Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Metal...Hair Metal more like!
An excellent album but severely mis-titled. Maiden is classic NWOBHM, and Motorhead cannot be classed as anything but heavy metal, ditto Sabbath. However Whitesnake is nowhere near this category! it's total American 80's Hair Metal. despite the rather too varied mix on this complilation it still makes a superb driving album!
Published on 1 Mar 2004 by frazeredwards

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Your money would be better spent elsewhere...
I had already heard the majority of the tracks before this cd came out so I borrowed the cd off a friend before purchasing it and am I glad I did! Firstly, this is a 'Heavy-Metal' compilation. Therefore, why does Metallica fail to appear on the track list? Metallica made metal what it is today, and songs such as Run DMC/Aerosmith just shouldn't be placed beside Deep...
Published on 26 Feb 2004 by D. Russell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Your money would be better spent elsewhere..., 26 Feb 2004
By 
D. Russell (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Heavy Metal Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
I had already heard the majority of the tracks before this cd came out so I borrowed the cd off a friend before purchasing it and am I glad I did! Firstly, this is a 'Heavy-Metal' compilation. Therefore, why does Metallica fail to appear on the track list? Metallica made metal what it is today, and songs such as Run DMC/Aerosmith just shouldn't be placed beside Deep Purple or Black Sabbath even if it is a good tune.
Nickelback is not, I repeat, NOT heavy-metal and somehow seems to find its way onto every single comp out there. Yes we've all heard 'How You Remind Me'; yes, we all thought it was good at the time but can we move on now please? If the producers of this cd intended to stretch the limits 'Heavy-Metal' then they could have added some Guns 'n' Roses or a touch of Led Zeppelin to soften the crude edges of the genre.
Having said that, I am still enjoyed listening to newer artists, especially Yngwie Malmsteen. Malmsteen has recently appeared alongside the likes of Joe Satriani and Steve Vai in the international G3 concerts. If you are thinking about entering the world of heavy metal, your money would be much better placed somewhere else, ie Metallica, Guns N Roses, or some classic Queen or Black Sabbath albums.
However, if this compilation was ever to appear in the sales at about half the price it would be well worth it since there are some still amaxing tracks on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy compilation for the car, 4 Mar 2004
By 
Mr. R. B. Ager "Ronald Ager" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Heavy Metal Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
All right - this old dog will admit it. This is a great sampler of (mostly) 1970s rock, ideal for anyone who hasn't already got a compilation with most of these on it, and an education for anyone below the age of 25 who hasn't had access to their dad's LP collection.
As a description of the music Heavy Metal is stretching things a bit, and the inclusion of the Sweet (for the uninitiated they were at the bubblegum end of glam-rock) is surely a joke. There are also some glaring omissions, presumably due to licensing constraints, but there's plenty of the big guns' ammunition, and a couple of less familiar tracks from Sammy Hagar and Michael Schenker.
Since most of this stuff is rarely heard on UK radio these days (unless you've got digital) it's handy to have this around, especially in the car - it saves you the bother and temptation of making your own (illegal) compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmmmm ? could be better !, 3 Mar 2004
By 
MR D B EDWARDS (LUTON, BEDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Heavy Metal Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
I just wonder who decides on the artists that make up these "best .....in the world ever" albums, obviously not a true metal or rock fan in my opinion. As one of the earlier reviewers wrote, where's the likes of AC/DC and Metallica, I could put together a far better album myself, though I suppose there's metal I like that most would never have heard of like Saliva and Revis and the album would never sell.
Not a bad collection in itself but these albums are all the same just have a different name, I have the ROCK MONSTERS album and there are many tracks the same, Queen, Nickelback etc....speaking of which this is where these two bands belong, not really metal now are they ?!!!
For mainstream appeal then the album is worth a listen , again as an earlier reviewer wrote, you will most likely have most of these tracks in your collection if youre a rock lover. Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Metal...Hair Metal more like!, 1 Mar 2004
This review is from: The Best Heavy Metal Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
An excellent album but severely mis-titled. Maiden is classic NWOBHM, and Motorhead cannot be classed as anything but heavy metal, ditto Sabbath. However Whitesnake is nowhere near this category! it's total American 80's Hair Metal. despite the rather too varied mix on this complilation it still makes a superb driving album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sweet, 26 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Best Heavy Metal Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
cool album
definately worth it for the asking price!
includes well known hits like "Ace of Spades" by Motörhead, classics from Iron Maiden, and loads more.
not too sure about Nickelback and Queen though...
;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars best of metal - maybe not but it is still worth a listen, 26 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Heavy Metal Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
What can I say, this album isn't quite the best of heavy metal and hard rock, but its well on it's way. Some greats are here, Queen, Maiden, Megadeath etc. But there are lts of great bands missing. Where are metallica, guns n roses, Ac/DC?
This album is lacking in some places, but it would be great for a general round up of the latest and greatest in Heavy Metal.
This album would be a good starting point if you were just getting into heavy metal, but there are so many metal compilations out there that this one is nothing new. Best of metal - maybe not but it is still worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best heavy metal album in the world...ever, 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Heavy Metal Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
This is a great album for metal fans or a great starter cd for non-metal fans. There is a great selection of good songs and, of course, the odd clanker. Overall, it will have you singing along and tapping the steering wheel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Non-metal, 18 Dec 2008
By 
T. Young (Cheshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Heavy Metal Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
I was given this album for christmas a few years back and found it again only a couple of days ago and, upon relistening to the album, I have come to the conclusion that most of the other reviewers here have also come to. This is NOT metal, not for the most part at least. There are some metal tracks such as "Paranoid" by Black Sabbath, "Burn" by Deep Purple and "Number Of The Beast" by Iron Maiden, but other than that I would place most of them in the category of glam rock and as for "How You Remind Me"... well that's a long way from metal to say the least.

That said however I did enjoy this compilation alot and however defficient it is in living up to its title it's still a good album. If you want a kind of rock/metal/glam casual music compilation then this is a very nice rounded album but for those who are looking for a good metal compilation this is probably not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars swings between heavy metal and hair metal!, 30 Dec 2007
This review is from: The Best Heavy Metal Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
this is not a bad compilation what keeps this afloat from sinking into mediocrity is the tracks from Queen, Judas Priest, Van Halen, Skid Row, Posion, Riot, Quiet Riot Megadeth, Whitesnake, UFO, Michael Schenker, The Scorpions, Alice Cooper and Black Sabbath etc but its ashame they where not spread out onto one disc rather than two which is why im only giving it 4 rather than 5 stars it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well don't expect good things from pop compilation makers., 26 July 2004
By 
C. Emmerson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Heavy Metal Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
This gets two stars, one for making an effort to find at least some heavy metal and one for Holy wars....The punishment is due. In my opinion it is almost worth buying this album for that song, although if you were going to do that then buy Rust in Peace.
I knew this album would be a laugh when i saw "The best.....in the world..ever" in the title. They have only made pop compilations so far and were trying to broaden their sales bracket. This is the pop version of Heavy Metal, It covers every version of metal there is at the pop end of the spectrum.
It has many great songs, and although many people will disagree with me Nickelbacks "How you remind me is a great song." That still doesnt make it right to put it on a Heavy metal album. They could have also chosen a heavy queen song for the album, or maybe even used a Metallica cover of a queen song. Most of these songs are Hard Rock songs, Deep Purple for instance, and i dont thinkj that adding GnR (as great as they are) would elivate this to Heavy metal status.
In conclution if you want to get into heavy metal then get some good metal, like Disturbed. If you want the best heavy metal album in the world....ever, then get Ride the Lightning or ...And Justice for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews