Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars76
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 December 2004
Classic, unadulterated Tom & Jerry, with nothing but great cartoons from the golden era. Just one niggle, a sound bug during one of the cartoons and some lacklustre editing for the DVD, but it's the content that matters and it still shines.
Volume 1 is equally good, while vol. 3 is great, but starts to trail off at the end due to poorer quality cartoons as production costs start getting cut. Volume 4 is absolutely horrible, dating from a time where production costs appear to have hit rock bottom, so don't even bother with vol. 5.
Get this without fear and re-live your childhood through some of the most imaginitive cartoon slapstick you'll ever find!
0Comment87 of 87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2005
The Tom & Jerry series commenced in 'Volume 1' continues with all the cartoons from 'Solid Serenade' (1946) up to 'Safety Second' (1950). Within this collection we get to see Tom & Jerry in their most defining visual state, with some great rendering, stunning animation and generally very clean style.
This collection also contains the memorable 'The Cat Concerto', which won an Oscar and few T&J fans could fail to remember the battle between Tom and Jerry as the latter intervened while the former was trying so hard to play Liszt's 'Hungarian Rhapsody' on the grand piano on a concert stage. This is a classic masterpiece!
That having been said, though, the other cartoons are also full of energy and still generate a laugh.
There are two things I have so far noticed that mar this collection. 'Solid Serenade' has a sound glitch near the end that is very noticeable and is a bit off-putting. The other is that, like the previous collection, some political correctness has affected some of the cartoons. In some of the cartoons, once again the black maid Mammy Two Shoes has had her voice redubbed to make her sound like a white woman (but in other cartoons, such as 'A Mouse In The House', the dear original maid's voice and drawl is present throughout!), and some bits that supposedly poke fun at black people have been cut: a black-face gag is cut from 'A Mouse In The House' and 'The Truce Hurts', 'Tennis Chumps' has a different take on one with a different pose, and -- possibly the most affected -- 'The Little Orphan' is heavily cut to remove the aftermath of what happens in a scene involving Tom and a candle, and again the continuity is affected so the scene no longer makes sense.
So, all in all, a great collection, once again kept from the 5/5 scoring by some cuts.
0Comment107 of 108 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2004
Tom And Jerry - Classic Collection - Vol. 2 is probably the best in the current series of dvds dedicated to the classic duo.. Unfortunatley several of the cartoons have been edited and the voice of Mammy has been overdubbed.. That apart a first rate dvd that should be in everybody's collection
0Comment35 of 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2008
I bought this DVD for the kids to watch in the car during a long drive on holiday in France. I notice that all the other reviews are concerned with the quality/editing/dubbing etc, however my review is aimed at parents who need to keep their kids entertained! My children are 7 and 5, and they laughed for three solid hours. I don't know about other parents, but I was dreading the long drive, however the drive was a pleasure with this DVD playing. It was an unbelievable hit with them and they just loved it. It made for a very harmonious drive through France as we couldn't help laughing at the kids laughing in the back. A brilliant DVD that has become our children's favourite DVD of all time.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2009
This volume contains 26 of the 161 Tom and Jerry cartoons, from the late 1940s when the series was in its prime.

Of the six volumes of Tom & Jerry I found this to be the one with the funniest cartoons- though those on Volumes 1 and 3 are almost as good. Some of the classics on here include "The Cat Concerto" (one of the all-time classic cartoons based on a piece of orchestral music), and "Heavenly Puss" is another of my long-standing favourites. Plenty of slapstic humour on offer, and good entertainment for those of all ages.

As with Volumes 1 and 3, some of the cartoons have been edited for implied racism, which detracts from them a bit, and in some cases affects the continuity ("The Little Orphan" being the worst example). However, most of these edits are only minor.

As with the other DVDs in this collection, it's double sided which can be a pain, but there is very little in the way of legal stuff (and no piracy trailers) before you get into the list of cartoons to view.

5/5 for the cartoons, 1/5 docked for the PC cuts- but this is still classic entertainment at its very best.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2004
The best cartoon ever made! put on DVD with nearly 3 hours worth!! its a treat! and worth the money! the picture and sound has never been better! the only thing I would say my disappoint is that theres no extras! like a making of Tom and Jerry!! but then again! cant complain when u get a ton of cartoons! great for the kids and family!
0Comment18 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
My dad and I used to sit together watching the antics of Tom and Jerry and laughing our heads off. Fifty plus years later, I am now doing the same thing with my Grandson. The cartoon artwork is beautiful and of course the comedy is timeless.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2009
It was several weeks before my son (aged 5) would watch anything else. So, depending on your point of view, this could be a good or bad review.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2012
I bought volume one a few months back, which was full of the classic Tom & Jerry cartoons from the 40s & 50s, this is more of the same, in fact I watched this yesterday with my 6 year old daughter.

She loves Tom & Jerry, as I do and all my family, the old ones which volume 1 & 2 are full of are fantastic.

My advice is to buy theses DVDs you won't regret it!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
is there something wrong with me !!! i just cannot stop watching tom and jerry

i bought volume 1 a few months ago and just had to buy volume 2 i am most

impressed with this as well i will be buying volume 3 when i save enough

money !!! bye for now i'm going to watch tom and jerry again and again!!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse