Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eski-beat
The first time I listened to this album the eskimo beats came in, totally original and interesting, which compliments the beautiful cold street lyrics that Wiley (and other members of Roll Deep) spit. All around great album, has the crazy beats equaling to the ones of Dizzee Rascals. A very different album, but I would only suggest buying it if you have an open mind for...
Published on 1 May 2004 by tom_unit

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its good but�
To be honest I'm somewhat let down with Wiley's album. After hearing him on 'Boy In Da Corner' and some freestyles, I found out that he was releasing an album, so based on that I bought it.
I do think he's a wicked MC but... there's something missing in this album. Most of the songs on the album are really good but even then, they aren't spectacular and get a bit...
Published on 3 Oct 2004 by Amazon Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eski-beat, 1 May 2004
This review is from: Treddin' On Thin Ice (Audio CD)
The first time I listened to this album the eskimo beats came in, totally original and interesting, which compliments the beautiful cold street lyrics that Wiley (and other members of Roll Deep) spit. All around great album, has the crazy beats equaling to the ones of Dizzee Rascals. A very different album, but I would only suggest buying it if you have an open mind for music. For most UK Street-life, and MC/garage lovers, this is a must buy. As I am making this a realistic review, I will make bad points as well as good, as the album isn't perfect (as near to it, as it is), it's a little dissapointing that Raskit (Dizzee Rascal) didn't make an appearance is and also a little suprising. And I think he could of easily had 20 tracks, (like interludes "Avalanche, Ice Rink" are actual beats that Raskit and Wiley have MC'ed over), and maybe some faster lyrics wouldn't hurt, as he is more than capable. A must buy for people rolling deeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its good but�, 3 Oct 2004
This review is from: Treddin' On Thin Ice (Audio CD)
To be honest I'm somewhat let down with Wiley's album. After hearing him on 'Boy In Da Corner' and some freestyles, I found out that he was releasing an album, so based on that I bought it.
I do think he's a wicked MC but... there's something missing in this album. Most of the songs on the album are really good but even then, they aren't spectacular and get a bit repetitive. Judging from he's freestyles and Boy In Da Corner he's a much more 'capable' MC, he just doesn't seem to use it all that much on the album, which is really a shame considering that album could have been fantastic. I'm not hating here, I'm being honest, I think Wiley's a wicked MC... its just this album doesn't reflect it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic record from the godfather of grime, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Introspective lyrics that anyone can relate to laid over beats that are a hybrid of garage and the type of sounds you'd expect to hear bumping out of a Sega mega drive, all the while executed with Wiley's characteristic punchy flow . Well worth a purchase for anyone interested in the origins of grime or British music in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eski? Grime? Who cares what it's called!, 24 April 2004
This review is from: Treddin' On Thin Ice (Audio CD)
A really fantatsic album which will easily weather the Dizzee Rascalcomparsions coming its way. Taking similar elements to Boy In Da Corner,this album outstrips that album completley in terms of the music. Anyonewith even a passing interest in modern music should get this albumstraight away in order to hear a true chapter in British music beingwritten. Wiley manages to combine the stabbing chords of acid house andSquarepusher/Autechre electronica with grubby breaks and gut shreddingbreaks. It is almost so cutting edge it's avant garde and surelyrepresents one of the most exciting scenes since early punk. His MCing ismore comparable with Mike Skinner than the fierce social commentary ofDizzee Rascal, but he holds his own well particularly on the brilliantGoin' Mad. I challenge you to hear this track and not get goose bumps. Hopefully Wiley's sound won't get entirely swallowed up by the mainstreamas often happens with true mavericks, but either way he has produced oneof the best debuts albums for years. Go get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice bit a Garage, 12 July 2004
This review is from: Treddin' On Thin Ice (Audio CD)
Nice album wileys made here, nothing amazing - just nice. When compared to be in da corner this album is average although they do sound very similar.
Some nice beats in 'doorways' and 'reasons' with some catchy lyrics but......
....the main problem with this album is that it lacks any decent guest apperances (wheres dizzee?)and therefore leaves wiley going the whole album solo. He's a wicked rapper and even manages some lyrical content, but just doesnt create ne thing stunnin. Im being a bit harsh basically because i expected more, because he haz made better tunes.
Buy it if ur a garage fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some call Wiley The God Father of Grime, 25 Nov 2006
This review is from: Treddin' On Thin Ice (Audio CD)
This is a must have cd This was Wileys first cd.Wiley is SICK!!!!!!!!People are calling this hiphop and urban and stuff the musics called GRIME!

Buy this cd wileys flows are big.

If you are a Wiley fan then you have to buy Wiley -Da 2nd Phaze this is his second album.Also wiley has released Tunnel Vision 1,2,3 and 4 and 5 are coming out very soon.Wiley is taking the Tunnel Vision to vol 10.

And if you dont no Wiley has been signed to the Big Dada label and Wiley is releasing a new Album which should be out early next year.And if yo want to get hold of wileys other cds send me a message and i tell where you can get them from cos Amazon does not stock these cds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this is how the roll deep entourage duz things, 27 April 2004
By 
S. Fields "Sam" (Beds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Treddin' On Thin Ice (Audio CD)
just got wileys new album and i have to say it is wicked. its verydifferent to what i expected as it is far more hip/hop influenced than ithought it would be. his underground tracks (with the exception of 'igloo'which is incorporated into 'wat u call it') like icerink,eskimo andavalanche are confined to intros probably as the record label thought theywere too obscure for a commercial album.
they are some claqssic tracks on the album such as 'treddin on thin ice','goin mad', 'special girl', 'got somebody. its pretty different to dizzeerascals album as it is way more mellow and commercial which isntnecessarily a bad thing and its still very cutting edge compared toeverything else on the market.
this is a must buy for all urban fans and i suggest everyone gets it cozwiley, dizzee and roll deep are the future of uk black music so go out andsupport real talent instead of buying justin timberlake, 50 cent and otheramerican junk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok but not great, 22 May 2005
This review is from: Treddin' On Thin Ice (Audio CD)
wiley's album is average at best but again quite good for the uk hip hop/ urban scene as the popularit of the uk scene is getting bigger by the day due to Mtv base, Channel U and Ben TV are just a few tv channels that are promoting uk hip hop.
the standout tracks are pies, tredding on thin ice, wo do u call it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wiley, 26 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Treddin' On Thin Ice (Audio CD)
I bought this album today the day it came out and I didnt know what toexpect as I'd only heard one song of it which was 'wot u call it?'. Ireally liked this song and risked buying the album as i had some money andi wasn't dissappointed when i heard it. It opens with the game which is agood starter but not the best song on the album. I still think 'wot ucall it' is the best song but there are some really good songs on heresuch as 'pick ya self up' and 'doorway'. The rest are all good and this isa very good first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars london garage growth, 22 Mar 2004
By 
T. Veale (Waterford Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Treddin' On Thin Ice (Audio CD)
you can't say much about this album but its simply class.
Wiley like Dizzy Rascel has come out of Londons pirate radio scene with this soon to be coveted album.
He shows many different elements of his music in his with pure London r+b in "threading on thin ice" and "pies" while we see a witty side in "what you call it" when we are shown how people are still confused by this new evolving art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Treddin' On Thin Ice
Treddin' On Thin Ice by Wiley (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews