Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Celebrate the Love of the One You're With."
The title of George Michael's new solo album obviously refers to the patience with which we've waited for this CD, his first of original material since 1996's "Older." It's not as consistent as that record, but it does feature some of Michael's most personal and inspired work. There are some great tunes, a few good ones, and a couple boring ones, resulting in an overall...
Published on 25 May 2004 by Burjiz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but Disappointing!
"Patience" by George Michael is an unusual mixed bag of virtues and vices. This English all-around talent (singer, composer, musician, producer, etc.) is a major figure in the Music World and justifiably so. Despite his many skills, George Michael's singing gifts most forcefully impress me and this male must have 1 of the finest voices ever in the Popular realm...
Published 16 months ago by Mark A.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Celebrate the Love of the One You're With.", 25 May 2004
By 
Burjiz (Schaffhausen, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
The title of George Michael's new solo album obviously refers to the patience with which we've waited for this CD, his first of original material since 1996's "Older." It's not as consistent as that record, but it does feature some of Michael's most personal and inspired work. There are some great tunes, a few good ones, and a couple boring ones, resulting in an overall worthwhile effort. The kickoff single, "Amazing," is an unpretentious, guitar flavored pop song that deserved its Top Ten status in Britain. "Flawless (Go to the City)" is a flamboyant, 6-minute disco stomper that has the word "hit" all over it, and "American Angel" is a touching love song about his Texas boyfriend. Every George Michael CD has at least one tearjerker of a ballad, and on this CD, that song is definitely "My Mother Had a Brother," which addresses the suicide of his uncle. If this track doesn't make you misty in the eyes, you better make sure you still have a pulse. But at 70 minutes, it seems a bit weighed down by only a couple filler tracks. More interesting, is that the American version of "Patience" doesn't have the anti-war "Shoot the Dog," a scathing diatribe against George Bush and Tony Blair. I guess that Sony reasoned that it would hurt George's American sales by including such a politically charged song in a time when 1) Iraq is currently in a state of turmoil and 2) during an election year. Still, this CD deserves to be as much a hit on these shores as the UK, where it already went to Number One. It's not perfect, but make no mistake: this "Patience" is a virtue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be patient with it..., 21 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
I've been listening to 'Patience' for one week now. On first listening, I didn't quite get it...one week in, I love it.
The music is excellent, perfectly produced as usual, George Michael's voice has improved even more since 'Listen Without Prejudice'.
But it's the lyrics that take time to get into (does anyone listen to those these days?). If you take the time, it's well worth it.
For me, this is a confessional album about personal love that's been lost and found, lifestyle, family, home, and the questioning of faith in a god and politics.

And personally I welcome the inclusion of 'Shoot the Dog' and 'Freeek' as a brave attempt to deal with important issues of American imperialism and internet porn.
It's a confusing, but intriguing, mix of jazz, blues, ballads and funk.
It's honest...and I honestly like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars George Michael Has Still Got It**Patience**, 16 July 2004
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
I am 23 years of age and have most of his albums.This was a nice surprise.An incredibly mature album from GM.It did take some getting used to though, like most albums they grow on you.Firstly "Amazing"is a Strong track and the song that i bought the album for.I cant get enough of it it's never off of the stereo!Perfect for getting ready to go out..i put it on and im ready to face the world!"Cars and Trains" is melancholy and meaningful but i can definitely relate to it.The only track on the album that im not keen on is "shoot the dog" it doesnt do anything for me.Flawless is great .Normally im not into songs containing samples but i love this it works..bit of a clubby number.."Precious Box" and "Through" are equally legendry.PB is addictive musically and lyrically ..genius.. "through" this is the best track on the album its true they always get left till the end.Powerful Ballad,Its so heartfelt you cant help but like it.Yes..Patience is nothing like ladies and gentlemen but it is still prtty damn cool.Id recommend it to people of all ages its got something for everyone here George still has it ..great voice..talented** Sarah.C**
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like No Other, 15 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
This album is most definitely George Michael at his very best - and that is to say . . . it's all even better than the classic Ladies And Gentlemen compilation.
Around 70 minutes long, Patience combines Electro (check out Shoot The Dog's clever use of the Human League's Love Action); camp disco (Flawless); melancholic ballads (two-part title track and gorgeously confessional My Mother Had A Brother, seemingly one of Michael's most personal songs to date). There's also a touching lovesong written for his long-time boyfriend, and a revamped version of Freeek! that works far better in the context of the album than it did as a single a couple or so years back. Brilliant tunes and fine production aside, George Michael sings like an angel; in fact he sings like never before.
If you only buy one album a month, buy this one.
If you only buy twelve albums a year -- get thirteen and give the dozen to all those you care about.
Shortly speaking, this is timeless stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Patience requires patience, 18 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
A clever title, considering the time he's taken to make this album. Patience is subtle, and is designed to get under your skin. There is no anthemic pop here, it is mainly comprised of superbly-produced ballads. "Amazing" is the stand-out track, a breezy and optimistic love song. Lyrically, the album is a trawl the experiences that have shaped George's life, but it's genuinely compelling. Only on "Through" do things get a little self-indulgent - it's balladry by numbers. You would have to have a heart of stone not to be moved by "My Mother Had A Brother", a song about George's uncle who committed suicide because he was gay, within hours of George being born. A cover of The Ones' "Flawless" might seem a little obvious for some, but after a few listens, it's hard to imagine what the song was like without his vocals. "Precious Box" is impressive, a truly contemporary dance tune with a sinister tinge. The two previous event singles "Freeek!" and "Shoot The Dog", sound much better within the context of an album, the latter possibly providing the most amusing and provocative pop lyrics in recent history. Although the recurring themes here are love and redemption, Patience ends on a sour note with the funky but deeply cynical "Freeek!" and aforementioned ballad "Through". I was not really a fan of George Michael before I heard this album, but I've changed my mind. It would be a shame if this were his last commercial release, because he still has a lot to say. It is unapologetic, frank and moving. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!!!!! not Patience!!!!!!, 5 April 2004
By 
MR E AKHRAS (LONDON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
This album has been much anticipated to say the least!!!!!!! First off I have to admit that I am a devout George Michael fan!!! so under the circumstances I have decided to give him the benefit of the doubt since there is no 4 and a half stars. All in all, this is a strong album, which will be appreciated by George's fans more than the ordinary listener. It oozes class and in my opinion represents a steady and mature transition from the Older Album. It has a good variety of slow - fast and smooth tunes though the inclusion of 'Shoot the Dog' and 'Freek' was somewhat disappointing since they are average songs which stand out in an otherwise well planned and produced album. The highlights of the album are surely: 'Amazing' - 'Precious Box' - 'American Angel' - 'Cars and Trains' and the delightful 'Round Here'..... This is an album you will find yourself always coming back to you... Enjoy it because the next one is probably another 6 yrs away!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply AMAZING!, 14 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
Wow! This is George's best along with "Older" and "Listen Without Prejudice" - the three play almost like a trilogy - listen to them in order, you can see the progression and the theme that links them together - a combination of dance and celebration brilliantly overshadowed by sadness, loss, love, prayer and hope. If you're hoping this to be another "Faith" album, sorry - though two or three tracks may satisfy. I've been listening to this album countless times since I bought it in May, and I still am getting plenty out of it! Don't hesistate on this one! Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect !, 20 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
It was worth the waiting. It has it all: Sweet very personal ballads, jazz, pop, dance, ... all and it comes together PERFECT. The most powerful album from George Michael, and that is a lot considering that Listen without prejudice, Older and Songs from the Last Century are 5 star albums too. Pay attention to Flawless (This is the Dance track that all clubs should be playing every night !), My mother had a brother (The most personal song for GM ever). Cars and Trains and Precious Box (Great sound !!!) and John and Elvis and Round Here (You will listen to them over and over). Amazing is the perfect "easy-to-listen" song (excellent choice for a first single !). Patience is poetry and American Angel and Anselmo's song are excellent. I did not buy Shoot .. or Freeek singles so these two fit perfectly for me on this album. This is a must have for fans and not so fans .. it is a great album !!! PD.: Not that it matters, but will the Grammy Awards will consider it this time? Older was perfect and completely under-appreciated ... (Do not place your hopes too high, Annie Lennox's Bare, Sarah's Afterglow, Dido's Life for Rent and Simply Red's Home were left out - unbelievable !!!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a word- "Flawless", 29 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
George Michael has always been a favourite artist of mine, and I've been eagerly anticipating this album for a long time and I've certainly not been disappointed with 'Patience'.
A deeply personal and revealing album, 'Patience' is a combination of up-tempo songs, such as 'Freeek' and 'Flawless (Go to the City)' and moving ballads, such as 'My Mother Had a Brother' and 'Through'. Every time I listen to the album I find something new that I like about it; some other apsect of it that moves me.
George's lyrics are beautiful and emotive and after listening to the album, you feel (even for the devoted GM fans), that you know George so much better. 'My Mother Had a Brother' delves into the story of George's uncle, who took his life the day George was born. He too was homosexual and couldn't deal with the pressures of his choice. I actually cried whilst listening to this song. George sings:
"But mama will you tell him from your boy
The times they changed
I guess the world was getting warmer
While we got stronger"
The music itself is awesome and as mentioned earlier, the mix of songs would keep a wide range of musical tastes entertained. The faster songs really 'grab' you and are so catchy that you'll find yourself singing them all day.
A really beautiful, catchy, moving, wonderful album.
George Michael is a true star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album but a bit of a mix, 15 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
I have to start by giving this album five stars!! The music is Definitely George at his best, I could hear elements from all his other albums in here. But in a way that's also what spoils the album a bit.
I've been dipping into tracks here and there as it's not really a play and relax album. It's an odd mix of upbeat dance tracks, mellow (listen without...) tunes and soft jazz (songs from...) and they're all mixed in so just when a track gets you in a certain mood along comes something completely different.
It's almost as though the dance tracks are in there only because George knows they're necessary to boost sales but his heart is really with the mellow stuff.
My opinion! Buy it and burn two CDs from it, a mellow one and an upbeat one, but don't listen to it as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Patience
Patience by George Michael (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews