Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marmite for fans.
So, Season 6 arrives and Daniel Jackson, Stargate's oft-sneezing Archaeologist, is Brown Bread.
( Cue hysterical sobbing from females earthwide...)
As Jonas Quinn, Corin Nemec had the literal and metaphorically thankless task of filling a dead man's shoes. Or possibly an ascended man's sandals, but we won't quibble...
And Like Marmite,...
Published on 25 Feb. 2006 by Ms. Rebekah Williams

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Go the Team
By the opening episode of Season 6, we have lost Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) after he had been allowed to ascend. His place on SG1 has been replaced by Jonas Quinn, an off world human.
We have the by now usual combination of off world adventures and adventures taking place on Earth. A particularly nice touch this season is the development of their very own space...
Published on 21 May 2005 by JA Fairhurst


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marmite for fans., 25 Feb. 2006
By 
Ms. Rebekah Williams "Rebekah Williams" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
So, Season 6 arrives and Daniel Jackson, Stargate's oft-sneezing Archaeologist, is Brown Bread.
( Cue hysterical sobbing from females earthwide...)
As Jonas Quinn, Corin Nemec had the literal and metaphorically thankless task of filling a dead man's shoes. Or possibly an ascended man's sandals, but we won't quibble...
And Like Marmite, you either loved him or hated him, poor lamb.
Having been an SG-1 fan since its beginning, I was sad the Daniel/Jonas debate seemed to eclipse what was for me, one of SG-1's stronger series'.
Throughout Season 6, the scriptwriters certainly hiked up the quality of the guest stars:-
David Hewlett's wondrous creation Rodney MacKay makes a welcome return in the opening two parter, 'Redemption'.
Happily for his fans, MacKay is now whingeing away on Atlantis - but at this juncture in Season 6, the scriptwriters were playing 'guess Daniel's replacement' and MacKay made a supremely entertaining red herring.
Meanwhile, Jonas drinks a lot of Tea and eats more fruit than is probably healthy, as lots of anxious boffins stare anxiously at PC screens and attempt (anxiously) to defeat Anubis. Booo!
Jonas is also equipped with a photographic memory. (Must be all that fruit) This makes him aware of all SG-1's past missions Therefore preventing cast members re-explaining storylines for the sake of the new guy. Hooray!
Fruit guzzling aside, there are some little gems contained in this season:
'The Changeling' is penned by Teal'c's alter ego Christopher Judge and niftily provides Michael Shanks a "surprise" cameo as - gasp! - a Doctor!
Teal'c ("T") gets to snog a human girl! Double gasp! And we get to see Apophis again. (Yay!)
This episode also sees the back of 'Junior'- Teal'c's symbiote. Thus allowing Teal'c thenceforth to take "Tritonin" and Christopher Judge to finally grow his hair.
'Cure' and 'Allegiance' are also strong episodes, due largely to the calibre of guest stars.
Carmen Argenziano as Tok'ra leader Jacob Carter and Tony Amendola as Jaffa head honcho Bratak, are always great value. In 'Allegiance' Bratak gets to go all Henry V about the nature of trust in battle, as the Tok'ra and Jaffa try not to kill eachother while stuck on a 'safe' planet.(Why don't they just play Sudoku like normal people?)
'Jeremiah' actor Peter Stebbings plays the commanding Tok'ra warrior Malek. Easily as charismatic as the late lamented Martouf and thankfully, turns up in the next episode.

In 'Cure' Jonas gets to flash his winning smile at a pretty laydee, but sadly she is terminally ill. Aww!
At least she has the good manners not to peg out before helping our intrepid team locate Tok'ra Queen Aegaea. Missing Presumed killed by those pesky Goa'uld.
Unfortunately the Tok'ra find their Queen pickled in brine in a large tank and somewhat unable to reclaim the Throne.
Anguished looks from Malek and brave acts of self-sacrifice ensue. Lovely.
'Paradise Lost' is another corker and finds O'Neill and his sort-of Nemesis, Maybourne trapped on the moon of a planet. Naturally, it's left to Super-Sam to crunch the exponentials, While Jack and Maybourne (the wonderful Tom McBeath) go fishing, then native, then mental, in that order. Great script, great one-liners, great chemistry. More please.
'The Other Guys' is an affectionate 'Geek-fest' in the vein of 'Wormhole X-treme!' Both fun and funny.
'Nightwalkers' invokes the 60's sci-fi of 'The Invaders'and is genuinely creepy.
In short, Season 6 has a bit of everything: Ba'al, Anubis, Apophis, Nerti and Yu (not You) all turn up to the party.
We make new Tok'ra friends. O'Neill rides a snow bike in Antartica and Jonas gets his DNA tampered with. Heck, Daniel even shows up 3 times! (More if you count his work as Asgard voiceover artist)
Which brings us - as the final episode title rightly predicts - 'Full Circle.' (Clever these scriptwriters aren't they?)
Neatly allowing Michael Shanks to un-ascend Daniel Jackson in time to discover the lost city of Atlantis, give Rodney MacKay a regular job on the spin-off series, take his tool set back from Jonas and set up season 7 by possibly defeating Anubis. Whattaguy!
Meantime, the much-maligned Jonas gets a one-way ticket to Planet P45. Bless him.
Who'd be an intergalactic space warrior, eh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Go the Team, 21 May 2005
By 
JA Fairhurst "johnfair" (Edgeley, Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
By the opening episode of Season 6, we have lost Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) after he had been allowed to ascend. His place on SG1 has been replaced by Jonas Quinn, an off world human.
We have the by now usual combination of off world adventures and adventures taking place on Earth. A particularly nice touch this season is the development of their very own space capable craft. The Russians, too, force their way into the operations of Star Gate Command. Another major plus for the series is the way that they will give a brief overview of things in previous episodes that may be relevant to the activities of the current episode.
Some of the particular highlights of the season include the episode where Jack was framed for the apparent assassination of Senator Kensy and the town that had been taken over by gou'ald that could only control their hosts at night. Jack also gets to, sort of, make friends with colonel Maybourne when they were trapped together in a hidden paradise that had its own sting in the tail. There are moments of true horror as well, particularly where Jack has been captured by Ba'al and is being interrogated for answers he can't possibly give but the gou'ald sarcophagus makes sure death isn't the last word....
Although it was an ensemble episode, built up from clips taken from earlier episodes, 'Disclosure' was good in its own right - the framing story had the secret of the SGC passed on to the permanent members of the Security Council not already in on the secret. This was revealed as an attempt by Senator Kensy to take SGC away from the airforce and put it under NID control. Fortunately general Hammond had some big guns of his own!
One of the most powerful episodes was where the to'kra, jaffa had to learn to trust each other to over come a hidden assassin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stargate Season 6, 10 Feb. 2004
By 
D. Stott "bookworm" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
As Season five will always be thought of as the season where Daniel Jackson leaves, season six picks up the pieces and produces a very watchable result. Jonas Quinn becomes slightly less 'wet behind the ears' and whilst Daniel is not there he has obviously not been forgotten. With good episodes throughout, the last five episodes shine, with some very powerful acting and incredible special effects.
Some episodes in the middle are a little slow, but this is definitely a very dramatic departure from season five's sad ending.
With several Gou'ald episodes and plenty of focus on the Asgard the quality is definitely very good. The last episodes also plants the seeds for what is to come in season seven...
Definitely, what I would term very worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate a triumph of a programme and a great series, 17 July 2004
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit to being an absolutely massive fan of everything stargate and I have got all six DVD series box sets. They are all great although the earlier ones are a little light on extras. This series has some of my favourite episodes; Redemption part 1 and 2 and Descent on disk one set a high dramatic tone. However I absolutely love the way that Richard Dean Anderson and team never take themselves too seriously and the "other guys" pokes fun at itself remorselessly. An excellent box set even though Jonas Quinn is here in place of Daniel Jackson I think he does a very creditable job of filling Daniels shoes - a great set and I hope this series runs forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid season, 12 May 2010
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
This sixth volume of Stargate SG-1 is a relatively good one with quite a few good episodes and relatively few poor episodes. This season sees the team dealing with the usual friends and enemies and sees the introduction of the first Earth made spaceships.

The main problem with this season is Jonas Quinn who is a rather annoying and inadequate replacement for Daniel Jackson and those episodes that see Jackson make a cameo just prove the point. Other than this there are few things wrong with this season with `The Other Guys' and `Forsaken' being the worst of the bunch. Even `Disclosure' the obligatory clip show is reasonably passable and has some very enjoyable moments. Of the rest of the series most are good with some such as `Frozen', `Abyss' and `Memento' being my favourite episodes from the series.

Overall, annoying characters aside, season six is a relatively enjoyable and entertaining season that is probably one of the better ones from the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor picture :(, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been watching since s3 online. So its sad to see season 6 begin with black borders on each side of the picture, dont understand why, but its very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Season 6: Big shoes to fill, 18 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Stargate is a little shaken with loads of things happening. Daniel is dead, a new Villain Anubis has cropped up and this new guy called Jonas is on the scene.

Season 6 proves that Stargate, although fractured, can still survive, with brilliant episodes in this, almost on par with season 4. And although we all miss Shanks, Corin Nemec can still deliver, however i feel that Corin knew that he'd always be in Michael's shadow. But not to worry. A favourite episode of mine in Season 6 is "Unnatural Selection", possibly one of the most epic episodes ever. In Season 6 we see more and more political ramblings and dark goings on with rogue NID agents. Season 6 also boasts the introduction of the first battle-cruiser made by Earth - the X-303 (or Prometheus - whatever rocks your boat). Anubis makes more attempts to destroy Earth, although each attempt is thwarted, and diminishes the Tok'ra's numbers severely. We also see that the Jaffa rebellion has finally grown to a number where they can make a difference. There's things happening all over the place.

All-in-all, Season 6 keeps Stargate's zing going, with more and more events happening, and ends epicly. Corin Nemec keeps it afloat and all rough edges are smoothed over nicely. Plus, it's not as though Shanks has gone forever. He makes an appearance on 3 episodes, and still continues to do the voice for Thor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 4x3 - Seriously?, 15 Aug. 2014
After 5 seasons of widescreen when I started watching the 6th season I was shocked that it is 4x3. Swear words sprang to mind, particularly as the series was filmed in widescreen. Don't provide us with this sub-standard crap. I've removed it from my watchlist. My series binge has come to an unpleasant halt leaving me feeling cheated.

PS. It's flagged as HD in the image, but it's SD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate SG1 series 1 - a new era of Sci Fi, 7 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Like most fans of the series I became a fan from the pilot episode, great acting, great script. From the moment Richard Dean Anderson first appeared on the screen as Col. Jack O'Neill (always remember it's O'Neill - two "L's") I, probably like most people, had no doubt he was the star of the show. I was both curious and pleased at how he played O'Neill in relation to Curt Russell who played him in the motion picture, both excellent in their own right.

What I enjoyed about Stargate, apart from the acting, storylines, action, special effects, etc, is that the story was set now, in our time and how the people of the present would have to cope with advanced technolodgy and alien races. I like how the military is portrayed in a correct manner and how it is the Air Force who are conducting the missions, unlike other shows which choose to use the Navy to explore space. At the end of the day it is NASA who are the space program for the USA and they are the Air Force.
Stargate SG-1: Season 1 [DVD] [1997]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally,, 8 Feb. 2004
By 
Dan England (Swindon, Wiltshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
We have been waiting months for the release of series 6 on DVD box set and here it finally is! SG-1 is back with the return of Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) in his Ethereal like ‘Ancient’ form having ascended in the previous, series 5. SG-1 takes on a new team member, although partially responsible for Daniel’s death, Jonas Quinn joins the team. Series 6 sees episodes such as ‘Disclosure’ where the SGC lets some of Americas close and not so close allies in on the Stargate project, including the United Kingdom! Though it is not Hammond and O’Neil who finally convince them.
Other episodes include the introduction of a miracle cure to the Jaffa race after an encounter with the Tok’ra mother which could lead to the end of Gou’ld oppression and ultimately the downfall of the system lords and all of Gou’ld dominance in the galaxy. The Azguard also make some appearances with regard to Commander Thor and the Replicator’s where previously the robot ‘Reece’ who besieged the SGC has opened up some clues as to how to defeat them. O’Neil has some close encounters of his own this season as the last remaining un-ascended ‘Ancient’ is discovered at the site of where the second Stargate was found in the first series and O’Neil goes down with a bit of a cold that only a Tok’ra symbiote can cure.
The whole series is excellent from start to finish, that is, finishing with a shocking mission to Abydos that will leave you wondering what happens next until the premier episode of series 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stargate SG-1 - Season 6 [DVD]
Stargate SG-1 - Season 6 [DVD] by Peter F. Woeste (DVD - 2004)
£19.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews