhold and Fred Savage - they really work as a great team together as father and son - great comedy timing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but my son (11) and I enjoyed it a great deal, 24 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vice Versa [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Your rating will depend on your individual sense of humour, but my son (11) and I enjoyed it a great deal. This is an eighties film, and feels like it - in a good way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vice Versa [DVD] [2004]
Vice Versa [DVD] [2004] by Brian Gilbert (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: £3.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews