Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, innovative piece of work
I bought this on Vinyl having already purchased it on CD. You can hear snippets of the tracks from various websites (Y@@@ube etc) though i'd guess if you're reading this review you know what to expect. Modern day composing using technology and tradition, this album offers the lot.. delicated chamber pieces to futuristic pieces. It is very relaxing and therapeutic and I...
Published on 29 April 2009 by J. Jones

versus
23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tracks 1, 2 and 11
From all the five star reviews here on Amazon, my expectations turned out to be too high for this album. Tracks 1, 2 and 11 are very good. The rest of the songs aren't bad, but for the most part they start off promising and then fail to go anywhere. The clicking type writer is overused and distracts more than it adds.

Along a similar vein, I believe fans of...
Published on 5 Jan. 2009 by Sidney Carton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, innovative piece of work, 29 April 2009
By 
J. Jones (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this on Vinyl having already purchased it on CD. You can hear snippets of the tracks from various websites (Y@@@ube etc) though i'd guess if you're reading this review you know what to expect. Modern day composing using technology and tradition, this album offers the lot.. delicated chamber pieces to futuristic pieces. It is very relaxing and therapeutic and I would wholeheartedy recommend this guy's work to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning album, 10 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Max Richter: Blue Notebooks (Audio CD)
I can't recommend this album highly enough. The 4th track, Shadow Journal, is possibly one of the most beautiful pieces of music I've ever heard. Difficult to define or put into a category but I'll make a stab at it by calling it a mixture of classical, electronica and ambient/chill out. Simply stunning. £12 very well spent..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An elegeic masterpiece, 8 Dec. 2006
By 
T. Almy (derby, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Richter: Blue Notebooks (Audio CD)
Like Memoryhouse, Max Richter's sadly deleted first CD, this album is suffused with a forlorn melancholia. The quotes from Franz Kafka (beautifully read by Tilda Swinton), compound the feeling that this is a nostalgic homage to the lost world of East European cultures that were shattered by Stalinist purges and Nazi pogroms. The standout track, 'The Shadow Journal', is impossibly beautiful, distilling the album's sense of loss into an achingly sad refrain for violin and, suprisingly, a jay!

Small but perfectly formed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tracks 1, 2 and 11, 5 Jan. 2009
By 
Sidney Carton (Edinburgh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Richter: Blue Notebooks (Audio CD)
From all the five star reviews here on Amazon, my expectations turned out to be too high for this album. Tracks 1, 2 and 11 are very good. The rest of the songs aren't bad, but for the most part they start off promising and then fail to go anywhere. The clicking type writer is overused and distracts more than it adds.

Along a similar vein, I believe fans of tracks 1, 2 and 11 will be much better served by Brian Eno's "The Pearl" or "Music for Airports", Harold Budd's "Perhaps", Goldmund's "Corduroy Road" (available for download on iTunes), Arvo Pärt's "Alina" or "Miserere", Peter Gabriel's "Passion", or Hauschka's "Ferndorf".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Max richter, 19 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Max Richter: Blue Notebooks (Audio CD)
this music was used on the TV drama DIVe, the linking of the passages to the story line was in my opinion superb, The arrangement caught the mood exactly, and listening to the cd on its own does not dissapoint, well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb modern piano, 9 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Max Richter: Blue Notebooks (Audio CD)
This album takes a while to get in to but is perfect bedtime music or just for relaxing. Nice modern piano but also a mix of atmospheric sounds and instruments to take you to another realm. Selecta.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Dec. 2014
By 
Mark J. Lennon "Mark L" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The most beautiful music, im absolutely blown away by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice.., 6 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Notebooks (Audio CD)
A collection of music to wind down at the days end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 1 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Max Richter: Blue Notebooks (Audio CD)
I came to this CD via the soundtrack for Shutter Island, which included "On the Nature of Daylight". I was very disappointed. Many of the pieces have an unfinished feel to them. The CD falls well short of the other music I bought on the strength of the Shutter Island soundtrack, such as Fog Tropes by Ingram Marshall and Rothko Chapel by Morton Feldman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Notebooks (Audio CD)
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Max Richter: Blue Notebooks
Max Richter: Blue Notebooks by Max Richter (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews