Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is genius, but is it comedy?
......... The real genius of The Office lies with the characters. Each one is superbly written, excellently cast and perfectly acted. It is filmed in the style of a fly-on-the-wall documentary, the self styled star of which is a tragic character named David Brent (Ricky Gervais). Brent is a wannabe superstar trapped in a middle-manager's body. The Office charts, his...
Published on 11 Aug 2004 by John K

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good sitcom
The Office is a good sitcom but unlike Fawlty Towers or Satellite City, it doesn't have me watching over and over.
Published 9 months ago by R. Fry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is genius, but is it comedy?, 11 Aug 2004
This review is from: The Office - Complete Series One & Two [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
......... The real genius of The Office lies with the characters. Each one is superbly written, excellently cast and perfectly acted. It is filmed in the style of a fly-on-the-wall documentary, the self styled star of which is a tragic character named David Brent (Ricky Gervais). Brent is a wannabe superstar trapped in a middle-manager's body. The Office charts, his desperate struggle for recognition whilst he slowly loses his grip on reality, and his job. Alongside Brent stands Gareth Keenan (Mackenzie Crook), a kind of brown-nosing jobsworth who despite all my better instincts, I can't help feeling sorry for. However, from my perspective the greatest facet of The Office's storyline comes from the other two central characters, namely Tim Canterbury (Martin Freeman) and Dawn Tinsley (Lucy Davis). Their unspoken feelings for one another, played out through little more than furtive glances, form one of the most enthralling and well observed on-screen romances of recent times.
The Office tracks the lives of the four main characters, but their stories are played out in an environment of superb supporting actors, who bring an air of authenticity to the program. Most notable of these are Chris Finch (Ralph Ineson) as the loud-mouthed bully, and the unsurnamed accountant Keith (Ewen Macintosh) who manages to provide a lot of comedy despite only having about 10 words to say across both series'.
The DVD includes some pretty good extra material with some deleted scenes, some of which are very funny, and were - according to Ricky Gervais - removed because they were too much like a traditional sitcom. The deleted scene where Gareth squirts lemon juice in a girl's eye could have ranked alongside Only Fools and Horses' funniest moments.
I could happily extol the virtues of the office for hours, but the only way you'll know for sure is by watching it. All I ask is that you give it a chance. I didn't like it when I first saw it, but I was made to watch it again and I haven't looked back. Now I'm just waiting for the two feature length Christmas specials to come out on DVD. If any of you Office fans missed them (shame on you!) they were brilliant and concluded the story perfectly (I nearly shed a tear!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good price, 5 Oct 2009
By 
Charlie T. Andrews "Ziggy" (Plymouth, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Office - Complete Series One & Two [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
This is most likely the best television series ever written and this is also one of the most reasonable prices I have ever seen. I have been a fan of the Office for 2 years now and have always been ashamed that I have not owned a copy but now I do ofor an astonishing price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime series, 2 Oct 2009
By 
R. Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Office - Complete Series One & Two [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
I almost called this review "sublime comedy" but then thought that it is much, much more than that. A "comedy" exists primarily to make you laugh: The Office does that of course, but I winced much more, and watched large portions with my hand to my face, cringing painfully. It is brilliant. The characters are so utterly believable. David Brent is full of pain, unfulfilled wishes and frustrations with the human race. (And a woefully unrecontructed view of equality.) Those around him are constantly mystified and embarrassed at his faux pas - and this is where the humour derives from - like hot water from a spring. It is great to watch and enjoy. There have been many great - and serious - comedies, but nothing as precious as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Work Place Never Sounded So Funny, 24 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Office - Complete Series One & Two [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
I give this DVD/VHS series 10/10
It feels both inaccurate and inadequate to describe The Office as a comedy. On a superficial level, it disdains all the conventions of television sitcoms: there are no punch lines, no jokes, no laugh tracks, and no cute happy endings. More profoundly, it's not what we're used to thinking of as funny. Most of the fervently devoted fan base watched with a discomfortingly thrilling combination of identification and mortification. The paradox is that its best moments are almost physically unwatchable.
Set in the offices of a fictional British paper merchant, The Office is filmed in the style of a reality television show. The writing is subtle and deft, the acting wonderful, and the characters beautifully drawn: the cadaverous team leader Gareth (Mackenzie Crook); the monstrous sales rep, Chris Finch (Ralph Ineson); and the decent but long-suffering everyman Tim (Martin Freeman), whose ambition and imagination have been crushed out of him by the banality of the life he dreams uselessly of escaping. The show is stolen, as it was intended to be, by insufferable office manager David Brent, played by codirector-cowriter Ricky Gervais. Brent will become a name as emblematic for a particular kind of British grotesque as Basil Fawlty, but he is a deeper character. Fawlty is an exaggeration of reality, and therefore a safely comic figure. Brent is as appalling as only reality can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best BBC series, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office - Complete Series One & Two [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
OMG when the Office was first on TV I couldn't get in to it so I missed a few of the 1st series. What a shame because the 2nd was so so funny. Now ?I can watch all of them and see any extras that we're not on TV. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius comedy, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office - Complete Series One & Two [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Beware of imitations and remakes: this is the real deal, marked by subtle dialogue and characterization. It's not playing to the laugh out loud crowd, but slowly builds interesting characters. The comedy emerges from the tragic, pathetic situation of all of them, which any office/corporate worker will all too easily recognize. At heart all are, as we are, utterly lonely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good sitcom, 20 Mar 2014
By 
R. Fry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office - Complete Series One & Two [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
The Office is a good sitcom but unlike Fawlty Towers or Satellite City, it doesn't have me watching over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office - Complete Series One & Two [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Changed the style of comedy not only in UK but also in USA with many shows following it's documentary style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office - Complete Series One & Two [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
My husband and I had never seen this series when it was on the television so we bought it to watch over a series of evenings. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good service...as ever!, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office - Complete Series One & Two [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a gift for my hairdresser - he was very happy with it & I love a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Office - Complete Series One & Two [2001] [DVD]
£7.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews