Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Your Freak On!!
For all those people who take one look at the word Disney, and think'kids' and pass it by, DONT!! One of the funniest movies to come from thestudio in a long time, a very sharp witty script which will appeal tochildren as well as adults.
The premise is simple, Tess Coleman is about to get married and herrelationship with her teenage daughter is at its lowest. Neither...
Published on 25 April 2004 by simonbennett83

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another in a long line of body swap comedies.
Freaky Friday is based on the novel of the same name by Mary Rodgers. It stars Lindsay Lohan as Anna Coleman and Jamie Lee Curtis as her mother. Constantly bickering and with different ideas on life, their lives are turned upside down when an enchanted Chinese fortune cookie puts them in each others bodies. Support comes from Mark Harmon and Chad Michael Murray and it's...
Published on 23 Mar 2011 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Your Freak On!!, 25 April 2004
This review is from: Freaky Friday [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
For all those people who take one look at the word Disney, and think'kids' and pass it by, DONT!! One of the funniest movies to come from thestudio in a long time, a very sharp witty script which will appeal tochildren as well as adults.
The premise is simple, Tess Coleman is about to get married and herrelationship with her teenage daughter is at its lowest. Neither belivesthe other can see her point of view, and whilst in a chinese restarauntthey have an almighty row, which is only halted when a mysterious waitressgives them both a fortune cookie. This is no ordinary fortune cookie, forthe following morning, they wake up in each others bodies, and now theywill literally walk a mile in each others shoes. If all this wasn't badenough Tess is due to marry the following morning so they must move fastif they can reverse the spell.
The performances here are perfect, Jamie Lee Curtis is having a ball,whilst Lindsy Lohan shows what promise she has, as she picks up Lee Curtismannerisms and displays a maturity as she becomes her mother for the day.Mark Harmon makes a welcome return as her patient fiancee, whilst HaroldGould plays her dotty father.
The running time is perfect, not too long that kids will get bored, nottoo short that you wish it longer.There is some slapstick for the kids,and sharp observations for adults. Although this has been marketed for theteenage girl market, its a movie that would appeal to most adults, perfectfriday night movie, not too heavy, and very funny. So buy this its wellworth the five stars i gave it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Word "FANTASTIC!!", 1 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: Freaky Friday [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I first watched this film with a good friend of mine and I did have doubts to whether it I would like it and wheter I could sit through it, and I have to say we had such a fantastic time, there is plenty of emotion in this film to raise your spirits of the roof! I'm usually not into these type of films but I have to say it was beyond fantastic! the actresses preformance Jamie Lee Curtis is not to be missed! One of the hardest things to portray is an middle aged woman into the role of a 15 year old girl, Jamie Lee Curtis did a magnificent job! Although this film is "suppose" to star Lindsay Lohan as the main character, its more like Jamie Lee Curtis who fits this description, her preformance is very noticable and stands out throughout the feature, the preformance is the same with Lindsay Lohan, she did a fantastic job in portraying her mother as the "over protective" type, although it did scare us at times... guess thats why they call it "Freaky Friday", but on and all this film is one to watch, and possibly to own, but i'll let you make that decision.
One things for sure, your will have a much better time watching this film with a friend!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the cookie crumbles, 25 July 2005
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freaky Friday [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is one of the most entertaining comedies I have seen in a long time. I started smiling from the start up tune "Happy Together" by the Turtles and didn't stop until long after Simple Plan finished their version at the end.
Jamie Lee Curtis is absolutely brilliant as Tess Coleman, a harried psychiatrist with two children, about to remarry after the death of her husband. Lindsay Lohan plays her daughter Anna, a rebellious teenager who can't see eye to eye with her mother.
Comparing the Lindsay Lohan of this movie with the wafer thin girl she has become, it should be noted that she looked so much prettier, happier and healthier then, that I wish she'd look back at this movie and go out and eat something.
You already know that this is a "switch" movie, and thanks to Lucille Soong as an interfering old woman, the switch is done with the crisp snap of a fortune cookie. Both Curtis and Lohan handle the change in their characters admirably, and soon both Tess and Anna get a first hand understanding of each other's rather complicated lives.
Mark Harmon has a supporting role as Tess' fiancé Ryan, and Chad Michael Murray plays Anna's love interest Jake, but this movie is all about the female leads as they get a new perspective, earn each other's respect and generally change each other, while at the same time delivering the laughs.
Tess and Anna switch
Fortune cookie lets them be
"Happy Together"
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a freaky friday night in with the girls, 18 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Freaky Friday [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I really felt quite embarrassed when I rented this out - I'm 22 and there I was renting a disney film! However, after reading the back of the case, I was compelled to watch it as the plot really appealed to me! I didn't expect to think much of this film but it actually turned out to be absolutely gorgeous and had me laughing out loud and even a bit misty eyed in places!
I was truly bowled over by the acting ability of Lindsey Lohan who was extremely convincing in her portrayal of a 40-something woman trapped inside a teenage girls body and Jamie Lee Curtis had me in stitches spouting out teenage slang which just seemed so strange coming out of her mouth!
I loved this film and could watch it time and time again, it's a feel good film for the girls and definitely one to watch with your mum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Gem, 24 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Freaky Friday [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
There is only one thing more satisfying than watching a greatly lauded film live up to expectation. And that is watching a should-be-pants remake surpass all expectation in a clever and stylish manner. Freaky Friday is such a film.

Well made, very well written and containing two of the finest female comedy performances on film (Jamie Lee Curtis is absolutely outstanding), Freaky Friday is proof positive that where there's class there's quality. And it manages to make un-patronising, salient points about families in the process. It works on all the levels it's meant to and exceeds in every department. Shame really - but one day, not too far away, Lynsey Lohan will look back on this as her finest hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillant, 24 Jun 2004
This review is from: Freaky Friday [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
freaky friday is lindsey lohan hands best work by far. she shows that she can be both funny and heart moving. the best part of the film i think is when mrs coleman kisses jack to keep her away from anna. but he think anna has just kissed her. i think one of the bad parts of the film is when katie and her take her test. because i think katie is a weak person in this film. the dvd contains extras which makes it worth the price to sum up this film i would say it was funny and heart moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wicked film!, 1 May 2004
This review is from: Freaky Friday [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I went to see this film at the cinema with my mum, and was very impressed! This film rocks! It has Lindsay Lohan, who was also in the remake of 'Parent Trap', and Jamie Lee Curtis. It also has Chad Michael Murray, who played Charlie in 'Dawson's Creek'. This film is about a mother and a daughter who swap places, and relise how hard it is to be each other. This is a really funny film, and I think anyone would enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swtching lives, Switching bodies and ...everthing!!!!!!!, 12 April 2008
By 
S. Arden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freaky Friday [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Freaky Friday is the perfect sleepover, friday... weekend movie and for the whole family.
I personly think this is just one of Linsays best movies a part from the "Parent Trap" and everyone esle is just superb too.
The film is about a angry teenager who is just fed up, and she and her friends have their their own rock band toether. One night at the Japan resturant they are just in teh middle of an argument where they each fall into the trap of eating the forune cookie and then that night they each swap bodies and they have to live each others life. That is really weird and strange. Oh yeah!!!!! They both have to work together to try and make the forune came ture and they do. From then on their relationship is much closer and like old times they are best friends with many new changes.
Everybody is great and I really admire this movie and I watch it often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 30 July 2004
Walt Disney Pictures, a studio infamous for relying on adaptations and remakes over original thought, does it again with "Freaky Friday," a present-day redux of 1976's body-switching Barbara Harris-Jodie Foster comedy. However, under the helm of director Mark S. Waters (2001's "Head Over Heels") and screenwriters Heather Hach and Leslie Dixon (2000's "Pay It Forward"), this is one of Disney's brightest and most winning live-action efforts in some time, a definite step up from 1998's long-winded and inferior remake of "The Parent Trap." The movie is not only the most consistently funny of the year, but it is wise, in its own way, and actually has something truthful to say about parental and sibling relationships.
Tess (Jamie Lee Curtis) and 15-year-old Anna Coleman (Lindsay Lohan) are a bickering mother and daughter who can't seem to see eye-to-eye on anything. While Tess is receiving no support for her impending marriage to the patient Ryan (Mark Harmon), Anna is frustrated that her mother doesn't understand her school life or support her aspirations as a musician. With the help of a nosey Asian waitress (Lucille Soong) and two magical fortune cookies from the night before, Tess and Anna are horrified to wake up on Friday morning stuck in each other's bodies. Suspecting the phenomenon may have something to do with the Chinese restaurant they ate at, but with no idea how to reverse the spell, Tess and Anna have no choice but to go through the day living the other person's life. It doesn't help that it is also the day of Tess' wedding rehearsal and Anna's band competition at the House of Blues.
While the basic plot outline of "Freaky Friday" is easily predicted, with Anna and Tess discovering how difficult the other person's life is and learning to understand each other, the ways in which it is handled is intelligent and sometimes even surprising. Anna's English teacher (Stephen Tobolowsky), for example, is constantly giving her F's for no reason, something Tess blames on her daughter until she must sit in on the class herself (in Anna's body) and finds that the teacher is giving her low scores for no good reason. Meanwhile, Anna (in Tess' body) discovers--much to her surprise--that her bratty little brother, Harry (Ryan Malgarini), is always in her hair because he actually looks up to her. "Freaky Friday" may be just a family comedy, but director Mark S. Waters has the courage and talent to turn things serious, even while avoiding corny, melodramatic sentimentality.
Lest it seem like the movie doesn't know how to have any fun, there are more genuine laughs in any fifteen-minute section of "Freaky Friday" than in the whole of "Johnny English." When Anna must sit in on an interview about Tess' new book on psychology, despite having no idea what it is about, the sticky situation escalates into sheer hilarity. Meanwhile, Anna's crush, a motorcycle-driving classmate named Jake (Chad Murray), is surprised to see his hobbies and tastes connecting more closely with Tess (who is really Anna on the inside). The implications of a possible teen-adult romance within a Disney picture might have gotten pretty uncomfortable in the wrong hands, but it remains innocent, soft-spoken, and charming.
In literally one of the best roles she has ever played, Jamie Lee Curtis (2002's "Halloween: Resurrection") is sheer dynamite, proving what a criminally underrated and untapped resource she often is as an actor. Curtis is poignant as the put-upon Tess, and hilariously dead-on in her portrayal of the teenage Anna. Obviously having a ball with such a meaty part and a marvelous comic talent, to boot, Curtis has given one of the standout performances of the year. In the reverse role of moody Anna who is thrown into Tess' body, Lindsay Lohan (star of "The Parent Trap" remake) is nearly as strong, realistic in her scenes as Anna and scarily accurate at playing the adult Tess. Speaking of a recently untapped resource, it is great to see Mark Harmon (1998's "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas") in such a high-profile role, even if his part as Tess' fianc‚ leaves him mostly unchallenged.
Aside from the unnecessary feelings that go along with remakes, in general, it is hard to complain about much of anything in "Freaky Friday." The film is fast-paced, its comedy never once drags, and its drama is more subtle and believable than one usually expects from a PG-rated family flick. At its core is the relationship between Tess and Anna, brought beautifully to life by Jamie Lee Curtis and Lindsay Lohan. When, at the end, they look at each other and smile, it really feels like a mother and daughter have bonded--not only by blood, but by a keen understanding of who the other person is, inside and out. "Freaky Friday" is warm-hearted without being treacly, and a comic delight without delving into cloying theatrics. It also happens to be one of the summer's most refreshing cinematic delights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, smashing, crazy film, 20 Feb 2004
This review is from: Freaky Friday [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I bought this film on DVD. I'm speechless; its excellent. The mum (smart, posh and articulate woman) goes to work in her Volvo, getting married to this guy shes in love with, and then they go to a restuarant, her child and herself swap places!!! Excellent. Gotta watch....promise....must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freaky Friday [DVD] [2003]
Freaky Friday [DVD] [2003] by Mark Waters (DVD - 2004)
£4.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews