Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dance Music you wont be ashamed to have on your self, 28 Mar. 2004
By 
Mr. L. Johnson (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disco Heaven 01.04 (Audio CD)
I have a good range of Hed Kandi, from the excellent Winter Chill 06.03 to the fantastic mix album of Hed Kandi World Series 1. My personal recommendation would be to get the latter album to see which style of kandi suits you best... Anyway, Disco Heaven! As far as i can tell, this is Kandi's label for VERY funky house. Its feel good music for everyone. Not your average "Best Dance Album Ever 7". You wont find any commercial crap in here, nor any nasty trance. If you like trance and think Judge Jules is God's other name this will probably make you sick! Heavy beats and bass with uplifting vocals, bang this CD on (my personal belief is that CD2 is infinately superior to 1, but 1 is still a class silver plate of goodness) when you're out on the tiles. This is house uptotheminute, with the latest trends, ie all your sampled guitars and tonal balances and what not are here along with the uber cool sampled easy lover :-) You wont find this a great album to sit down to or think to simply because you cant sit still to it. My entire family love this album, indeed my mother is dancing around to it now :-S If you fancy something darker then there is the twisted discos and deeper houses of this world, but this is just as they say..FUNKAY.
Incidentally, the best tracks in MY opinion would be Rocking Music, Red Light, make Your Move, Easy Lover, KeepPushin...oh wait thats half of CD2..get my point? Anyway, get it. 5 stars unquestionably
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take this one HOME, 24 Mar. 2004
By 
I UMWENI - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disco Heaven 01.04 (Audio CD)
WOW AGAIN!!
When this was released I went into a record store and listened to it at the listening post – man!! I was dancing and shaking my thing right there in the store - I just couldn’t help it.
From the first track on CD 1 - Sara Devine - Take Me Home (MAW Mix) -
(which is one of the most infectious I have EVER heard – I keep singing it and longing to hear it again.)
the amazing quality of the production on Kandi compilations becomes clear.
The Disco Heaven series really is the cream of funky 21st century disco.
Other highlights are
MAW presents India - To Be In Love (Knee Deep Re-edit)
Martin Solveig - Rocking Music
Kentish Man - Easy Lover (Official Club Mix) – Be prepared to be surprised by this !!
Sounds Of Blackness - I Believe (Classic Gospel Mix)
and a wonderful mix of Shara Nelson - Down That Road.
If you are new to Hed Kandi - this is a GREAT introduction - welcome and enjoy.
For the people who already know what's good for them – and have fallen in love with the Kandi experience - you know the drill!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Onwards and Upwards for Hed Kandi, 2 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Disco Heaven 01.04 (Audio CD)
For a label so associated with the uber-cool and the ultra-trendy with its celebration of the finest dance genres in the world today - deep house, acid jazz, chill and US garage - it's always a risk treading that fine line between chic and cheese with a 'disco' compilation. Fortunately, the Disco Kandi series is never an ordinary foray into the world of glitterballs and retro-soul dance beats. What we have here, as usual, is a collection of the finest producers of the house scene doing their twist on what we call Funky House. Incorporating every old-school black music genre on offer (blues, jazz, gospel, funk) and bringing aboard some of the biggest unsung heroes of modern soul to work their vocal magic, what we have is a cross-section of how today's dance fans do it with some class and sophistication. Forget your glowsticks and your sweaty ceilings: this is about the music, man.
The beauty of Hed Kandi is not knowing all the names on the tin but still knowing exactly what you're going to get. Producers like Rasmus Faber and Martin Solvieg might be new to even the most discerning Kandi fan, but one listen to both tracks and you know you've found that song you've been singing along to these past few months. Rockin' Music, in particular, is the highlight of this album, where Solveig does disco Michael Jackson-style. Mainstays such as ATFC, Bobby & Steve and Inaya Day make compelling reappearances in the series and Masters At Work also reappear with a Knee-Deep re-working of what is possibly the greatest dance tune of all time - To Be In Love. A song that shouldn't be touched, is - with brilliant results. Pure 70's, pure modern soul, pure disco.
Finishing touches, as usual, come in the shape of a couple of rare classics, gospel versions of tracks by Sounds of Blackness and Shara Nelson. There aren't many places this uplifting power-soul would fit into a compilation, but for Ms Kandi they are a fitting end to another superb series. Bring on the next night at Pacha... and I'll see you there, if you're cool enough to get in. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet again I'm in heaven...., 11 Nov. 2005
By 
Scubaboy "sydwal" (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Disco Heaven 01.04 (Audio CD)
I'm a sucker for the DH series - the songs are so BIG and brassy. Another consistent offering from Mark Doyle who, in choosing the opener "Take Me Home" has surely picked one of the most catchy 'can't-get-it-out-of-your-head' moments in Kandi history. Played this disc to death on hols in Majorca and Ibiza earlier this year and EVERYONE ended up singing along.
But it doesn't dtop there - how can anyone not get up and dance to stuff like "Rockin' Music", "Mad Love For Ya" and "A Higher Place". All classics.
That really says it all about the DH series and this disc in particular - put in on and GROOVE. Yet another to highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars first impressions are good!, 1 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Disco Heaven 01.04 (Audio CD)
not managed to listen to all the album yet, but first impressions are that it is better than expected! Some great tunes on here from the last 6 months or so, and the remix of peyton's 'a higher place' is fantastic! Quality stuff from kentish man with the 'easy lover' remix. I've been trying to get hold of this tune for ages, but never thought that it'd turn up on hed kandi! Cheesy but oh so fantastic! Slightly more what you would expect from a disco kandi than a disco heaven, and it also reminds me of the last disco kandi release back in september (which is one of the best so far in my opinion!) so i can say after just buying the cd, i'm impressed and i'm looking forward to it finding a permanant residence in my cd player for a long time to come! If you like hed kandi, give this a go, you shouldnt be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same!, 3 Mar. 2004
By 
This review is from: Disco Heaven 01.04 (Audio CD)
Another 22 tracks of the calibre we have come to expect from Hed Kandi. If you're not sure about Kandi or have never bought an album before - BUY THIS. I got the CD in the post this morning and have been sitting at work tapping my feet all day - even as I type!
I recognised a few tracks on the pre-release listing but have taken to orderng all of the Kandi albums on site now since you can guarantee that all the tracks will be top notch.
More of the same please Hed Kandi - and soon!!
Oh yeah, the disco angels get better by the album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great music., 26 April 2015
By 
gazb (Greater Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Heaven 01.04 (Audio CD)
Great all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Disco Heaven 01.04 (Audio CD)
great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disco Heaven 01.04
Disco Heaven 01.04 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews