Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desert Fox
There isn't too much original about this game and there are plenty of other WW2 RTS titles out there, so why choose this one? Well, because it's great, frankly. First up, the graphics are superb; tanks recoil as their guns fire, infantry crumple melodramatically and explosions fill the screen. Even at high zoom, the detail is still there. OK, so graphics aren't everything...
Published on 7 May 2004 by jmctrusty

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars War
Cannot get it to work on my laptop
Published 3 months ago by paddington


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desert Fox, 7 May 2004
This review is from: Desert Rats vs. Afrika Korps (PC) (Video Game)
There isn't too much original about this game and there are plenty of other WW2 RTS titles out there, so why choose this one? Well, because it's great, frankly. First up, the graphics are superb; tanks recoil as their guns fire, infantry crumple melodramatically and explosions fill the screen. Even at high zoom, the detail is still there. OK, so graphics aren't everything but here they really help create a sense of involvement.
In addition, you won't be able to finish this game overnight if you're playing on medium or above - you need to plan ahead and co-ordinate your forces effectively. Charging a line of 88's will soon leave you with a lot of broken tanks; use a scout to pinpoint them, then use your artillery to pick them off. Problem with Tigers? Get behind to exploit the weaker armour there. It's this kind of attention to detail that makes the game.
Instead of choosing one side or another, you play the Germans up until Alamein, then you take the Allied commanders' role during the push to Tunis. This lets you see the advantages and disadvantages of both sides. But here's the twist: you get to pinch the opposing sides' armour if you can disable it! This is especially handy in the early stages of the campaigns when you are building up your forces. By the end, the core of my Allied force was five Tigers! At the close of each level, you get to keep any vehicles you're in control of and carry them through, gaining experience all the while. Depending on how well you perform, you may also access special units that are faster or better armoured than their standard versions.
The game's not perfect, though. The sound is generally good but the music gets extremely annoying after a while. In the interests of playability, you get access to modern armour far more quickly than in reality, which may bother some purists. And the dodgy backstory about a love triangle (square?) involving a spy and a German, French, British and American officer is best ignored! But none of this really matters. The reason this game gets 5 stars is its inherent payability. It's a long time since I've lost so much time to my PC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desert Rats vs. Afrika Korps (PC) (Video Game)
Have played this over and over again, i know exactly what is going to happen next, but i keep on playing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good RTS with some ace graphics, 2 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Desert Rats vs. Afrika Korps (PC) (Video Game)
This game is much better than sudden strike and blitzkrieg(although probably wont last you as long to play it), basically just for the ausome graphics. To play this game thou you do need a good PC, i recommned at least 512 RAM, i aslo had some problems with the sound, but probably not the games fault. The missions are great as they are very varied. The bad thing about this game is not so good pathfinding and a lack luster mutiplayer. But if you like yiur RTSs and are interested in ww2, then this game is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice game, 4 July 2004
This review is from: Desert Rats vs. Afrika Korps (PC) (Video Game)
It's a fine game, but a little short...
The graphics, even on my Geforce2 are nice and the explosions great. The story is good, but the campaign is very short and there are not many options to play different scenarios on skirmish mode. But it's a nice game for those interested on WW2 RTS games...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars game, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desert Rats vs. Afrika Korps (PC) (Video Game)
Game good for the price you pay..better than the games you buy in new Zealand. Thanks amazon uk..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top class, 13 Mar. 2015
By 
Michael Byrne (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desert Rats vs. Afrika Korps (PC) (Video Game)
Very quick very good would use again,thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars War, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desert Rats vs. Afrika Korps (PC) (Video Game)
Cannot get it to work on my laptop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Tank Game Ever, 21 Mar. 2004
By 
rob (Nuneaton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Desert Rats vs. Afrika Korps (PC) (Video Game)
Desert rats vs africa corps is truly the best tank game ever i delivers great graphics and gameplay that will keep you hucked for days. The detail is immense, with all the details of shadows which you can truly admire in the pause option. Also all the tanks are as they were and historically correct for a realistic battle. So if you want the best tank game ever buy desert rats vs africa corps for a truly exhilarating experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desert Rats vs. Afrika Korps (PC) (Video Game)
good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So so, 27 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Desert Rats vs. Afrika Korps (PC) (Video Game)
I bought this gamwe with high expactations i do have to admit and i am afraid that this game fell weel short, it had averhing to make a big hit but just failed.
Graphics are exlent though the explosions are breathtaking and the abillity to slow and stop time is a grat addition.
Gameplay how ever is boring and though you will try to be tactical it will always fail as the computer alsways has some sort of advantage. i didnt fnd the campain missions hard and they were drawn out and boring losing interst early ion in the mission.
Sound is terribly the music is reptitive and in the end boring and voices though are good acents and sounds is terrible because when theres ment to be excitment in the voice you know there just reading monotone from a scrit and is almost insulting.
The biggist etdown is there is no skirmish and there for also a short gamelife.
Another let down is that you have to chose your soliders and tanks before and you dont have a base so that if you lose a guy hes gone forever and you cant build big armys. ):
Altoghter i wiould buy it if i was a WW2 enthuassist who like over tactical games but it is a verypinpiont game, if you enjoy the redalerts and ground force this is a game you should stay well awy feom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Desert Rats vs. Afrika Korps (PC)
Desert Rats vs. Afrika Korps (PC) by Digital Jesters (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
£0.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews