Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Nice album, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desensitized (Explicit) (Audio CD)
The 2nd release from the heavy metal band Drowning Pool marked a change in singer (the original singer Dave Williams died in 2002) to Jason 'Gong' Jones and thats important to know as this album sounds slightly different from the superb debut album they made in 2001 'Sinner'.

This record contains some excellent guitar riffs from C.J. Pierce but the songs on this release are more in the vein of heavy rock and less nu-metal like their previous release. The album contains some great tracks with my personal favourites being the hard rockers 'This life, 'Nothingness', and the angry 'Bringing me down'. Also on this record the band are not scared to wear their influences on their sleeve such as on the album highlight 'Killin me' (released as a single) which sounds like the band Slipknot. Furthermore on a number of tracks the singer sounds like Layne Staley particularly on the Alice In Chains sounding 'Forget'. And sandwiched in between these tracks is 'Cast me Aside' where Alice in chains meets Slipknot. (this combination of sounds is surprisingly effective for this listener as I love both bands). The album closer 'Hate' is almost an homage to Slipknot with a bit of metallica thrown in. I suppose some listeners might be put off by this but I have no problem with bands sounding like other bands as all musicians steal sounds from somewhere, including the very greats.

The only track I am not too keen on is the testosterone charged first single 'Step up' which sounds like it is aimed at at a younger audience, but I suppose thats not a bad thing if it got them some new fans along the way, just this reviewer ain't too keen on it. So I would recommend this album to anyone who likes AIC, Metallica, Slipknot or just Hard rock in general. Oh yeah before I go I must point out that the woman on the front cover is the adult actress Jesse Jane and although this is a puerile gesture by the band, it happened to make this listener smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic comeback., 12 May 2004
This review is from: Desensitized (Audio CD)
Drowning Pool's second album and first with new vocalist Jason 'Gong' Jones. You'd be forgiven for thinking that after the death of former vocalist Dave Williams the rest of the band would have just given up. In fact, unbelievable, they've managed to pull off an album even more aggressive and hard hitting than ever before. It's not hard to understand why, they were never going to be mellow and the tragic loss of their bandmate just incited their rage further.

A lot has been said about Gong on this site, so I shall also contribute. Whilst he is not of the same vintage as Dave Williams, he doesn't claim to be. And he certainly isn't bad. He seems just as affected by everything that's happened as the rest of the band, and has done a tremendous job on this album. He is as worthy a replacement as they could have found and I look forward to his contribution to the band.

If you were a loyal fan of Dave Williams' Drowning Pool, you shouldn't feel bad about listening to this. If you hadn't even heard of Drowning Pool before this album, you'll probably prefer this album to the first. Either way, this album is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is why we love heavy rock!, 7 May 2004
This review is from: Desensitized (Audio CD)
this album is one of those that can convert nuns to listen to hard rock/heavy metal. it's raw power at its best! one mesmerising riff after the other it will make you love your "repeat disc" button. put on your torn jeans and leather jacket - you're going out to buy an album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anticipated follow up after Daves death., 6 May 2004
By 
Karlos (Coulsdon, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Desensitized (Audio CD)
It has been a while. Drowning Pool were dead and buried, the shared thoughts of many after Dave died. But no, they are back, with a new vocalist leading the band to new levels. Jason "Gong" Jones now the lead singer has taken over from Dave, extremely big shoes to step into. Mainly for the fact that not all fans will welcome a new vocalist But in my opinion he did it well. A album that has met expectations of most. Drowning Pool were known for the metal riffs whilst Daves voice was strong and apparent in his melodic style that pleased all metal fans. This album hasn't exactly got a track that will make it as big and well known as Sinner, because it has got a song like "bodies" but who needs that, this album isnt there to make millions in film soundtracks and advertisements. (remembers that step up there first release is also on the Punisher soundtrack).
These album from the begining track tells you what the new drowning pool are all about, back in the spot light angry and loud, "Think" is a amazing track to start the album off with. His voice isnt on the level of Daves, but the good thing is that he isnt trying to be him either. He is a different person and has a different voice and new inputs to the band and the album is blatant proof of that. It is gennerally more heavier than sinner but does have the occosional melodic moment that reminds you of Drowning Pool we originally knew.
So overall, yes the album is good, probably verging on really good. They are still a good band without there old front man. But it depends what your looking for in this album a sound-alike of dave and the same sort of songs, if so then dont buy the album. A new spin to the old Drowning Pool, if so then buy it and be impressed. The choice is yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely excellent album, 30 Sep 2004
By 
Schnuggles (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Desensitized (Audio CD)
If you've read my review of Disturbed/The Sickness then you will know I have narrow tastes which used to be solely Metallica until their St. Anger album showed me the way of heavier metal.
I am not a dedicated Drowning Pool fan and only recently found that the original singer sadly died. I did find the previous singer tended to screech a lot of the time that irritated me somewhat but the new singer doesn't do this and does an excellent job on the vocals.
This album has the variation in sound that keeps you interested. The power of the vocals, the lyrics and the amazing guitar talent really show that this band means business. I have no problem with recommending this album, it's absolutely amazing.
Killin' Me and Step Up are two of my favourites but that is not to do any of the other songs misjustice, I frequently change my mind. It's one of those rare albums that you can listen to on repeat for weeks on end without getting bored....how many albums can you say that about?!
If you like metal then you should buy this, you'll be amazed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Sinner, 28 Feb 2005
By 
Ms. C. B. Mead (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Desensitized (Audio CD)
The songs on this album are very well written, unlike Sinner, the bands first album. I hated the repetitive choruses. The music overall is heavier too, more 'metal'. There are some shouty vocals at times too, which adds passion, I think.
For those of you who haven't heard Sinner, if you like bands such as Soil and Godsmack as I do, you should go ahead and click 'Add to basket'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some how they've done it!!!!!!!!!, 25 April 2004
This review is from: Desensitized (Audio CD)
After that god-forsaken accident with their tour bus,loss of the leadsinger etc. i really couldn't see tham comin back at all so when i foundout that they were going to release another album i was gobsmacked 2 saythe least. But then i heard the album and i was blown away! it is one oftheir strongest, hardest albums evr and if you liked them before (or evenif u didnt),buy this and you wont look back!!!!!!!!!!BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY THEY HAVE RETURNED!!!!, 29 Mar 2004
This review is from: DESENSITIZED (Audio CD)
Two years after this platinum recording band Drowning Pool's lead singer Dave Williams, died on their tourbus of natural causes, this stunning group have returned with not only this album but a brilliant single "Step Up" now leaded by Jason "Gong" Jones. And if the album is as any good as their single, I can guarantee another success for Drowning Pool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal at it's best, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desensitized (Explicit) (Audio CD)
Explosive metal by an underrated band who never fail to deliver.
Great vocals, riffs and a rawness that not many groups can muster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album, 23 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desensitized (Explicit) (Audio CD)
I'd listened to this on Spotify for a while before I bought it, so I knew what was coming, but a really gret album.
Songs are strong, catchy and heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Desensitized
Desensitized by Drowning Pool (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews