Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to better days?
This album is very satisfying for me. I loved 'Something to write home about', and although 'On a wire' had it's fans, I was never really one of them. This album is faster, more upbeat, and catchier. They've obviously put a lot of thought into the song structures, and the album contains some brilliant build ups to some memorable choruses. Some of the songs remind of days...
Published on 22 Feb 2004

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pissing on Your Party
I first became aware of The Get Up Kids in around '99, Something To Write Home About was an amazing album, it reminded me of the likes of Idlewild - not quite punk, not quite emo and treading just outside the borders of pop. Since then, having also heard, the Red Letter Day EP and Four Minute Mile, i had imagined that they would finally release an album that would break...
Published on 7 Feb 2005 by Colm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to better days?, 22 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Guilt Show (Audio CD)
This album is very satisfying for me. I loved 'Something to write home about', and although 'On a wire' had it's fans, I was never really one of them. This album is faster, more upbeat, and catchier. They've obviously put a lot of thought into the song structures, and the album contains some brilliant build ups to some memorable choruses. Some of the songs remind of days where songs such as 'Red letter day' and 'Central standard time' stayed in my stereo. There are some nice harmonies, some nice intros, and general nice songs all round. My faourites were 'Martyr me' and 'The one you want'.
Basically, buy this if you're a Get up kids fan of any shape or size, whether you liked 'On a wire' or hated it, I think this album will become the classic that everyone heralded STRHA as.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars on with the show, 16 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. Cd Haag "mrlyman" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guilt Show (Audio CD)
much more upbeat than the get up kids previous album (on a wire), guilt show is a highly catchy album that i would recommend to anyone. fans of the kids old albums may be happier with this than on a wire as it sees a return to a less mellow side, however they carry on their new "mature" side as a band with a more produced sound compared to the early albums. they have changed from an out and out emo band to what i would describe as pop/rock. this is not their best album by any means but it is deffinately worth a listen. if you want to hear the true genius of this band i'd buy "something to write home about." still this album is great fun and worth at least 4 stars!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Album Ever!, 28 Jun 2005
By 
N. Letters (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guilt Show (Audio CD)
Seriously in my humble opinion this, the Get Up Kids fourth album is there greatest ever. It doesn't possess the same energy that made Something to Write Home About a great album but it has to be said that Guilt Show works very well as an album. Favourites include 'Sympathy', 'How Long is Too Long and the offbeat 'In Your Sea.' It makes for a very good final GUK album, being a mixture of old and new, there are still the odd acoustic guitar of One the Wire but the album has the energy which reminds people of the GUK emo roots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHOCK HORROR! its better than something to write home about, 22 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Guilt Show (Audio CD)
yes, it really is. as much as i love that album, the songwriting here is just incredible - 'martyr me' being the shimmering highlight. more mature than STWHA and probably less edgy but it's definitely their most skilfully crafted album yet. it's not all heady nostalgia though, 'is there a way out' hints at a darker edge and closer 'conversation' has a dense and menacing hook reminiscent of radiohead. get STWHA first, love it and you'll be nicely warmed up for this little beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just another album, just another classic, 7 Aug 2004
This review is from: Guilt Show (Audio CD)
Firstly, after reading a previous review of this album, i was shocked to see that they labelled this album as pop/rock. Oh dear. This is a horrible horrible label, that should be completely ignored. The Get Up Kids obviously still haven't lost their touch in Guilt Show. This album is the one that most bands have when all their previous albums merge into one to create a true masterpiece. The upbeat, fast paced, and more tuneful styling of STWHA and the Red Letter Day album, and the melodic riffs and lyrics from On A Wire combine together to form Guilt Show. What a combination it is. A must buy for a fan of more melodic emo. With songs like "Martyr Me", "How Long Is Too Long" and "Sympathy", it is evident that GUK have really shown all their musical ability, and every side of themselves, focusing on more mature topics for songs. An honour to hear such a record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 19 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. Stephen P. Westhead "Tido" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guilt Show (Audio CD)
This is one of my all time favourite albums EVER. I think it's a combination of on a wire and something to write home about amalgamated into a brilliantly written album. Favourite song has to be sympathy and in your sea. One of the greats!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pissing on Your Party, 7 Feb 2005
By 
Colm (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guilt Show (Audio CD)
I first became aware of The Get Up Kids in around '99, Something To Write Home About was an amazing album, it reminded me of the likes of Idlewild - not quite punk, not quite emo and treading just outside the borders of pop. Since then, having also heard, the Red Letter Day EP and Four Minute Mile, i had imagined that they would finally release an album that would break all the boundaries that they were being held by... but what was the outcome!?! A self indulgent, insincere piece of exhaggerated artwork. The Guilt Show sounds more like the elimentary version of Blink 182, how could they have let their music go like that? It is beyond me how anyone could possibly rate this album on a higher scale than Something To Write Home About... let's just hope they quit now before they further embarrass themselves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guilt Show
Guilt Show by Get Up Kids (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews