Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars breathtaking metal-core, 16 April 2003
'Too bad you're beautiful' is simply one of the most incredible albums you will ever hear. its diffucult to describe how good it is. think a combination of poison the well, killswitch engage, remembering never and then times that by 1000. 'Reflections' combines heartfelt lyrics and brutal hardcore screams to superb effect whilst 'Short Stories With Tragic Endings' is one of the best songs ever written. buy this album now and weep...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius, 9 Oct 2004
By 
Mr. S. J. Good "Guitar..Lord" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Too Bad You're Beautiful (Audio CD)
An absolutly amazing piece of work.
Take her to the Music store was the fist track i heard and made me need this record, and believe me you *NEED* this record...
Theres not a bad song on there. It takes you on an incredibly journey from start to finish, ending in one of the most original tracks of our time, 'short stories with tragic endings'.
Cant wait for the new album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Jun 2004
By 
Mr. D. J. Tatlow "tatt likes noise" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Too Bad You're Beautiful (Audio CD)
This is a great album. It has so many different elements, from the epic riffs of "Capeside Rock" to the beautiful semi-acoustic melodies of "Chloroform Perfume". The way the music moves from one genre to another is phenomenal. There is not a bad track on the album, and even the spoken word piece "Mercury Rising" is an inspired piece of originality. This album stretches the boundaries of "emo" or whatever you want to call it. The track "Short Stories With Tragic Endings" is one of the most beautifully epic songs of any genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melodic Hardcore, 28 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This album is a must for anyone with a love of hardcore post harcore and emo. I simply cant stop listening to it normally i would find a full hardcore album hard going to get through in one sitting but this album has something for everyone enough screaming and tons of melodic guitar parts. It kinda makes me think of Iron Maiden jamming with a hardcore band and an emo band for aome strange reason. acoustic track chloroform perfume is one of the stand out tracks for me as well as the harder stuff like take her to the music store buy this cd you wont be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of Too Bad You're Beutiful, 23 Dec 2003
Ground breaking?
No.
Worth a listen?
Most definately.
From Autumn to Ashes are a rare band. Not rare in the sound that they produce, but in the thought and passinon that has obviously been put into this disc. It is a hardcore record in today's sense of the word, although melodic in places with dual vocalists who seem to work together very well, and what seems to be technical musical ability.
The band, in my opinion, innovate in terms of their clever use of the spoken word. The fourth track on the album is a minutes worth of genius, seriously powerful and angry. The clever uses of movie sound bites also seems to add a depth that is lacking in many records produced in this loosely definable genre.
This is a record for fans of Hondo Maclean, Poison The Well, Thrice, Glassjaw and perhaps even Funeral For a Friend. Buy this album only if you know you can handle, and enjoy, something much harder and agressive than Brand New, Taking Back Sunday or The Used. Otherwise you will be disappointed. But if you can, you will be surprised to hear a record that is good without being great, and innovative without being groundbreaking, which seems to be all one can ask for in what is rapidly becoming a depressingly stagnant genre. Seriously worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hardcore screams with quiet bits...immense, 20 July 2003
this album is one of the greatest ever!every time i listen to this cd,it reaches deep into my emotions,and track 10,"short stories with tragic endings"is superb!the whole album is amazingly well written,but this track is possibly the best song ever!from the hardcore shouts,to the melodic emo parts,this song will make you weep...i certainly do!so,if youre after a quality album to listen to on repeat,buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 4 Nov 2002
This Really is a great album,if you are not a fan of "Tough guy harcore" but like heavy music this should appeal. It has heavy moment,softer moment,screaming and accoustic moments. And the lyrics are really emotional without being like,,,,staind or the like!!. Favourite song would ahve to be "Reflections",,it has everything FATA offer,,,,2 min. opening accoutic guitars,really cool screaming for 2 mins. a little breakdown,,,then punk pop guitars then heaviour screaming,it just shows that FATA are not afraid to try different things,,,,in all a really cool cd,,if u like glassjaw,deftones,NFG,finch,poison the well,thursday. You will find something in this cd,,,awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too good!, 7 Nov 2005
This review is from: Too Bad You're Beautiful (Audio CD)
I only discovered this album/band 3 months ago when I heard the track "Take her to the music store." I was hooked instantly, bought this the band's first album and within a week could'nt wait to hear more from the band. This is essential listening, from the furious opener "The royal crown vs blue duchess" to impossibly catchy "The switch" "cherry kiss" and "Take her to the music store."
Don't pass this off as emo fodder, this has more in common with th mighty Poison The Well than Funeral For A Friend, yet has some of the (Iron Maiden inspired?) melodic elements of the latter. Powerful, promising stuff indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It really grows on you..., 28 April 2004
By A Customer
I have to admit that when I bought this album and listened to it, my headwas pounding by the end of it with all the screaming. However, I gave itanother chance and if you actually listen to the lyrics and hear *past*the music, then...wow.
My favourite song of the album is Short StoriesWith Tragic Endings, which has actually made me cry on a few emooccasions. It's one of the most beautiful songs I've ever heard.
There's not really a weak song on the whole album though.
So, give it a try, at first you may think that it's nothing more than aband making alot of noise, but give it a chance and I'm sure you'll startto love it after a while!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too Bad You're Beautiful? That makes NO sense!, 17 Feb 2004
By 
Mark Wright (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this album after hearing just one song - Chlorofom Perfume (which by the way is the most intense, heart wrenching song I have ever heard). I never listened to hardcore (or emocore, whatever) before, so I was in for a bit of a shock and quickly replaced the CD with Saves The Day's In Reverie. However, after about 6 months this CD has finally grown on me, and it's brilliant.
'Reflections' and "Short Stories With Tragic Endings' are like epic adventures rather than mere 'songs'. Lyrically, this album excells. Even if the CD broke I would be contempt just reading the lyrics. ie:
"Creation imperfect, Do you defy this? Could you and your swollen ego fit into my master plan for failure?"
In a nut shell, this album is hard and fast to satisfy the most hardcore nutters ever, while still being accessable enough for dashboard confessional fanboys looking for something more respectable. *cough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Too Bad You're Beautiful
Too Bad You're Beautiful by From Autumn To Ashes (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews