Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant new take on mix album
Having bought and loved some of the previous offerings in the DJ Kicks series and being a big fan of Erlend Oye and Kings of Conveinence, I was expecting some downbeat electronica in the style of KOC's Versus album. Instead, we get a mixed bag of Electro, Deep House and more eclectic styles with Erlend Oye crooning a cappella vocals on top of them. It may sound...
Published on 10 May 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lively Mix
A really lively mix with some great beats and grooves. A little different to most the mixes of this series but that was expected from the scandinavian. Worth a listen and will get a few more plays in the stereo.
Published 9 months ago by Mr. Mark A. Bullers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant new take on mix album, 10 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: DJ-KICKS (Audio CD)
Having bought and loved some of the previous offerings in the DJ Kicks series and being a big fan of Erlend Oye and Kings of Conveinence, I was expecting some downbeat electronica in the style of KOC's Versus album. Instead, we get a mixed bag of Electro, Deep House and more eclectic styles with Erlend Oye crooning a cappella vocals on top of them. It may sound incongruous and slightly odd but it works really well and is one of the contenders for album of the year. The choice of songs and vocals works really well and for somebody who confesses that he can't mix, he does a pretty good job.
If you like you music to be a little different from the norm and are a fan of any of his previous stuff, I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 30 Mar 2005
This review is from: DJ-KICKS (Audio CD)
Being a big fan of Erlend Oye I bought this one day feeling quite excited about my new purchase. I wasn't disapointed, in fact it been played so many times my mate at work is gets grumpy when he hears the first track. It's a fantastic album especially "Poor Leno [Silicone Soul's Hypno House Dub]/There Is a Light That Never - Röyksopp" with Morrisey's lyrics told by Oye in his laid back manner.
If you like Royksopp, Oye or Kings of Convenience - buy it now!! You will thank me for it, and Erlend, if you read this - keep it up mate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erlands best release yet...A contender for album of the year, 5 Jun 2004
This review is from: DJ-KICKS (Audio CD)
Having read NME's review of this album, which although praisworthy, only merited it 7 out of 10, i postponed buying this until yesterday. DON'T WAIT ANOTHER MINUTE, buy this album now !!! It really is top quality from the opening track to the very end. The tracks chosen, which are not written by Erland, or remixes of Kings of Convenience songs, are made his own by the layering of acappella vocals over the top. This is done brilliantly, and the vocals picked are enchanting, amusing and perfect for the backing tracks. It really does leave you begging for more. Blooming fantastic Erland, this deserves to be in everyones top 10 albums of the year.
Don't umm and arr any longer, purchase this album now, and then send me a thankyou note after !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars oye oye! its the singing dj, 26 July 2004
a great mix album tracing the transformation of Erland Oye from new acoustic movement star (with Kings of Convenice) to electronica wonder as a solo artist. The selection vaires from chilled house to mental electro-clash without missing a beat, but the main differnetiator is Oye's singing - classic tunes such as 'theres a light that never goes out' and 'fine day' add to the unique feel of this great album - a fine addition to the dj kicks series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent mix!, 16 Jan 2006
By 
R. Brown (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't normally write reviews but I felt compelled to do so after seeing that someone had given this one star. I'm not sure which album they were listening to, but this is so much better than the normal "lets stick a load of 4/4 tracks together" mixtapes, Oye is a real character and really brings some personality to the mix - especially by singing over some of the tracks. The track selection is spot-on and the mixing is technically brilliant too, so what's not to like?
Don't be put off by an unrepresentative listener - everyone I know who has heard this agrees it is a 'stand out' album. It hasn't been off repeat since I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lively Mix, 21 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DJ-KICKS (Audio CD)
A really lively mix with some great beats and grooves. A little different to most the mixes of this series but that was expected from the scandinavian. Worth a listen and will get a few more plays in the stereo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment is the word., 29 Jun 2011
This review is from: DJ-KICKS (Audio CD)
Disapointment is the word. I have many titles in the DJ Kicks series and they are usually good quality well mixed offerings with a decent diversity of tunes on. There are undoubtebly some good tracks on this album but it is an exercise in self indulgence. The mixing is thin on the ground to say the least. I find the sleeve note lecture on how to DJ patronising and a little hypocritical as he pretty much fails to beatmix throughout the whole album opting to cut nearly every track with little or no sense of flow or how to build a set. I like Erland's own music and am a fan of his productions. He should leave the DJing to the DJ's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best DJ comps out there., 2 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: DJ-KICKS (Audio CD)
If like me you enjoyed Erlends Kings of Convenience albums but found them a touch too light and fluffy at times then this album may surprise you, because Erland is clearly in love with the 4x4 beats of techno and house. But this is no ordinary mish mash of repetitive beats. The mix spans lots of different styles from delicate electronica, and french pop to pounding techy-house and electro, but what makes the whole thing such a great listen is how much thought and effort has been put into it. Your views on this album may hinge on whether you love or hate Erlend Oye's voice as he sings on nearly every track. It should sound like a self-indulgent one-man karioke mess, but it doesn't. This method really works, and the resulting mix is all the better for Erlends personal touches. This is the sixth DJ kicks album I have bought and I have to say its probably the best one (Booka Shade also great!!). If only more DJs put the love and time in to creating a DJ compilation that Erland has with this one. Top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class, 9 Nov 2007
By 
One of the best mix cd's you will ever hear. Everyone I play this to loves it from start to finish. Buy buy buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oye Kicks, 11 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: DJ-KICKS (Audio CD)
Fantastic.
You will not regret purchasing this CD.
A very imaginitive mix.
It's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ee58cfc)

This product

DJ-KICKS
DJ-KICKS by Erlend Oye (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews