Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Family Film!
I originally saw this film on the television and enjoyed it so much that I bought it so my family could enjoy it too. It is a great family film, lots of adventure and interesting characters. I watched it with my 14 year old son, my partner and my Mum and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. I would totally recommend this film if you're looking for something for all ages.
Published on 1 Sep 2010 by trace940

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tall Tale
Perhaps I was expecting to much but overall I was very disappointed with the Film and would not recommend it.
Published on 28 Oct 2012 by Big D


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Family Film!, 1 Sep 2010
This review is from: Tall Tale - The Unbelievable Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
I originally saw this film on the television and enjoyed it so much that I bought it so my family could enjoy it too. It is a great family film, lots of adventure and interesting characters. I watched it with my 14 year old son, my partner and my Mum and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. I would totally recommend this film if you're looking for something for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FAMILY FILM, 8 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tall Tale - The Unbelievable Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
THIS IS A EXCELLENT FAMILY FILM I LOVED THE CHARACTER PECOS BILL PATRICK SWAYZE REALLY SURPRISED ME PLAYING THIS PART BUT HE DID IT BRILLIANTLY,THE STORY TELLS OF A YOUNG BOY WITH A GREAT IMAGINATION WHEN IT COMES TO THE WILDWEST,AS WHEN HIS FAMILY ARE IN TROUBLE WITH THREAT OF DEATH IF THEY DO NOT SELL THEY'RE LAND TO THE RAILROAD, PECOS BILL COMES TO THE RESCUE,HE ARRIVES IN A TORNADO ON A BEAUTIFUL BLACK HORSE CALLED WIDOW MAKER. PECOS TAKES THE BOY ON AN ADVENTURE WHERE THEY TEAM UP WITH A WISE LUMBERJACK AND A RAILROAD WORKER TOGETHER THEY SHOW THE BOY HOW HE CAN DO ANYTHING EVEN OUT SMART THE NASTY LAND GRABBER AND STOP HIM IN HIS TRACKS, I LOVED THE PART WHERE PECOS BILL GAVE THE BOY WIDOW MAKER AND WHERE THE BOY PLEDGED WITH THE TEAM BEFORE GOING IN TO HIS FAMILY AND HIS FATHER STANDING IN THE DISTANCE FEELING PROUD SEEING HIE SON WITH THESE HEROS. IT WAS A REAL SUNDAY FAMILY SIT DOWN AND MY 14YR OLD AND MY HUSBAND LOVED THE FILM TOO AS I KNOW MY HUSBAND WOULD HAVE FELL ASLEEP IF IT WAS BORING BUT NO WAY WE ALL LOVED IT. GREAT FILM FOR ALL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tall Tale, 17 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tall Tale - The Unbelievable Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
Love seeing Patrick in the saddle as a cowboy, fun, fantasy story, good guy wins. Great family movie, action, visual effects a plenty and surprises, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Big Three to the Rescue., 8 Nov 2012
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tall Tale - The Unbelievable Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
"Tall Tale - The Unbelievable Adventure" was a huge flop on its release and only made back a third of its budget for Walt Disney. A bad day at the office, which did not exactly encourage them to make more westerns! Admittedly it is not a great film, but it most certainly deserved a better fate than it got. The movie uses a slightly wacky screenplay by Steven L. Bloom and Robert Rodat that taps into the American folklore figures Pecos Bill, Paul Bunyan and John Henry. These three were actually 20th century literary inventions known as 'fakelore', and they were known as 'big man' characters. They seem to have their origins in the tall tales that cowboys recounted across the campfire in days gone by, especially Pecos Bill who can lasso a tornado. Not easy that!

The wildly imaginative plot has these characters helping a young boy and his family in the fight to save the pristine wilderness of Paradise valley against a greedy and ruthless developer played by Scott Glenn. The three heroes resemble a modern American version of King Arthur and his knights sleeping until England, when in dire peril calls upon them once again. And so they come! The film also cleverly looks at the decline of folk culture and America's transition from mythic heroes to a world of grasping tycoons. All a bit much for the young audience that the film was aimed at! Pecos Bill comes with his horse widowmaker, and Paul Bunyan has his rather noticeable blue ox. Patrick Swayze is surprisingly good as Pecos Bill. There is a funny scene where a man is foolish enough to insult Texas in his presence. It wasn't big and it wasn't clever! The late great Burgess Meredith makes an uncredited appearance as does William H. Macey. The film even includes John Ford and John Wayne's dearly beloved Monument Valley to add real western piquancy.

The film is something of a strange misfire which does at least manage to capture the mythic broadness of the tall tales. The excellent cinematography by Janusz Kaminsky who shot "Schindler's List", is worth mentioning in the way that it brings out the vastness of the old west, and adds embellishment to those tall tales. This is the old west seen through the hopeful and almost hallucinatory dreams of a young boy. We all hope there are heroes like these out there. Marvel comics were born of such dreams and their film characters continue to appeal to us. A better film than it would appear to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tall Tale - The Unbelievable Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
If your a Patrick Swayze fan you will love it, it's different from some of his others but still brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anamorphic Widescreen transfer!, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tall Tale - The Unbelievable Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
This UK DVD is an Anamorphic Widescreen transfer of this GREAT Disney movie.

Unlike the US DVD which is a Fullscreen transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars An Unbelievable Misfire, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tall Tale - The Unbelievable Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
Despite lavish cinematography by Spielberg regular Janusz Kasminski, some decent action set pieces, and three American Folk legends (Pecos Bill, John Henry and Paul Bunion) brought to life terrifically by their respective performers (including the late great Swayze as the gruff and tough Bill), Chechik's Wizard of Oz-esque Western ultimately lacks substance, with a flat and dull lead, both character & actor-wise, no exploration of its 'Old vs New West' theme that factors as a major part of the story, and thus, coming off as narrow-minded and overly-simple, even by Disney standards, and a cop-out Deus Ex-Machina third act that throws out all the established rules and as a result, defeats whatever character arc or responsibility the protagonist had for the sake of simple spectacle, and completely defeats the film's moral message about bravery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tall Tale - The Unbelievable Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
His is a good family film with the one and only Patrick swayze well worth the watch as a family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tall Tale - The Unbelievable Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD was a blast back into the time my sons were young and they still enjoyed it. What I was really impressed with was the delivery which was so quick it took me by surprise, excellent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tall Tale, 28 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tall Tale - The Unbelievable Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
Perhaps I was expecting to much but overall I was very disappointed with the Film and would not recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tall Tale - The Unbelievable Adventure [DVD]
Tall Tale - The Unbelievable Adventure [DVD] by Jeremiah S. Chechik (DVD - 2004)
£3.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews