Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genre-defining masterpiece
This masterpiece is the film which defines the Spaghetti Western. Clint Eastwood is good guy Blondie and the other two main characters, Tuco (Eli Wallach) and Angel Eyes (Lee Van Cleef) veer between bad and ugly over the two and half hour duration of this film. The plot is long and winding, but is essentially fairly simple - three guys who don't trust each other trying to...
Published on 11 Dec. 2000 by Dave

versus
48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2014 release is same as 2009 release, with the exception of picture quality ... now sharper, darker and in yellow/teal!
As well reported, the 2009 Blu-Ray release of TGBU was marred by some PQ issues, namely DNR was liberally used throughout the film, to wipe away some (but not all) of the grain inherent with the film stock TGBU was shot in. However, I did not find the DNR to be nowhere near as bad as some other infamous Blu-Ray titles, such as 'Predator: Ultimate Edition', 'Gladiator' and...
Published 13 months ago by Hugo D. Hackenbush


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2014 release is same as 2009 release, with the exception of picture quality ... now sharper, darker and in yellow/teal!, 7 Jun. 2014
By 
As well reported, the 2009 Blu-Ray release of TGBU was marred by some PQ issues, namely DNR was liberally used throughout the film, to wipe away some (but not all) of the grain inherent with the film stock TGBU was shot in. However, I did not find the DNR to be nowhere near as bad as some other infamous Blu-Ray titles, such as 'Predator: Ultimate Edition', 'Gladiator' and 'Patton'; for instance, actors did not appear waxy in the 2009 TGBU release, as was the case in those other aforementioned Blu-Ray releases. Overall, while far from perfect, I found the picture to be reasonably good-looking for a film of its age, film stock and budget. That being said, a film of this caliber cries out for an extensive remastering, à la Lowry Digital.

Sans Lowry, the new 2014 Blu-Ray remaster of TGBU has, for the most part, rectified the DNR issue, with DNR being used far more discreetly this go-around. Overall, the 2014 release has a nice, crisp look; whether this is attributable to the 4K scan or the lack of DNR, I can only guess. Is it sharper than the 2009 release? At times, it is indeed ... but not always. This is not surprising to me, given the film's age and the film stock it was shot on. Still, sharpness looks very good ... the best it has ever looked on any version of home video.

That was the good news. The bad news? Unfortunately, the remastering has also given TGBU a different color timing scheme. Now, the film's cinematography has a yellow and teal tint, with orange overtones for the actors, giving the film a more modern look, at the expense of changing the distinctive look of the original film. In general, the colors are punchier in the 2014 release when compared to the 2009 release; too bad the punchier colors are all tinted in yellow, orange and teal. Furthermore, the 2014 version also looks darker, likely a result of lowering gamma on the remaster; a darker picture can give the illusion of increased sharpness, but it also swathes scenes in shadows that were previously quite visible in earlier video releases.

Why do this to all of your catalog title releases, 20th Century Fox? From Alien Quadrilogy, to the French Connection, to the recent release of The R&H box set, someone over at Fox is convinced that all older films should be swathed in teal and/or orange/yellow.

Of note, according to recent reviews I have read, this new tint is what Sergio Leone had supposedly intended the film to look like, via second-hand information from an assistant cameraman who worked with the director and the cinematographer; of course, since both the original cinematographer and the director are long dead, there is no way to truly confirm this (at least George Lucas had the excuse of being alive when he started to second-guess his past work). At any rate, whatever the "intended" look might have been, this is not what the finished film has traditionally looked like since its original release ... a few Italian Technicolor prints, notwithstanding.

(For screenshot comparisons, check out "The Man With No Name" trilogy review at Blu-ray dotcom; they loved the new remaster, FYI).

As far as audio is concerned for TGBU, the 2014 version is the same as the 2009 version, complete with souped-up sound effects.

Also of note, the traditional 161 minute cut of TGBU is not included in any Blu-Ray release, including this new 2014 release; it can still only be had via the 1998 16x9 anamorphically-enhanced DVD.

So to sum up, choosing which Blu-Ray version to own of TGBU is a strictly a matter of taste. Which version of TGBU you prefer is what will determine your choice of releases; personally, I feel the 2009 release of the film is a far more accurate representation of the film's original cinematography than this new yellow/teal-ified version. Yes, PQ is sharper and more colorful in the 2014 release, but that's certainly not enough for me to get past the altered look of the film. For the record, the new look isn't awful, mind you; it just makes the film look different. If you wish to have a different-looking version of TGBU, then the 2014 version is the one to pick up.

In fact, for casual viewers who do not own prior releases, I will put aside my biases and recommend that they pick up the 2014 release over the 2009 release, as they will likely care about (and notice) sharpness and color saturation in PQ, more so than a change in color timing.

Please, 20th Century Fox ... stop the blue/teal/yellow/orange madness, and release your catalog films in their original color timing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genre-defining masterpiece, 11 Dec. 2000
By 
Dave (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
This masterpiece is the film which defines the Spaghetti Western. Clint Eastwood is good guy Blondie and the other two main characters, Tuco (Eli Wallach) and Angel Eyes (Lee Van Cleef) veer between bad and ugly over the two and half hour duration of this film. The plot is long and winding, but is essentially fairly simple - three guys who don't trust each other trying to get their hands on a consigment of gold. We all know about the music - and Morricone's soundtrack is an undisputed masterpiece. If there is a better marriage of sound and vision in cinema than the last 15 minutes of this film, I have yet to see it. But it's more than just a music video - the direction from the legendary Sergio Leone is out of this world. This is an epic in every sense of the word - the battle against good and bad, a cast of hundreds in the Civil War scenes and camera work which makes no concessions to TV and uses the entire length of the screen. The DVD is good, too. The picture and sound quality are out of this world. The 15 minutes of deleted scenes add nothing, but are a nice curio. You also get the original theatrical trailer. So this isn't a DVD to buy for fancy bells and whistles, but it delivers in spades on the top-quality basics - ie perfect sound and vision. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT HAS IT ALL....., 28 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film without doubt is one of the best westerns ever made. Clint,lee, eli give masterfull yet humorous performances. The music on it's own is great to listen to. I have seen this film, more than 10 times and haven't tired of it and never will....BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good, The Bad And The Ugly, 2005 MGM Special edition - Sergio Leone's masterpiece given the treatment it deserves, 5 Jan. 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly - 2 Disc Special Edition [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
This was the third in the Dollars trilogy that rewrote the Western genre, made a star out of Clint Eastwood and booked director Sergio Leone and composer Ennio Morricone's places as legends in film making history.

Clint Eastwood, Lee Van Cleef and Eli Wallach star as the Good, the Bad and the Ugly respectively. A motley trio of drifters, bandits and bounty hunters they are all on the trail of a fortune in stolen gold. Around this simple premise is woven a stunning and complex tale as alliances a formed and broken and the three endure many adventures on their way to the gold and the final thrilling showdown.

Eastwood is well settled into his man with no name persona, a man full of confidence in his abilities. Lee Van Cleef excels as the evil Angel Eyes, a man totally driven by his gold lust, a ruthless killer who will do whatever is necessary to get his goal. Cleef is quite chilling in the role. The scene stealer is Eli Wallach as the ugly Tuco, a bandit with no morals, but Wallach plays him in such a way that we have a real sympathy for the character. Tuco is given the most character development as his past and reasons for being who he is are explored, and Wallach grasps this with both hands to portray a very memorable character.

Leone had a greater budget to work with then the previous two films, and it shows. Whereas the first two were limited in scope, portraying a story within a limited set of locations and characters, this is epic in its scope. We are taken on a journey through the West riven by the American civil war, which gives Leone scope to direct some classic big battle sequences and to use an eye for scenery to impress the viewer. Leone contrasts the big epic vistas with his trademark close ups of the people who made up the West, a device used to good effect in the big showdown. Leone manages to depict the West as a grimy, brutal place, and the war as a senseless waste of men and as an inhuman an endeavour as man has ever suffered.

Central to the film is Ennio Morricone's superb score. Using his trademark odd rhythms and wordless vocals he provided one of the most memorable scores ever. Leone often filmed scenes around pre recorded music, and this meshes film and music together in a way that provides a huge impact. For example, the way the camera cuts between the three main character in the final showdown in time with the music. It's just classic, and was never bettered. .

This special edition is a real treat. The picture has been lovingly restored and is presented in the correct widescreen format. The colours shine through gloriously. The soundtrack has had similar treatment and is here in 5.1 surround. It sounds superb. There is a whole host of extras, documentaries about the film and restoration. The only letdown in the audio commentary, which is a real let down after the superb work done by Christopher Frayling on the previous two films. The presentation really does the film justice and I cannot recommend it highly enough. A great film and a great presentation. 5 stars with no hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WOW - Pin sharp. And Yellow., 11 Jun. 2014
By 
M. Hevingham "Mark Hevingham" (BIRMINGHAM, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK you may have read about the transfer. I watched this on my Samsung 1080P projector and the image was 14ft diagonal. As such the screen blisters with detail you have never seen on previous releases. There has been much debate about the new grade. Although an assistant on the film was involved I think that the colour is off as the sky looks green not blue in certain shots and the white on the titles is yellowed. However, I was able to pay with the colour values on the projector and return the image to something I would approximate as "natural". I admit this is "My" interpretation and it worked for me - you may like the new colour palette.

Once this is done, the film looks AMAZING. Its a great movie anyway and seeing it so crystal and sharp - far better definition on detail than the previous release - really made the screen come alive

The extras and menu are just lazy. They are ported over from the original version and I would have hoped that Clint and Eli could have been coaxed to record a commentary even if it were separately and edited as a single track As they are both alive and very lucid its a massive opportunity wasted and probably the last time they will be able to get them. I saw Eli at a screening of the film in 2006 and he stated "I have never been asked to do a commentary - I don't know why?" 8 year son and he still hasn't apparently?

If you don't own the movie in HD buy it NOW. If you do its worth a double dip if you can live with the new colouring or change your display manually. All of this is from my point of view if you disagree fair enough I will accept your opinion. Please accept mine as mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Film Ever Made?, 10 Sept. 2007
By 
nmollo (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly - 2 Disc Special Edition [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
"The Good, the Bad and the Ugly" has become the ultimate iconic film. Its broad images have become a staple for all that would eventually follow from Advertising, Pop Videos to future Western productions and Horror flicks. None can or want to escape the extraordinary visual flare and style of its Director. It is just too damn fashionable. Sergio Leone's influence cannot be overstated.

The exalted position of this Spaghetti Classic is #3 in the Top 250 films ever made according to The Internet Movie Data Base. Whether this position is justified is debatable but the good news is that this Classic Film was made over 41 years ago. The Top 250 list has proved somewhat unreliable because the latest Cinema Releases are voted on in greater numbers than the Classics of yesteryear and so it reflects a very modern bias. Substandard films like Martin Scorsese's poor re-make "The Departed" or "The Bourne Ultimatum" have found themselves in the Top 100 relatively quickly.

The positive of the IMDb Top 250 list is that it is constantly evolving and it also represents the general publics take on the medium. A crowd pleaser like "The Shawshank Redemption" has found itself consistently within the Top 5 and at present is at #2. That film found its audience not in the Cinema but by word of mouth and subsequent DVD sales.

The problem as a whole is that the general public forgets the older Classic rather quickly because they hamper for the newest release. In some cases what is old is regarded with contempt.

At a dinner in Hollywood I sat next to a famous producer and his beautiful doll-like wife. We began to talk about "The Good, the Bad and the Ugly" and what an impact it has had on modern cinema. His wife stopped our conversation with the subtly of shooting a blunderbuss into the air.

"Why would you want to see that" she said, "its old!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I personally think that this version is the best I ever seen, 17 July 2014
By 
E. Osborne "ozzy" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite that some pundits have to say concerning the re-mastering & colour timing of this release, I personally think that this version is the best I ever seen. Yes a number of significant changes have taken place & all I consider improvements from previous releases. The Techniscope framing is noticeably expanded revealing additional image at the top & the bottom & especially at the right. The colour changes are consistent to the original Technicolor print when fist released in 1966.

As for the movie it self, what can I say an absolute classic & this version is the best it ever looked on any other home video release

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'SPAGHETTI EXCELLENCE', 23 Sept. 2013
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
perhaps one of the best westerns ever screened.
remembered both for it's action and the memorable music score
of the same name recorded by 'Ennio Morricane'
the film has just about everything you could wish for in a western.
set during the 'American' civil war 'The man with no name' (Blondie)
and 'Tuco' risk everything to retrieve the $200,000 hoard hidden in
a grave they learnt of from a dying soldier 'Bill Carson'
the thing being one of our two heroes knows the location of the
graveyard the other knows the name on the grave.....they kinda need
each other.
just to spice things up a third party 'Angel Eyes' (Sentenza) is also
on the trail of the hidden hoard.
there paths are sure to collide.
there is a terrific rapport between 'Eli Wallach' and 'Clint Eastwood'
they generate a bucket load of humour along the way as each character
gains the upper hand at some stage of proceedings.
I myself haven't watched this for many years, I remember it as a great
movie, must admit i'd forgotten just how good it is.
'Great stuff from 'Eastwood' 'Wallach' and 'Van Cleef'
definitely worth re-visiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good, The Better and The Best, 1 Jun. 2004
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly - 2 Disc Special Edition [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
This is definately my favourite film that I have seen in a long time. Leone at his absolute finest TG TB TU is the epitome of the spagheti western. Once Upon A Time in the West comes close but Morricones score settles it for me. The oft reused cyote howl and the mariachi theme a the end make the music the best I've ever heard in a film. The film itself is a little long however my interest was held throughout. The acting is superb and the additional scenes while not greatly adding to the film do not detract from it. An absolute classic that has been desecrated by TV editors at Christmas time, this film deserves to be seen in full.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars part of the set!, 18 April 2013
By 
Wazza Jude (Liverpool,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly - 2 Disc Special Edition [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
I award 2 stars for the packaging & at least getting a look at the 'fully restored version'.,but knock 3 off for a lousy video transfer.. lacks a polished sheen which the first two in the series have,lousy audio.. totally synthesised sounding and without a dts like the first two of the series have, and without an option to watch the movie without the 'restored' scenes.
All this quite absurd as disc two emphasises the efforts made to restore both video & audio.,just like with the first two of the trilogy series.(which do come off better even though they are older movies!!)
Overall very sloppy & I wouldn't have bought this edition if it wasn't for the completest in me.
I cannot recommend.
I'm sure the third spaghetti was made deliberately awful to tempt prospective buyers into purchasing the bd sets!!
Wazza
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good, The Bad and The Ugly - 2 Disc Special Edition [1966] [DVD]
£12.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews