Customer Reviews


1,286 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,054)
4 star:
 (159)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


328 of 336 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best on the market
I'm a GP and have tried many different thermometers - I don't have any shares with these guys but it is the best I came across so far. Easy to use and always exact. The problem with most thermometers is that over time they need re-calibration but this one goes for years and still gives the correct temperature. In my job you need one you can trust and this one delivers -...
Published on 1 Aug 2007 by Sobainsky

versus
87 of 98 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SOMETIMES GOOD, SOMETIMES BAD
The good points - very fast, convenient to use and easy to read.
The bad points - appears unreliable as sequential readings in same ear can vary by more than 1 whole degree C. (- so am I ill or not?)
Also read the description carefully - Braun PROFESSIONAL thermometers may well be "in use in Doctors surgeries" but this actual model is described in the leaflet as...
Published on 4 Aug 2009 by KJW


‹ Previous | 1 2129 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

328 of 336 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best on the market, 1 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braun ThermoScan 5 IRT4520 Ear Thermometer (Personal Care)
I'm a GP and have tried many different thermometers - I don't have any shares with these guys but it is the best I came across so far. Easy to use and always exact. The problem with most thermometers is that over time they need re-calibration but this one goes for years and still gives the correct temperature. In my job you need one you can trust and this one delivers - most of my colleagues are also using it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


186 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential kit for anyone with small children, 28 Nov 2005
By 
James Bury (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Braun ThermoScan 5 IRT4520 Ear Thermometer (Personal Care)
I've been using a Braun thermoscan for four years since our first child arrived. I regard it as absolutely essential for the safe caring of children. With one of these, you can take a child's temperature accurately and in a couple of seconds, even if they are asleep.
Children can develop extremely high temeperatures very quickly. With one of these, you can accurately monitor the progression of the illness and check that the Calpol / Neurophen is doing its stuff. If the temperature doesn't respond to the medicine, that's a sign to monitor things more closely and get help if the temperature goes too high.
There's a bit of technique required to get consistent readings, but follow the instructions and you'll do fine. Basically you turn it on, place it in the ear, pull back the ear lobe and press the button til it beeps. It's usually worth measuring both ears - any significant difference between the two can mean an ear-infection on one side, or your technique needs checking! The battery seems to last forever so no worries there.
Contrary to Braun's advice, I've found you can re-use the disposable caps quite a few times (it could get very pricey if you didn't). A quick rub with a baby wipe gets them clean, though if you start to get inconsistent readings then try changing the cap.
We have 3 small children and there's no way I'd be without one of these, so very very strongly recommended to any parent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars braun feverscan ear thermometer, 17 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Braun ThermoScan 5 IRT4520 Ear Thermometer (Personal Care)
Easy to use, even on the smallest of ears, quick and non intrusive so baby doesn't wake up! just as good on grown ups. Can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars assurance for a mum, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Udderprivacy (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Braun ThermoScan 5 IRT4520 Ear Thermometer (Personal Care)
We love our thermometer, bought it when our son was born and were really surprised to see that its the same one they used on the maternity ward when our daughter was born! Will never go back. Always works and earpiece refills have been easy to get hold of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


171 of 188 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product- a must buy for every parent, 24 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Braun ThermoScan 5 IRT4520 Ear Thermometer (Personal Care)
I am a doctor and this is the best electronic item i bought for my child ever. I bought it before he was born and he is now 3 years old and it is still in perfect working condition. Whenever he cries and all the normal things( like a nappy change, feeds etc) have been sorted out we check his temperature and invariably he is running a temperature without us realising it. Everyone who has a small child will know how cranky children become when they are sick. They will not let you use a thermomter ( even the paper one we have in the NHS).

This braun one takes a second and now my son uses it himself in his ear and gives it to me to read!!! I strongly recommend this to evry parent and also for adult use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant with kids, 21 Dec 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braun ThermoScan 5 IRT4520 Ear Thermometer (Personal Care)
Forget old thermometers - if you have kids get one of these. It saves all the agony of keeping them still while a traditional or simple electric thermometer reads the temperature. Just make sure you buy the spare disposable caps on Amazon when you get the machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Professional quality, 22 Sep 2009
By 
Tan y ddraig (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braun ThermoScan 5 IRT4520 Ear Thermometer (Personal Care)
I have been using this thermometer for the last 5 years and it is as good today, as it was on the day it was purchased. It is used daily in the course of my work and I have another one for home use too. It is singularly the most essential item for any home health kit and no parent should be without one, especially with the current pandemic of swine flu and forthcoming onset of Winter ills. The readings are at least as accurate as the traditional mercury in glass thermometer but its versatility of use across the whole spectrum of ages, from infant to adult, make it the clear first choice

The covers are best bought in bulk and obviously have to be changed after each patient for professional use, but at home when used on the same patient each time a simple wipe with a damp cloth will be sufficient, meaning that one cover should last the duration of the illness in such cases. For maintenance just wipe over the sensor tip with a damp cloth between uses and storage and that should be enough to keep it in tiptop condition for many years to come. There really is no better thermometer on the market in my opinion, and as all my colleagues use the same one, it is also a professional endorsement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable and accurate, 28 Mar 2005
By 
CjW "chris" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Braun ThermoScan 5 IRT4520 Ear Thermometer (Personal Care)
I am a professional Health Technologist in Intensive Care.
This Braun device, bought for my family use, outperforms the professional brand we use in the NHS.

It is consistently accurate without too much skill (unlike the other unit).
It has repeatable results +/- 0.5C on a series of subsequent tests and is small and easy to carry. (The pro unit is +/- 1.5C)

The biggest advantage is the cost of the disposable ear canal shields. Braun 'shields' can be bought from the high street chemist.

This is an ideal tool for the family with young children.
Fast and easy and the kids don't mind - unlike the old oral thermometers that made me retch as a kid!

Buy this! - Trust me on this people, I'm a scientist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for Doctors and Parents, 18 Oct 2009
By 
Beansmummy (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Braun ThermoScan 5 IRT4520 Ear Thermometer (Personal Care)
I have 2 of these, one for my work as a GP, and one for home use. At work it obviously gets a new disposable cap every time for hygiene reasons between patients; at home the cap gets a wipe, but the thermometer functions perfectly well and accurately without changing the cap (and would get a bit pricey to run as parents if you did change it every time).

I have found this to be an excellent, accurate and reliable model. Every responsible parent (and GP!) should have a thermometer, and this is the best I have used (and I have used many many different thermometers). The battery lasts ages, it has survived many falls to the ground (mostly while my toddler plays doctor), and it is incredibly quick and easy to use.

There's a good reason these are the most common thermometers used by doctors...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 98 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SOMETIMES GOOD, SOMETIMES BAD, 4 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braun ThermoScan 5 IRT4520 Ear Thermometer (Personal Care)
The good points - very fast, convenient to use and easy to read.
The bad points - appears unreliable as sequential readings in same ear can vary by more than 1 whole degree C. (- so am I ill or not?)
Also read the description carefully - Braun PROFESSIONAL thermometers may well be "in use in Doctors surgeries" but this actual model is described in the leaflet as a HOME thermometer and is over a 100 cheaper than the professional models.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2129 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews