Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clip List
Volume One
Rude On The Road (1959)
Take Death Off The Roads (1960)
Road Hog - Don't Be Rude On The Road (1960)
When In The Country (1963)
Dinosaur (1968)
Safeguarding Water Supplies (1965)
Jo And Petunia - Coastguard (1968)
Iced Ponds (1969)
Pelican Motorist (1969)
Pelican Pedestrians (1969)
Tell Mummy (1969)...
Published on 14 Oct. 2010 by S. Lilley

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great... But...
Volume one is ruined by a fairly poor quality encode (really visible in the horrid post-added fades to black) and is created from an analogue composite video tape transfer. It leaves everything moire patterned and a bit VHS.

Volume two is much better and shows no signs of these nasty niggles - nor horrible fades to black.

Nothing can spoil these...
Published 12 months ago by B-RY


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clip List, 14 Oct. 2010
By 
S. Lilley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charley Says... Vol 1 & 2 (More than 280 live and animated classics from the Central Office Of Information archives[DVD] (DVD)
Volume One
Rude On The Road (1959)
Take Death Off The Roads (1960)
Road Hog - Don't Be Rude On The Road (1960)
When In The Country (1963)
Dinosaur (1968)
Safeguarding Water Supplies (1965)
Jo And Petunia - Coastguard (1968)
Iced Ponds (1969)
Pelican Motorist (1969)
Pelican Pedestrians (1969)
Tell Mummy (1969)
Don't Talk To Strangers (1969)
Tidy Up At Night (1969)
Frost Warning (1969)
Beware Fog (1969)
Prevent Smog (1969)
Jobs For Young Girls (1970)
Jobs For Early School Leavers (1970)
Paraffin Heaters (1970)
Coastguard's Job (1970)
Changing Plans (1970)
Jo And Petunia - Water Safety (Flags) (1970)
Jobs For Women (1970)
Polystyrene Tiles (1970)
Motorway Fog (1970))
Jo And Petunia - Country Code (1971)
Children And Disused Fridges (1971)
Abrasive Wheels (1971)
Teenagers Learn To Swim (1972)
Lifting Safely (1972)
Young Workers - Fooling About (1973)
Young Workers - Machinery (1973)
Charley - Matches (1973)
Charley - Falling In The Water (1973)
Charley - In The Kitchen (1973)
Charley - Teapots (1973)
Charley - Strangers (1973)
Charley - Mummy Should Know (1973)
Under 5's - How To Cross The Roads (English) (1973)
Under 5's - How To Cross The Roads (Welsh) (1973)
Under 5's - Ice Cream Van (1973)
Under 5's - Playing Near The Road (1973)
Under 5's - Don't Dash In The Road (1973)
Under 5's - Shopping (1973)
Jo And Petunia - Worn Tyres (1973)
Junction Lanes (1974)
Baby Walkers (1974)
Jeremy's Toothache (1975)
Caravan Instability (1976)
Green Cross Code - Tony Gets It Right (1976)
Door Chain (1976)
Flying Motorbikes (1977)
Dazzling Man (1978)
Talking Gas (1978)
Zig Zag Pedestrians (1979)
Prams And Pushchairs (1979)
Traffic Shapes (1980)
Snow Seen (1980)
Frozen Ponds (1980)
Airbeds (1980)
Don't Dazzle (1980)
Children Overtake (1981)
Swim Song (1982)
Space Invader (1982)
Sea Danger (1982)
Green Cross Code - Close To The Edge (1983)
Maleria Warning (1983)
Rabies Advice (1983)
Positive Furniture Labelling (1983)
Marine Safety Equipment (1983)
Fishing Accident (1983)
Protect And Survive - Action After Warnings (1975)
Protect And Survive - Casualties (1975)
Basil Brush And The Airbed (1976)
Lonely Water (1973)
Youngsters Learn To Swim (1973)
Play Safe - Kites And Planes (1979)
Keep Out (1972)
Keep It To Yourself (1968)
Keep Britain Tidy (1975)
Broken Glass (1973)
Waste Food (1971)
Play Safe - Frisbee (1979)
Swimming (1979)
Rabies Outbreak (1976)
Foot And Mouth Precautions (1972)
Play Safe - Camping And Fishing (1979)
This Is An Emergency (1972)
Blood Donors (1980)
Children And Strangers (1976)
Vandalism (1976)
Tell The Police (1963)
Watch Out! - Car Theft (1973)
Where's Your Lad? (1980)
Mr. Punch (1980)
Save It! 1 (1976)
Save It! 2 (1976)
Fireworks - Where's Your Lad Tonight? (1976)
TV Licence - Columbo (1977)
Clunk Click - Loose Objects (1972)
Splink (1976)
Industrial Safety - Lifting (1966)
Children's Heroes - Alvin Stardust (1976)
Pedestrian Crossing (1963)
Children's Heroes - Joe Bugner (1976)
Think Bike 1 (1976)
Running For A Bus (1969)
Billy Blunders (1976)
Mr. Blunders (1976)
Mrs. Blunders (1976)
Pelican Crossing - Pedestrians (1976)
Pelican Crossing Song (1976)
Pelican Crossing - Motorist (1976)
Menace (1970)
Purse Snatcher (1971)
Guard Your Purse (1973)
Bicycle Thefts (1974)
Clunk Click - Shopping (1972)
Ply Group (1973)
Peach And Hammer - Old Man (1976)
Keep Your Distance (1972)
White At Night (1973)
Children's Heroes - Mud (1976)
Sam - Ice Cream Van (1966)
1971 Census (1971)
Children's Heroes - Kevin Keegan (1976)
Wear A Helmet (1965)
Dashing Into The Road (1970)
Decimal Currency - The System (1971)
How To Vote At A General Election (1970)
Turning Right (1965)
Drink And Drive (1976)
On His Back (1980)
Stupid Git (1982)
Forget It (1983)
Snap Into The Seatbelt Habit (1967)
Think Bike 2 (1976)
Dangerous Diamonds (1979)
Children Watch Us Cross (1972)
Seperation Distances - Chariots (1971)
Fire Doors (1976)
Seatbelts Launch (1972)
Fat Fires (1973)
The Fatal Floor (1974)
Electricity Hazards (1970)
Seatbelts Progress (1972)
Road Test Pedestrians (1974)
Pick Pockets (1975)
Five Ponds In Notes (1949)
Pedal Safety Song (1978)
Clothes Fire Preventer (1978)
Is Your Home Secure? (1979)
Green Cross Code (1) (1975)
Green Cross Code (2) (1975)
Green Cross Code (3) (1976)
Seatbelts Success (1972)
Pipe Bursts (1969)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Nostalgia, 17 July 2006
By 
Kevin Hall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charley Says... Vol 1 & 2 (More than 280 live and animated classics from the Central Office Of Information archives[DVD] (DVD)
A great way to see all the PIFs released by Network in one place. Of note is that Volume 1 has been changed slightly so that random play has been removed, the index to films is better organised and for the first time you can move between each PIF with the next button on your DVD remote which didn't work on the original release. A great value buy. Here's hoping for Volume 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as it can get, 15 April 2008
By 
Mr. A. D. Rowley "Bart_Decaux" (Stourbridge, West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charley Says... Vol 1 & 2 (More than 280 live and animated classics from the Central Office Of Information archives[DVD] (DVD)
I'd echo the other positive reviews here. If you're something of a Generation X'er, whether at the high end or the low end of the age range, this will bring back memories and generally wrap you up in a warm blanket of childhood nostalgia. Sure, there are plenty of PIFs on the discs which fall outside of the golden era of the seventies which most will probably buy it for, but they're quite cool in their own way too.

I used to own the VHS versions of these when they first came out as Charley Says and Charley Live, and it's nice to see that some well-remembered omissions from these two releases have been corrected on these DVD discs- at least three of the popular missing PIFs I remember have been added, along with one or two others which sparked some recognition though I didn't know them all that well from memory.

This collection isn't perfect, however- there is one missing PIF I can remember seeing quite well as a child, concerning overtaking bicycles, which I know almost word for word. I had hoped that would be here but it isn't. Also, as others have stated, disc 2 seems to be the weaker of the two. I noticed that the PIFs on disc 1 had been more carefully edited, having equalised sound levels and fade-outs at the end, whereas disc 2 has wildly variable sound levels, a few foreign langauge PIFs that could have been omitted without any worries and no fade-outs, which may seem a little thing but does really make disc 1 seem altogether smoother. Still, there are some gems on disc 2.

There's been some criticism of the amount of RAF ads included here, but I can't entirely agree- yes, they're pretty dull to view, but to be fair the COI is increasingly tasked with producing ads for the armed forces so they are kind of relevent.

One thing that does strike you while watching the seventies-made PIFs is that the COI seemed to have an intense and pathological dislike of Austin 1100's; particularly red ones- second only to Basil Fawlty's hatred of his. I lost count of the PIFs in which 1100 owners were either awful drivers or were gruesomly killed. And as a rule, you'll find the PIFs from our youth to be a lot more graphic and toe-curling than anything than would probably be allowed today. The warning about broken glass on the beach particularly induces an agonising wince.

So, if you grew up with Donald Pleasance doing the voiceover for Death; the screams of "Jimmy!" as the frisbee-thrower gets electrically toasted and the sight of Rolf's wrinkly foot- to paraphrase the man himself- "you'll love it."

Highly, highly recommended. After all, where else are you going to get this stuff?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How we used to live, 28 Nov. 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charley Says... Vol 1 & 2 (More than 280 live and animated classics from the Central Office Of Information archives[DVD] (DVD)
A good value for money double disc set, featuring a huge assortment of (often hilarious) nostalgia from a different era. (Better or worse depends on your opinion). Britain was a simpler place, yet many of these messages are every bit as valid today as back then, and the better clips are still hard-hitting when watched now.

The first disc is undoubtedly the best, featuring most of the best-known PIFs. One or two of the road safety ones feature real stunt actors and make you wonder how they got away with doing what they did!

The second disc is much less essential and features a large number of more obscure (though worthwhile) older b+w clips - mostly featuring the same actor - and a few that aren't really PIFs, more RAF recruitment ads. It also feature a couple of Spanish PIFs, suggesting they were running out of material. Even so, there are some classics in amongst them. Sadly, the audio levels are very inconsistent on this disc.

I would like to have seen a selectable title and year caption available via subtitles on both these discs as this would have been useful, but neither have subtitles.

Recommended for all who grew up in the 1970s and early-80s, especially nostalgia fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent nostalgia trip for 70s children, 12 May 2009
By 
LouiseP (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Charley Says... Vol 1 & 2 (More than 280 live and animated classics from the Central Office Of Information archives[DVD] (DVD)
Well, just when we thought, smugly, that we lived in a safe world, we are reminded by this 2 DVD set just how lucky we were to make it through the 1970s. From drowning to being knocked down by a car, to being electrocuted, swallowed into a grain drain, being burnt in a fire, having fireworks blow in your face, or being chased by Alvin Stardust when you're trying to cross the road, it was a much scarier place!

Most of the classics are on Disc 1 but Disc 2 has some gems as well. An engrossing four hours if you like that kind of thing ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of yesteryear., 20 Dec. 2010
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charley Says... Vol 1 & 2 (More than 280 live and animated classics from the Central Office Of Information archives[DVD] (DVD)
Watched this last night with the girlfriend and we had a good laugh remembering most of them as they popped up. Stop look and listen, clunk click every trip, learn to swim, think bike! Keep Britain Tidy, play safe, Joe and Petunia. . . .there's loads of stuff on here and if you were a child of the 60's, 70's and 80's you'll love it! Kevin Keegan, Rolf Harris looking very young, Joe Bugner, Alvin Stardust and even the group Mud pop up! I spotted a young Jean Boht in Where's Your Lad? and you don't see fridges lying around anymore for kids to get trapped in do you? They're worth too much as scrap metal nowadays I suppose. Some of the stunts on the seatbelt warnings have to be seen to be believed, shocking stuff. Loads of follow the country code and foot and mouth warnings too, brilliant. There's quite a few that would still be relevant in todays society and it wouldn't do any harm showing them on tv today. My favourite and so scary now that I realise what it's all about and they dared to actually show it. . . .Protect and Survive. Terrifying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun-Filled Nostalgia Fest, 18 Dec. 2006
By 
Ms. T. Jones (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charley Says... Vol 1 & 2 (More than 280 live and animated classics from the Central Office Of Information archives[DVD] (DVD)
This is great fun for those of us interested in social history, those who want to revisit their youth, or those who just want to laugh at the fashions of the recent past. It's a real pleasure to look at the PIFs that frightened the life out of me in my school hall, as well as finding out more about what silly things the government were warning people not to do before I was born.

I echo the comments about the variation in audio quality (the Spanish ones in particular have truly appalling sound), but this doesn't really ruin the fun. The only thing that's missing is more information about the films; I'd love a short booklet telling you when and why each film was made, but I guess it would make the release less viable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic!, 20 Jun. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charley Says... Vol 1 & 2 (More than 280 live and animated classics from the Central Office Of Information archives[DVD] (DVD)
This is a piece of pure nostalgia. Anyone over the age of 30 will remember at least some of these films. I bought it because it shows all of the ones with the cat 'Charley' and his friend the boy who can amazingly understand what the cat has to say and translates for the rest of us!

Other delights is being taught how to cross the road by a family of squirrels and seeing such stars like Jimmy Saville and Kevin Keegan. My eleven year old like it too however who these once famous faces were was completely lost on him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trip down memory lane., 10 Sept. 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charley Says... Vol 1 & 2 (More than 280 live and animated classics from the Central Office Of Information archives[DVD] (DVD)
For any child growing up in the sixties and seventies this will bring back evocative memories.
Some of these are just plain frightening. The ones about nuclear war from the late 1970's are frightening and full of misinformation.
I had a ball watching these and kept saying "I'll watch just one more..." and the next thing I know I have watched both discs.
Some are repetitive but thankfully the makers of the disc have made it easy to skip these by just pressing the chapter up button.
A great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good TV, 2 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charley Says... Vol 1 & 2 (More than 280 live and animated classics from the Central Office Of Information archives[DVD] (DVD)
I play this to my children so they dont need to watch the terrible cheap adverts on today. They love Charlie the cat and appreciate the brutal honesty of the warnings against danger.

I am now waiting for a DVD with a colation of the classic adverts, Birds eye peas, "hope it chips", honey monster, smash robots, Follow the Bear, Fosters, Acrington Stanley, Watch out there's a humphrey about, Fruit & nutcase and of course Shake'n'Vac....

still waiting...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews