Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best "Best Of"
Of the currently available Spear "Best Of"'s,this is the one to get.All the greatest tracks from when the band were at their peak are here (in the "proper" versions)and there's some real classic songs here for your listening pleasure.Blast it out in the car or get pissed in the comfort of your own living room and treat the wife to drunken renditions of gems like Liberator...
Published on 2 Feb. 2005 by Stevie Dal

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wish I hadn't got nostalgic
When SOD were at there peak, I loved this band. My vinyl collection was stolen some years ago & I recently thought, Spear of Destiny ? is there a best of ? Big mistake. Although I could, if I wanted, sing along to every track on the album, what was once symbolic anthems sound more like shambolic. Leave it where it belongs, back in the 80's. Some artists have stood the...
Published on 9 Oct. 2009 by Mr. A. J. Glover


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best "Best Of", 2 Feb. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Spear Of Destiny (Audio CD)
Of the currently available Spear "Best Of"'s,this is the one to get.All the greatest tracks from when the band were at their peak are here (in the "proper" versions)and there's some real classic songs here for your listening pleasure.Blast it out in the car or get pissed in the comfort of your own living room and treat the wife to drunken renditions of gems like Liberator and Come Back ! Great Fun .
There's also another Best Of recently released by EMI which is pretty good but suffers from not having the 7 inch version of Land Of Shame on it.Pity.
Of course whats really needed is a Multi-Label ,2Cd collection with all the best stuff from 83 - 88 with new sleevenotes , pics and some rarities etc.
Anyway , if you loved Spear at their best or you're a newcomer get this disc first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best compilation, 2 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of Spear Of Destiny (Audio CD)
After reading the review of the 1988 Best of album I decided it could be a duffer. So I decided to buy this latest compilation.
Also has the advantage of having 20 songs on one CD so I don't have to mess around with my walkman !!!!
My favourite era was 1984 so was really glad to hear Rainmaker, Prisoner of Love, Playground of the rich, Young Men and Liberator. Tracks as they should be and not remixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Forgot how good they were, some great tracks on this album, Give it a try if you havent heard of them before as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Spear Of Destiny (Audio CD)
not bad sound not to my liking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wish I hadn't got nostalgic, 9 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Best Of Spear Of Destiny (Audio CD)
When SOD were at there peak, I loved this band. My vinyl collection was stolen some years ago & I recently thought, Spear of Destiny ? is there a best of ? Big mistake. Although I could, if I wanted, sing along to every track on the album, what was once symbolic anthems sound more like shambolic. Leave it where it belongs, back in the 80's. Some artists have stood the test of time from this era, Alas SOD have not. Sorry Kirk Brandon, I feel almost traitorous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another band that should have done better, 18 May 2010
By 
P. Frizelle (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Spear Of Destiny (Audio CD)
Kirk Brandon had been floating around on the Blitz Scene since after the aftermath of punk.

His image was not that extrordinary he looked like Billy Fury and Marlon Brando Rolled into One.

His music was tribal and primitive and smashed you over the head like a sledge hammer.

Unfortunatly for Kirk the Media frenzy at the time was all about Boy George and Culture Club, Kid Creole, Modern Romance and other white funk/soul/jazz/reggea tinged bands.

The music and the scene was becoming plastic with off the peg Pirate shirts being sold at Topman and miss Selridges.

Sadly the Record industry failed to promote Kirk dispite sell out shows, and he was pushed to the sidelines.

the songs here are Campfire Reble Rousing Anthems, not unlike New Model Army. Very powerful, with political undertones. But not as good as I remembered, not exactly life changing

Kirk and Spear of Denstiny were championed by the music press but were never really embraced. But the early 80s were a time to COME OUT and Kirks reluctance to admit to this was ultimatly his demise. His denial was deemed as betryal.

One could argue that his music should have been measured on its own merits, but most music needs an identity on which to hang itself. Sadly Kirk was in the wrong place at the wrong time. In a alternative universe his is king

It has to be said though, although there are some very strong tracks here they are not that memroble at that is where the story ends. Some things are best left in the cupboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
This review is from: The Best Of Spear Of Destiny (Audio CD)
Brilliant cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Spear Of Destiny
The Best Of Spear Of Destiny by Spear of Destiny (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews