Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars shooters are getting interesting again
I was a big fan of "Dark Forces" and "Jedi Knight" back in the day, both managed to take the franchise to interesting places whilst remaining great games in their own right. The games that followed, "Jedi Outcast" and "Jedi Academy", whilst fun, both suffered various game design flaws and probably would've gone unnoticed if not for the "Star Wars" license. "Battlefront"...
Published on 11 April 2005 by Mr. A. K. Piggott

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short, really short
I pre-ordered this game. When it came assuming it probably had 20 hours or so of playability in it i played on the first day for maybe 10 hours. The next day i fired it up and within half an hour had finished the game.
From the fact that i played it that much you can probably tell it was a blast, it was just way too short. I estimate that if i was actually any good...
Published on 7 Mar. 2005


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars shooters are getting interesting again, 11 April 2005
By 
This review is from: Star Wars: Republic Commando (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I was a big fan of "Dark Forces" and "Jedi Knight" back in the day, both managed to take the franchise to interesting places whilst remaining great games in their own right. The games that followed, "Jedi Outcast" and "Jedi Academy", whilst fun, both suffered various game design flaws and probably would've gone unnoticed if not for the "Star Wars" license. "Battlefront" provided a limited amount of entertainment, and ultimately proved a shallow experience.
"Republic Commando" actually tries to be creative with the license. It takes the player down routes completely alien to anything we've seen in "Star Wars" games before. Some hardcore fans and purists will probably hate this, but I applaud LucasArts for finally opting to try something completely unexpected, and carrying it through succesfully.
The gameplay, whilst a little repetitive, is kept dynamic throughout, there's never a dull moment to be had. The simple squad command, which allows limited creative input from the player, works a treat in permitting squad command without detracting at all from the action. The level design is solid, and a superb sense of atmosphere is retained in the enviornments.
My only real gripes with the game are the short length of the single player campaign, and the dull multiplayer. Other than that, this is one of the more entertaining shooters of late, and not just for "Star Wars" fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than I expected, 10 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Republic Commando (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I was worried this game would be a repackaging of Jedi Knight 1/2/3 - IT ISN'T!! The keyboard controls are the same, but that just lets you get into the game so much quicker. Artistically, the story/plot and graphics/artwork are far better than before (and it was never that bad on JK). Technically the squad controls are great, the graphics are really smooth, and overall the game setup is neither too easy nor too hard.
It doesn't get 5 for the same reason as Battlefront - i bought the game at 2pm yesterday and finished it an hour ago, it's just too short. I look forward to playing the multiplayer on line though, and hope there will be mission discs in the future, coz the game ends on a real cliffhanger (hope we see Sev alive and well again).
One in the bag for Lucasarts, here's looking forward to "Empire at War", and if we're allowed to wish, a new X-Wing simulator???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What? A Star Wars game with no Jedi?, 19 Jan. 2007
By 
JC (Beds., England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars: Republic Commando (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Say it isn't so. 'Fraid it is. And all the better for it.

I've been waiting for something like this after the Dark Forces games - I wanted an opposite game that made you play as a stormtrooper, helping the Empire take over the galaxy (evil laugh inserted here). This game is set during SW: Episodes 2 and 3 and you don't even see a hint of Jedi - only other troopers on the ground. The best thing about this is that you feel that if you're on a covert operation, then you're on a covert operation. If there's a large battle going on and you're in the centre, then you see ships flying around in the background shooting stuff. Music and sound is top notch (as is seen in the extras). But mainly it's when "a plan comes together" that makes this fun.

The team control system is easy to use - you don't ask your comrades to walk here, then there, then crouch over there. No, you get to command sniper positions, breaching doors, slicing systems using Wookie bodies as cover and killing stuff that explodes vital fluids onto your visor if you get too close. I cheered when that first happened. And I still don't feel guilty now.

But. It's not always easy to aim your rifle (there's no "centre" to your reticle); a couple of the later situations you're put in require you to run under a hail of gunfire and try to stick it out - not good as then it's a matter of luck. And it does feel repititive after you've played over an hour.

At the time of this review, this costed under a tenner. It's a great blast and you'll want more after you've finished - if only just to see something explode again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LucasArts is back on track, 6 Mar. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Republic Commando (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Recent STARWARS games have been a little fustrating to say the least. Games like Jedi Outcast an Jedi Academy left us all a little numb, as the games failed to live up to expectations, with there poor gameplay and bizarre storylines.
This is NOT the case with Republic Commando. After first loading up the game it looked like it was going to be the same as the previous STARWARS titles, the similarities ended there! From the onset of the game you are launched into the action on Geonosis; being sprayed in the face (nice touch Lucasarts) with bug guts, hydraulic fluid (from droids)and dodging laser blasts!
This game is amazing! The graphics are on par with Halo 2. The sound effects and voice acting are exellent (with a little dark humour mixed in). This game immerses you in the world of STARWARS.
You take on the role of Delta 38, a leader of a band of commandos, you have three commandos at your disposal. Each of them has a individual trate that can help you in the battlefield(Sniper, Heavy weapons & Computers). The control system for the commandos is easy to say the least, just one button press and you can issue orders to blow a door, set a trap or lay down covering fire. As you only have to press one button this leaves you free to blast through droids and trandoshian and not halt the flow of the gameplay (No five button command just to pick up a spoon). The AI of your squad is second to none. The enemies , being droid or bugs, are a little thick but still tough as hell.
The game takes you trough three main missions with multiple objectives. In the missions you will encounter various characters from the STARWARS universe. You will fight alongside Wookies and other Clone Troopers and encounter various adversaries old and new.
All in all this game is more than I ever expected. It is definately worth a buy.
To give you an idea of how this game plays, think along the lines of a mutant child of "Call of Duty" and "STARWARS Battlefront". You get the idea!
The only reason I gave this game 4 stars is that the game is a little short and can be completed in a couple of hours (shame).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Fashioned Blaster Battles - Special Ops in the Future, 17 April 2012
By 
JH "hobbs_tx" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars: Republic Commando (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Republic Commando is a first person shooter where you play the leader of a unit of elite clone soldiers. Basically non-stop action. The designers made an effort to make the squad AI act like special ops solders with door breaches and use of cover. The team controls and squad AI are better than older versions of Medal of Honor Allied Assault: Deluxe Edition (PC) and Call of Duty: Game of the Year Edition (PC). The graphics are a little dated, but it is still good enough to keep it fun. I really enjoyed cutting down droids especially the ones with the force fields. It was also satisfying to spill alien gore and funny to watch your helmet wipe it off like a wiper blade on your car. There is a nice assortment of weapons (blaster, blaster rifle, sniper attachment, grenade attachment, grenades, many alien weapons even a futuristic shotgun and deadly rocket launcher). My favorite was the chain gun. It puts a world of hurt on anything.

The action is a little repetitive. Make door breach, plant explosives, take cover behind object and use sniper rifle or throw grenades. I did like the turret guns though. They gave you the feeling of real power. Especially the walker cannon, everything in room shook when that thing fired. I think the missions are well developed but as with most first person shooters (FPS) the single player game is almost completely linear with only one way through to the end. I'm not a Star Wars enthusiast so I'm not familiar with bacta, but the bacta terminals everywhere seemed kind of silly.

The game is not that long and I would consider it a low prospect for replay on single player. However, when you do complete the game you can join multiplayer and fight for your life in the normal formats of FPS. It is very easy to play multiplayer. You don't even have to go to a website to locate other players. You can connect directly inside the game. Though there is not a lot that differentiates it from most other FPS multiplayer games except the Star Wars theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Star Wars FPS from a different point of view, 18 Mar. 2005
By 
L. W. Chew (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Republic Commando (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Unlike every Star Wars FPS to date, Republic commando does not cast you in the role of a Jedi (for that get Jedi Knight Outcast or Academy) and I think thats a really refreshing take on the thing. It portrays our favourite sci-fi universe as a gritty war-torn version. Think Call of Duty in a Star Wars setting. Lots of cool set pieces in the action. The tactical aspect of the game is rather thin (not exactly Rainbow 6 but I dont think anyone expects it to be) but it's well implemented and it does add some depth into it to differentiate from other FPS's.
Graphics are good even on a mid-range system, voice acting (by the actor who protrays jango Fett in the movies) is excellent and I love the little comic touches and one-liners.
Drawbacks are relatively few. the biggest one I think is that its quite short. I managed to blast through it in about 3 days on the normal setting. The story line is well done though it did finish quite abruptly and definitely elaves scope of a sequel or expansion packs. AI isn't particularly smart either although the enemy will sometimes retreat when hurt and try to flank you.
Overall a great addition to the Star Wars universe and has a few sneak peaks into Episode 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 27 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Star Wars: Republic Commando (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I want to start off by saying I didn't experience any technical problems with this game. Perhaps I was just lucky because from what I see, a lot of other reviewers had problems with sudden crashes. At any rate, I'm gonna judge the game based on what I experienced. The game's storyline is set during the Clone Wars, ie between Episode 2 and 3. You are the squad leader of a group of 4 clone troopers who are sent on behind enemy lines missions and must work together in order to achieve victory. You will "visit" planets like Geonosis and Kashyyk, but you shouldn't expect a warm welcome(I can assure you, fighting those bugs on Geonosis won't be easy). Blaster fire is almost everywhere and there's hardly a time to rest. Stay still and you'll soon ask your comrades for revival. Which brings me to perhaps the most innovative feature of the game. Whenever you "die", you are actually incapacitated, which means that a member of your squad can revive you. The same applies for the rest of the squad(you can revive them). Of course this can be risky at times, especially when you have fallen in the middle of a huge battle, perhaps near 2 or 3 super battle droids. Sometimes it's better to just wait for your squad to eliminate the enemies nearby before issuing an order for revival. Needless to say that if the rest of squad members die, the game is over and you have to reload. What I liked about this, is that it can save you from many "save/load"'s which tend to become tiring in other FPSs. Giving orders to your squad is as easy as pressing the use button. Let's just say that you want them to place a bomb in a door. You turn towards the door and press use. One of your squad mates will attempt to place a bomb, which you can detonate at any time again by pressing the use button. Or you can order them to hide behind specific places and cause sniper or grenade damage from there. The F1-4 buttons are to issue general orders like "stay here", "attack" etc. giving you full control of your squad. The AI of the rest of the squad is so good, that you'll hardly ever need to give them orders concerning their stance. They'll protect themselves and will never become easy targets. Most of the times, it will be you who will end up dead first. As with any self respecting clone trooper, you are trained to use every weapon that you come across in the game...and there more than a few. Simple blasters, repeating blasters, sniper rifles, shotguns, even the legendary wookie bowcaster. You'll also find stationary turrets which can prove vital to your efforts. Overall the weapons are satisfying, and each one has its use.
As far as the graphics are concerned, they are great and don't demand a super duper wow computer.(The game runs quite smoothly on my AMD 2400+, 1gb Ram and Gefore TI 4200 card). The environments are so nicely done that you'll truly think you are on Geonosis. But what really stands out is the music. Simply excellent. Starting from the menu theme, every tune adds up to creating a starwars-y atmosphere and give you the impression that you are in the middle of something so important as the Clone Wars. But as with any game, this too has its drawbacks. The most important one being its almost inexistent replayability. If you have finished it once, I doubt you'll play it again(unless of course you are into multiplaying). It's so linear that the only reason to play it again would be to try and beat it at a higher level. Also, the game lacks any kind of riddle. It is basically a "slice the door-enter and kill everything moving unless it's a wookie or a comrade of yours" routine. This isn't necessarily bad, but it all depends on what you are asking from a game.
A nice game overall which gives you an idea about how the Clone Wars were. Must have for any starwars fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars die,die,die,die....no not me u!!!!, 6 Mar. 2005
By 
Jason (Newton Abbot, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars: Republic Commando (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
this is a great game, if you love the star wars films and all the other games then this is a must, u get too play a republic commando who kicks ass non-stop wot else could u want!!!
i have only just started to get goin but it is great there are no complicated drawn out tutorials u just dive into the action during the geonosis battle from episode 2.
the only thing is that as much as i like it, i find that it is a little easy to die. i found that all to often u are overwhelmed by flyin bug things and hardcore droids and u get your face caved in.
BUT. other than that it is another great star wars game from lucasarts. keep em comin fellas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, well thought of... too short!, 3 Aug. 2005
By 
Mr. C. Michael Douse "Passionate" (st albans, hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Republic Commando (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Right, this game was origional because it lookas the the battles of star wars from a whole new perspective, as a character from rainbow si in a republic cammando suit! well pretty much. Its clear to see this game system as been totally ripped off from Rainbow, but thats a good thing because it works well. The good points abot this game are as follows:
1.Easy to activate commands
2.Stunning graphics and fun, well thought about cut scenes, (allthough short)
3.Witty and funny characters with cool personalities.
4.Different ways of killing different enemies, requires thinking.
5.FOLEY! these sound effects are 100% genuine sounds, most of the budget went on the foley sound designer.
6.Runs smooth, no crashes or bugs that i can remember.
Some bad points:
1.WAAAAAY too short, took about a day to complete.
2.Online game SUCKS its like Quake 3 but a hell of alot worse.
3.Replyability is zero to none.
4.Orders seem a bit too easy, even childish.
5.Battles seem a TAD bit smaller than in the movie.
6.You wont see any Jedi ;)
7.The wookies look rediculous.
Having said all that, the game is well worth a once over, its really fun and addictive and feels very star wars. i wouldnt say its tactic based, by there is that element, interface is slightly Halo esque, good if your a halo fan, dont be looking for realism though. Rag doll effects are nice though. A+ grade star wars fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Comando, 5 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Star Wars: Republic Commando (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Graphics- Awsome
Gameplay- Awsome
Teamplay- Awsome
your team options are so clever, at one moment you can have 360 degree supressive fire going off, this is one of the best games ive played, its right up there with half life 2 and Counter Strike Source, THIS GAME IS BETTER THAN FULL SPECTRUM WARRIOR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Republic Commando (PC CD)
Star Wars: Republic Commando (PC CD) by Activision (Windows XP)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews