Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous
At its current Amazon price (£[...]) this is an absolute steal and well worth getting. On six DVD's you get two of their best ever films "A Night At The Opera" and "A Day at the Races" plus another four which whilst not as good still have some great moments.

In A Night at the Opera and A Day at the Races Grouchos' funny lines come out in a non-stop stream and...
Published on 9 Mar 2007 by S J Buck

versus
289 of 299 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the movies, but a decent supplement for Marx Bros. fans
To make it clear to everybody: These are not movies. It is about 4+ hours (not 5, as it says on the pack) of supplemental material, something you might otherwise find in the "bonus material" of a DVD edition. Alas, the actual Marx Bros. movies that have been published so far as a DVD box (one in region 2, another one only in region 1 so far) contain hardly any bonus...
Published on 22 April 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

289 of 299 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the movies, but a decent supplement for Marx Bros. fans, 22 April 2004
By A Customer
To make it clear to everybody: These are not movies. It is about 4+ hours (not 5, as it says on the pack) of supplemental material, something you might otherwise find in the "bonus material" of a DVD edition. Alas, the actual Marx Bros. movies that have been published so far as a DVD box (one in region 2, another one only in region 1 so far) contain hardly any bonus material, and so, at extra cost, you get what's missing in those boxes. It is not high art but it could be worse. In any case, it is material that might be hard to find anywhere else, and it provides some insight into the work of the Marx Brothers – individually or as a group – beyond the movies. If you don't expect too much, this box is a great supplement – no more, no less.
What annoyed me most about the material is that most of it contains a "Marx Brothers Collection" logo in the bottom right corner. While this might be meant to deter illegal copies, more subtle methods are certainly available these days. After all, it used to be one of the advantages of watching a DVD that you don't have to deal with those annoying logos that many TV networks use to deter bootlegging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 9 Mar 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
At its current Amazon price (£[...]) this is an absolute steal and well worth getting. On six DVD's you get two of their best ever films "A Night At The Opera" and "A Day at the Races" plus another four which whilst not as good still have some great moments.

In A Night at the Opera and A Day at the Races Grouchos' funny lines come out in a non-stop stream and they are endlessly quoteable:

"Mrs. Claypool: Are you sure you have everything, Otis?
Otis B. Driftwood: Well, I haven't had any complaints yet."
(remember this was made in 1935 and to get this past the censors was quite an achievement)

"Dr. Hackenbush: Emily, I have a confession to make. I really am a horse doctor. But marry me, and I'll never look at another horse."

The extras are pretty good, the best being a chance to see a rare interview with Groucho Marx in January 1961. There are a number of extra short films, commentaries and even some looney tunes cartoons.

Absolutely brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars madness on the silver screen..............., 5 July 2007
Have been a marx bros fan for about 20 years but its taken until this week to finally sit down and watch 3 of their later films: at the circus / go west / the big store - having always been put off by generally negative reviews.. (thankfully amazon are selling the box set for an amazingly reduced price now so its an excellent time to purchase folks - instead of the £61 price tag at HMV!!!).....

I've come to the conclusion at long last that people shouldn't take reviews too seriously as at the end of the day its about personal choice and critics dont possess special powers other than being handy with a pen....

My favourite marx bros films are Horsefeathers (1932), Duck Soup (1933) & A Day at the Races (1937). I think A Night at the Opera is very good but quite overrated and not as good as ADATR ... The early films Animal Crackers (1930) and Monkey Business (1931) are very enjoyable and full of great moments....anyway, to get back to this box set, this is how I'd rate them:

A Night at the Opera (1935) ****
A day at the Races (1937) *****
At the Circus (1939) ***
Go West (1940) ****
The Big Store (1941) ****
A Night in Casablanca (1946) ****

so the 'weakest' film IMHO is 'At the Circus' and although thoroughly enjoyable and with some great moments I can understand the general synopsis - the brothers were simply let down by a lackluster script. On the other hand 'The Big Store' had me in hysterics with many truly fine moments - I believed I was gonna have a heart attack I was laughing so much (what a way to go eh..) and the pace was kept up throughout...The film is marred slightly by the sickly vocalising of Tony Martin. I've only seen this film once in my life so its hard to tell if it will have the lasting appeal of their earlier classics. The 3 brothers really shine in this movie and i disagree with one reviewer who proclaimed that Groucho just seemed to be going thru the motions here...NONSENSE...Equally mad and surreal are 'Go West' and 'A Night in Casablanca'

Forget Chaplin, Keaton, Laurel and hardy, Harold Lloyd etc etc.... Harpo was the greatest of his kind and he should be revered. A great musician, actor, comedian, loved by all who knew him. Aged between 47 and 58 during the making of these films makes it even more impressive that he did all his own stunts... A genius..

and his brothers weren't half bad too..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mama Marx should be proud of her lads!, 20 July 2004
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marx Brothers Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Why a Duck? Why not! The Marx Brothers were such a timeless delight and it's such a thrill to have these marvellous movies all in one bundle. DVD is really so great for collectors, being able to have whole television series, or as in this having several movies in the group. This one is loaded with Groucho, Harpo and Chico.
This set (and I presume there will be a second set!) has seven of their films. I loved the lesser favourite of "A Night in Casablanca" - the packing suitcase scene with Harpo is a riot! "A Day at the Race" with Groucho as Hugo Hackenbush is full of charm and the brothers horse around. "At the Circus" is another gem with poor Margaret Dumont running in circles "keeping up appearances" and of course, you cannot forget Groucho's rendition of Lydia the Tattooed Lady. And in "The Big Store" I love Harpo's climbing through the top of the elevation in the big store and finding the harp to play Liszt! There are just so many fun moments it's hard to list them all.
So if you're a Marx Brothers' fan, you must get this super collection and this wonderful price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest dvd boxset in the world., 8 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This boxset contains 5 wonderful Marx Brothers films. The picture quality & sound on all of them is superb. If, like me, you are a Marx Bros. fan, then this really is a fantastic set of films to own. It is difficult for me to choose a favourite from the 5 movies here, simply because they are all hilarious & the quality of the jokes & gags is incomparable.

Worth mentioning are the extra features, which are excellent because they are on all 5 movies. For example, on "Day at the races", there are 3 cartoons with a horse theme. I enjoyed these, & I found myself laughing almost as much as when I was watching the actual movies. Other non cartoon extras include short films involving a couple whose trip to the cinema becomes a chaotic mess !!

Highlight : In " At the Circus", watch Chico & Harpo try their best to find stolen money on a train in the strongman's cabin. ( With the Strongman ASLEEP IN THE SAME ROOM !!). Sublimely funny !!

A very complete package which is VERY good value. Get it !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 80 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, but pricey..., 3 Nov 2004
By 
A LISTER (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I've already commented on US Amazon about this.
I'd just like to say if you have a multi - region player (repeat, IF YOU HAVE A MULTI - REGION PLAYER!!!) Then do what I did and buy the US edition instead.
A lot cheaper and you get 'Room Service' as well which has curiously been chopped for this UK set...
Still a great set though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "OTHER" great boxset!, 26 Feb 2009
By 
Joseph W. Szilagy "Joe Szilagy" (Mississauga, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Get this, plus the recent 8-disc black Universal boxset (which I had to order all the way from Canada!, and recieved, and reviewed, and loved), and you'll be all set. You'll have everything, plus lots of extras. Like the Amazon logo says, "then you're done!", or something like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Humor with nice old film music, 11 July 2007
I ordered this box set after having read the good reviews on Amazon.uk and Amazon.de, but without knowing exactly what I would get. Well, what I got is simply marvellous. In the new movies the humor is often so forced and unnatural that it's no more funny, but rather painful. That's not the case with this box set, or at least not in "Go West", the only movie of the set I have already watched. The quality of the image is good, the music is good, only the description at the site of Amazon.uk is a shame. You are just told that these films are in English, and that's all. But most of them are in several languages (according to what is said at the cover, in English and in Italian some of them also in French). All the films have English subtitles. That's an important detail for persons who have problems with the ears and for those, like me, whose native tongue is not English. The subtitles are optional. The price (less then £ 20) is really fair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is wonderful, 16 Sep 2004
The Marx Brothers are absurdist, time-less, and very funny. This box set contains all their MGM stuff, including perhaps there most famous - Opera and Races. Most of their later ones are also worth a look. I'm a particular fan of The Big Store - it was the first one I saw as a child (on TV - I'm not that old). The extras are interesting too: some commentaries, new documentaries, and some cartoons and shorts from the period. Most purists prefer the Paramount films, which I think are absoultey fantastic, but there's enough joy, fun and nonsense wordplay here to keep you all warm inside for a very long time. There is no sanity clause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How much????, 11 Jan 2012
By 
G. Braybrook "Emerton" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Brilliant collection of classic Marx Bros, but at a very large price (was much less) and tackily packaged like a comic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marx Brothers Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £25.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews