Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film!
I was pleasantly surprised watching this film. Both the content and even the acting were very good. The story line is very close to history, it is very interesting and the title figure is inspiring in his conviction of faith, faithfulness to God's Word and Truth and boldness in the face of murderous opposition by the RC clergy. Ok, at times there could have been more...
Published on 7 Feb 2009 by Nicole Dunz

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
I received the DVD in the time allowed
Published 4 months ago by Dorothy Pelosi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film!, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Nicole Dunz (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: God's Outlaw [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I was pleasantly surprised watching this film. Both the content and even the acting were very good. The story line is very close to history, it is very interesting and the title figure is inspiring in his conviction of faith, faithfulness to God's Word and Truth and boldness in the face of murderous opposition by the RC clergy. Ok, at times there could have been more extras and the "Germans" don't have any accent,but otherwise it is highly recommendable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great English hero, 16 Mar 2009
By 
R. J. Hedley "Rupert Hedley" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: God's Outlaw [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
It is a pity that this well acted film - which is a pretty faithful attempt at telling the main points in the life of Tyndale - is not more widely known. Wiliam Tyndale was an early English protestant and martyr who spent his life learning languages (eg Hebrew and Greek etc) in order to translate The Bible into English so that it was in theory available to everyone. The Bible in English had been banned for many years due to the perceived threat of the English Lollards who were persecuted as heretics. The opening scene of this film has a brief glimpse of an incident in Coventry when about ten Coventry male and female Lollards were interrogated and burned alive for their opinions - summarised here as wanting to read and speak in English not latin.

My only complaint regarding 'God's Outlaw' is that it seems to be far too lenient towards the figure of Sir - or if you prefer - 'Saint' Thomas More. More spent the latter part of his life persuing a hate filled and fanatical campaign against Tyndale and others of the evangelical persuasion. More penned the most savage and vicious polemics against Tyndale and his writings and did his very best to see that Tyndale and others were hunted down, questioned, tortured and burned alive. This desire on the part of More was eventually realised when Tyndale was publicly strangled and burned in what is modern day Belgium. No doubt More (like many fanatics) was a brave man and in his earlier days had been an example of enlightenment but his behaviour towards the English protestants was and is a disgrace. To make this man the patron saint of politicians is actually an affront to anybody who has ever read The Bible in English. There is even a school named after More in Coventry but I would suggest you would search high and low to find many schools named after William Tyndale who did so much for his native tongue and ultimately laid down his life in his attempt to get all of The Bible translated and printed in English.

Eventually all of the New Testament and a lot of The Old were translated by Tyndale and a very large percentage of the later English Bibles up to the King James version and beyond were in reality Tyndale's work.

Other early English protestants that figure in this film are Thomas Poyntz, Humphrey Monmouth and John Frith.

I hope you give this film a go and enjoy it as much as I did. The only version at the moment that seems to be available on Amazon is region 1 but it is not very difficult to find a region 2 version on the internet.

If you would like to take your interest further I recomend the biographies of Brian Moynahan and David Danniel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellaent - historical background, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God's Outlaw [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I borrowed this from a friend some years ago - I ajm so glad to have found it to add to my 'permanent' collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ' Gods Outlaw.' DVD., 7 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God's Outlaw [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Great Biblical DVD. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 Aug 2014
This review is from: God's Outlaw [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I received the DVD in the time allowed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars GOD'S OUTLAW, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: God's Outlaw [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Excellent delivery service, but when I viewed the dvd, I was extremely disappointed with the picture and sound quality. I appreciate that this was advertised as not being new, but was assured that it was of a very good quality. This, however,is not the case. The picture is blurred ant the sound quality poor. Not acceptable at all. If it wasn't for the fact that I needed the dvd, I would have returned it and asked for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

God's Outlaw [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£9.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews