Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moves in this box
The total list of movies in this box is:

1. The Incredible Petrified World
2. Queen of the Amazons
3. Moon of the Wolf
4. She Gods of Shark Reef
5. The Amazing Transparent Man
6. The Atomic Brain
7. Horrors of Spider Island
8. The Wasp Woman
9. Voyage to the Prehistoric Planet
10. Voyage to the Planet of Prehistoric...
Published on 27 Feb 2011 by Perfect Blue

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the price
50 Sci-fi Classics? Not quite. There are some quite good, some bad and some dreadfull. A few of them are completely unwatchable because of the lack of picture quality and some of them have nothing to do with sci-fi. On a plus note, the discs are Region 0 so will play almost anywhere and I would say that as long as you pay less than 20 for it then you are getting a fair...
Published 15 months ago by David Hart


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moves in this box, 27 Feb 2011
This review is from: Sci Fi Classics [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The total list of movies in this box is:

1. The Incredible Petrified World
2. Queen of the Amazons
3. Moon of the Wolf
4. She Gods of Shark Reef
5. The Amazing Transparent Man
6. The Atomic Brain
7. Horrors of Spider Island
8. The Wasp Woman
9. Voyage to the Prehistoric Planet
10. Voyage to the Planet of Prehistoric Women
11. Kong Island
12. Bride Of The Gorilla
13. Attack of the Monsters
14. Gamera the Invincible
15. Santa Claus Conquers the Martians
16. Teenagers From Outer space
17. Crash of the Moons
18. Menace From Outer Space
19. Hercules Against the Moonmen
20. Hercules and the Captive Women
21. Hercules and the Tyrants of Babylon
22. Hercules Unchained
23. Lost Jungle
24. Mesa of Lost Women
25. Assignment: Outer Space
26. Laser Mission
27. Killers From Space
28. Phantom From Space
29. White Pongo
30. The Snow Creature
31. Son Of Hercules: The Land Of Darkness
32. Devil of The Desert vs. Son Of Hercules
33. First Space Ship of Venus
34. Zontar, The Thing From Venus
35. The Astral Factor
36. The Galaxy Invader
37. Battle Of the Worlds
38. Unknown World
39. Blood Tide
40. The Brain Machine
41. The Wild Women Of Wongo
42. Prehistoric Women
43. They Came From Beyond Space
44. Warning From Space
45. The Phantom Planet
46. Planet Outlaws
47. Colossus and the Amazon Queen
48. Eegah
49. Cosmos: War of the Planets
50. Destroy All Planets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB VALUE FOR MONEY!, 15 Dec 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sci Fi Classics [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I have to give these a Five Star rating - simply for the fact that where can you get 50 movies for this kind of money? Okay; so they're not the best quality; apart from the picture and sound quality on some is not so good, most of the Discs in my Set had marks/scratches on them, but having had a replacement Set thinking it was a bad lot I'd received, they were the same, and so I simply put this down to 'cheapness' - and what can one really expect for this kind of money...

I've watched a few of them so far - some are good - some are not, but at the end of the day in terms of value for money; you have hours and hours of entertainment, and if you watch say one movie a night, they'd last you two months! Work that out, and there's not a lot else you can buy in terms of entertainment that you could get for this paltry sum!

NOTE: They also play on a Region 2 DVD Player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a deal, 1 Feb 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sci Fi Classics [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought about a fourth of these movies and they were very economically priced, however even with duplicates this pack would be worth purchasing. Many of them are Roger Corman classics. Others are so bad that you have to watch then to tell people that you too have eclectic tastes. The individual titles come and go so get them all while you can.
Be sure to read all the individual reviews (after you buy the collection).
A few of highlights:
The Incredible Petrified World – 66 minutes long
Queen of the Amazons – original title “Amazons and Gladiators”
Robot Monster – terminator in a fur suit
She Gods of Shark Reef – natives and sharks but no She Gods
The Amazing Transparent Man – you can see through this one
The Wasp Woman – a stinging performance
Santa Claus Conquers The Martians – it is an abduction story
Teenagers From Outer Space – so what is new?
Crash of the Moons (Rocky Jones) – female ruler with a nasty attitude
Mesa of Lost Women – Horrible background music
Killers From Space – saw this as a kid – still spooky – Ping-Pong ball eyes
Zontar, the Thing From Venus – rubber Venusians
There are a few glaring omissions including “The Crawling Eye”
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facts..., 29 Sep 2010
By 
K. L. Smith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sci Fi Classics [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
There are no glaring ommisions ! ..i.e. like THE CRAWLING EYE, the films in these collections are in the Public Domain..the Crawling Eye is still in copyright, so wont be found in a set like this. The collections are fantastic for B Movie lovers, moaning about the films not being in colour is just plain stupid, these films are beloved the World over by fans who understand these movies...if you want modern Sci-Fi buy a Star Wars box-set. If you want an instant B Movie collection, get the 'Horror' and 'Sci-Fi packs', then add the 'Mystery' box...heaven !.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely excellent collection, 19 Jun 2008
By 
Taran G. Routh-smith (bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sci Fi Classics [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
after this, you will never need to buy another scifi film again.
and bw, these arent NTSC, they are region O.
i've played it on a PAL dvd player, and also a ps2 lite, and they work perfectly.
same goes for the horror classics dvd pack.
good news for the european scifi fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B-Sci-Films Delight, 3 Jun 2004
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sci Fi Classics [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I have the 50 Mystery Movie Pack and the 50 Horror Movie pack and they are worth the price many times over. It's like old Fright Night fests on telly or a 1950's Drive-In allnighter!
Queen of the Amazons, The Robot Monster, The Amazing Transparent Man, The Wasp Woman, Bride of the Monster, Attack of the Monsters, Gamera the Invincible, Santa Claus Conquers the Martians, Teenagers From Outerspace, 5 Hercules ficks, Lost Jungle, Mesa of Lost Women, Eagah (one of my all time favs of Slock B-movies!) and dozens of more!
So pop a bowl of popcorn and sit back and enjoy all the movies so bad they are good...well, sort of!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the price, 16 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sci Fi Classics [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
50 Sci-fi Classics? Not quite. There are some quite good, some bad and some dreadfull. A few of them are completely unwatchable because of the lack of picture quality and some of them have nothing to do with sci-fi. On a plus note, the discs are Region 0 so will play almost anywhere and I would say that as long as you pay less than 20 for it then you are getting a fair bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not necessarily sci-fi, 27 Feb 2013
By 
B. Lengden "leonie47" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sci Fi Classics [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
True, some of these 'sci-fi' selections have links to science - or even 'proper' fantasy genre - so tenuous as to be imperceptible, and most are not so much 'classics', as merely old. Nevertheless, this is great value if approached with the right attitude and level of expectation. But if all you find entertaining is the fast pace and realistic FX of modern movies, or even the quality of bigger-budget productions of old, then don't bother - seemplz. Just bear in mind that a trip to the cinema these days will cost you more than this - without even the opportunity to watch the film again to check whether it was really as bad as you first thought, or to rewind to catch what you missed through chomping on your popcorn or slurping your drink. I certainly don't feel I've wasted my money, anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mainly NOT Sci-Fi, 21 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sci Fi Classics [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Maybe I received a different set of dvds to the other reviewers but after watching only three of the 50 films (and the last one was in colour with David Jansen and a host of recognisable, but unknown to me, actors), I can see that this is going to be a very long viewing fest; probably years. These films are pretty diabolical. No plot, no need for special effects or props as they are not sci-fi and no acting, unless standing around in a small group and explaining the already painfully obvious plot to us dumb public qualifies as acting. It seems that virtually no effort has been put into the screen play or direction. Some brilliant films have been made in the past, even epic films so there is no excuse just because they're from the fifties and sixties.

Unless you are crazy about crappy, boring, B&W movies, that are mostly not sci-fi then don't buy this collection. I'm going back to watching the paint dry, at least its in colour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sci Fi Classics [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
11.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews