Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best compilation yet!!!!!!
Being a guy it is hard to ever admit you are a Barry Manilow fan. Well this is the ultimate album for closet fans like me. I'm not to into copacabana, but the old slowies are just great and really turn the clock back. My favourite track Even Now just sends me back 2o years or so,and One voice! what a classic. An absolute must for all Barry fans buy it, you will not be...
Published on 11 Mar 2004 by karldoug

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barry Manilow, Ultimate Manilow
this was a Christmas gift, unable to give any information, the person who is to get this gift, likes Barry manilow
Published on 24 Dec 2010 by SD


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best compilation yet!!!!!!, 11 Mar 2004
This review is from: Ultimate Manilow (Audio CD)
Being a guy it is hard to ever admit you are a Barry Manilow fan. Well this is the ultimate album for closet fans like me. I'm not to into copacabana, but the old slowies are just great and really turn the clock back. My favourite track Even Now just sends me back 2o years or so,and One voice! what a classic. An absolute must for all Barry fans buy it, you will not be disappointed.!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album excites me greatly, 6 Oct 2005
This review is from: Ultimate Manilow (Audio CD)
An incredible assortment of beautiful tracks by Barry proving once and for all how he reeks of awesomeness. Opening track Mandy sets the scene with its haunting melody. No fillers on this beast, it all build up to a mighty crescendo to a most triumphant ending with Who Needs To Dream. Far and away though, the stand-out effort is Can't Smile Without You - a song that leaves you feeling as if your spine has been caresses softly by a fluffy kitten. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who's the Barry?....!!! Manilow is!!, 25 July 2007
This review is from: Ultimate Manilow (Audio CD)
I agree with previous reviews that Barry Manilow has never really got any acclaim, despite popularity with middle aged women (or so it was thought). I didn't know that much about Manilow, and went into this collection only knowing a couple of his songs. Having listened to it, I am stunned. This is clearly one of the best singer-singwriters there is; although a lot of his stuff consists of ballads, and can be shmaltzy, the quality of songwriting is outstanding. Just listen to the lyrics......
this collection is a great 'starter' to Manilows career, showcasing 19 of his best tracks, and a bonus track. Trust me when I say you will have many sing-a-long moments while listening.
Sometimes, old school is the way to go..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great compilation comeback, 22 July 2004
By 
Joan-Violet "Jo" (Lancs UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ultimate Manilow (Audio CD)
Barry what a comeback, sell out shows a musical and a chart topping compilation of your greatest songs what more can we want from you!! You're Ultimately the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best single CD compilation of Barry's music, 29 Jan 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Manilow (Audio CD)
In an age where most people placed more importance on the beat of a song than the song itself, Barry came along in the seventies to remind us what great songwriting is really all about. He wrote or co-wrote several of his classic songs but he was always willing to record quality songs written by others. Fortunately for Barry, there were still enough people around in the seventies and eighties who loved great songs, so he was able to become a major star despite being unfashionable in some quarters. Of course, he got - and continues to get - plenty of criticism from those with different musical taste, but the appreciation of his fans provides him with more than adequate compensation.
This compilation covering his most successful years contains many of Barry's classic songs including all his important American hits though there are some notable omissions from a British perspective. Although Barry had many UK hits, only one of them actually made the top ten (I wanna do it with you) and it's not included here. Another major UK hit (Let's hang on) is also missing. Nevertheless, this is a fine compilation and a class act like Barry should not be judged on hits alone.
Among the many classic songs included here are I write the songs (ironically, not written by Barry), The old songs, Somewhere in the night, I made it through the rain, Bermuda triangle, Mandy, Copacabana at the Copa, Can't smile without you and Could it be magic.
This compilation provides a great introduction to Barry's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRACK 5 OMG!!!, 6 Oct 2005
This review is from: Ultimate Manilow (Audio CD)
So i was ready to listen to another classic Manilow album, and was steadily proceeding through the tracks, when i came across Can't Smile Without You (track 5). I almost cried!! It is a classic. If it were a celebrity, it would be Kriss Akabusi. There should be a rule that people must listen to this song. RULE 1 FOREVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars manilow "magic", 13 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Ultimate Manilow (Audio CD)
a must for any barry fan. a collection of some of his finest songs sure to have you singing along. upbeat songs mixed with powerful ballads a very good selection. (bonus track also included from his musical). once again another great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wahay for Mr.manilow, 28 Sep 2007
By 
Bj Lucas "saculnamron" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Manilow (Audio CD)
this Ultimate collection is eactly that, A collection of his ultimate hits. And, having followed and loved him since I was a little girl, this is wonderful. It has all the hits you know, from the discoesque 'copacabana' 'Can't smile without you' 'It's a miracle' qll of them are here....well, almost all thats' where my slight gripe comes in. It's missing 'This one's for you, and 'New York city Rythym tsk tsk. Having said that, the bonus song is wonderful, 'Who needs to dream' from the movie copacabana and a must for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good compilation, 23 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Ultimate Manilow (Audio CD)
This CD works well either as a starter for a new Barry Manilow fan becauseit does feature most of his most famous songs. For diehard fans it's goodbecause it has a lot of the favourites on one CD. I am disappointed that"Saved the best to last" isn't on it - but you can't have everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Bliss, 11 Oct 2005
This review is from: Ultimate Manilow (Audio CD)
I love barry manilow and this is by far his best cd, especially track 5 which is utter brilliance, its like your first mcdonalds. Smile without you, you can't smile without this CD...Track 5 calms me down whilst walking the streets of london...its great, buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate Manilow
Ultimate Manilow by Barry Manilow (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews