Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smoothly Sentimental
The Temperance Seven play calming, relaxing music with an affectionate and nostalgic appeal, plus an element of fun. The band specializes in 1920s and 1930s style jazz with its musicians attired in evening dress, sometimes including spats, to reflect the period - but it was late 1950s and 1960s when the Temperance Seven became popular and famous. Their first hit is the...
Published on 18 Nov. 2010 by D. Elliott

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you need cheering up...
A very good novelty disc,not one you would play every day,maybe,but lots of fun.They've got that quaintly naff Twenties feel off to a tee.
Published on 4 April 2013 by Iorwerth Herb


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smoothly Sentimental, 18 Nov. 2010
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Temperance Seven (Audio CD)
The Temperance Seven play calming, relaxing music with an affectionate and nostalgic appeal, plus an element of fun. The band specializes in 1920s and 1930s style jazz with its musicians attired in evening dress, sometimes including spats, to reflect the period - but it was late 1950s and 1960s when the Temperance Seven became popular and famous. Their first hit is the opening track of this CD: `You're Driving Me Crazy', There are a further 24 tracks including their signature tune: `Pasadena', and other memorable hits as `Sugar', `Everybody Loves My Baby', `Ain't She Sweet', `My Blue Heaven' etc. The choice of numbers is inspired with other favourites probably being `Dinah', `The Shake' and `Vo Do Do Dee O Blues', and the CD truly deserves `The Very Best Of' in its title. From memory I think the only one missing is `That's My Weakness Now'.

In addition to expected jazz band instruments of trumpet, trombone, clarinet, saxophone etc. the Temperance Seven relied on a sousaphone for a thumping bass together with megaphone, whistles, spoons etc. to add humour to what are carefully choreographed numbers played in impeccable manner. Over the years there were personnel changes yet the style and delivery continued - as well as their eccentric nature. It is generally accepted how with 9 members the Temperance Seven is `one over the eight' but this suggests `intemperance' and correctly it is `one under the eight' to stress `temperance'. On this CD the structuring displays sobriety with the band performing magnificently in ensemble, and also indicates all members as capable virtuosos. The Temperance Seven clearly enjoyed their performances of good time music to produce the very best of smooth and sentimental sounds and bring back fond memories. A great 5-star album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can it get any better than this?, 18 Sept. 2011
By 
Handygrandad (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Temperance Seven (Audio CD)
I have always been a fan of The Temperance Seven. While they maintained the illusion of aloof detachment, the audience would leave with the aching jaw you get from continuously smiling. Even when listening alone I am tempted to turn to an imaginary member of an audience to share the positive communnal feeling generated by their music.

I am also a lifelong hi-fi buff and I have been guilty of discarding many wonderful musical performances because of the frustration I experience with poor production, distortion, etc., all of which become more noticeable when using hi quality equipment in the search for a lifelike listening experiences.

Despite this I hung on to my early Temperance Seven recordings, some of which were in Mono. Others had occasional distortion where microphones or recording media lacked the headroom to cope with the wide dynamic range created by such a diverse ensemble.

Now, joy of joys ... The Best of The Temperance Seven ! ... This is not only a generous collection of tracks, deserving of the title, it is also brilliantly remastered to remove all the irritating distortions.

The digital remastering recreates a wide soundstage with a life like dynamic range. Each instrument is clearly defined and some subtle rebalancing gives a little more prominence to the vocal and banjo. Despite the greater detail and accuracy, in my opinion, the original warmth and humour has been enhanced.

Did I say how impressed and delighted I am ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eccentric, but dash it all, jolly good and very clever, 28 Feb. 2009
By 
Jamie Wrench (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Temperance Seven (Audio CD)
This is how real music is played, with fine musicians who are clearly enjoying themselves and not an electronic device in sight. The dulcet tones of Whispering Paul McDowell transport you back to another time when gentlemen wore spats, ladies carried parasols, England won at cricket and people listened to the words. And the sun always shone, of course.
Stick this on your CD player when stuck on the M25 and your woes will melt away; you'll almost forgive that idiot in the black Corsa...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even before I was a mod., 7 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Temperance Seven (Audio CD)
There was something about this band that captured a need in a teenager of the early sixties to engage with real music. I loved rock and roll and even went on to be in a group in the mid sixties. However, Whispering Paul Mc Dowell and the Temperance Seven were a brief interlude in my late schooldays that are still cherished.
The 45's I listened to were lost eons ago and this reissue is pure time travel back to an innocent era. Check it out (if you are old enough), it's sure to bring a smile to your face and put you in a mellow mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50 Years on, 4 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Temperance Seven (Audio CD)
My wife and I first met 50 years ago on Halloween Night at a dance with the Temperance Seven as the dance band so to us it has great memories for us both and 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you need cheering up..., 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Temperance Seven (Audio CD)
A very good novelty disc,not one you would play every day,maybe,but lots of fun.They've got that quaintly naff Twenties feel off to a tee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun music, not a serious note to be found.., 9 Feb. 2011
By 
Mr. J. H. Wheeler "Easy Street" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Temperance Seven (Audio CD)
If you are having a noisy party, particularly Twenties fancy dress or theme, or you just want to listen to something that doesn't have a serious note in it, then this is a good place to start. Read the jacket or audition the tunes and be sure of what you are buying, but if you agree, you won't be sorry, either. Apart from that, how many albums count on a sousaphone these days? Picture a speakeasy with sawdust on the floor, spitoons in place, and a scantily clad maid on a swing attached to the ceiling and you've got it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Temperance Seven (Audio CD)
Very nostalgic. A trip back to the good old days with this quirky outfit, playing a large number of pieces in their inimitable style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good music, 15 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. Michael A. Brady (Gt Britian) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Temperance Seven (Audio CD)
good old days music from a bygone era quiet refreshing some thing very different from todays music o how things use to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This super CD is a must hear on a lovely summer's ..., 20 Oct. 2014
By 
Happy snapper (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Temperance Seven (Audio CD)
This super CD is a must hear on a lovely summer's day in your garden or open-top car. It is also a must if you are feeling down in the dumps because it could lift the heaviest heart. I prefer it to my other recent purchases of Acker Bilk and Kenny Ball CDs. I am a child of the 60's but even my young granddaughter joins in with some of the funny lyrics whilst we are travelling together. If you love trad jazz, buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of The Temperance Seven
The Very Best Of The Temperance Seven by Los Super Seven (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews