Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In The Wee Small Hours Vol 2???
For someone who, for the past fifteen years, has been railing against the popular mantle of "young Sinatra", and doing all he can to disclaim and destroy that moniker, Harry Connick Jr has here made one hell of a Sinatra album. With one blindingly notable difference.
While the current fashion is for some young pretenders to copy Sinatra and his contemporaries, with...
Published on 22 Mar. 2004 by Mr. R. B. Ager

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More
A bit boring, Harry tries to do the best he can. They are very good songs to make them so bad.

Un poco aburrido, Harry trata de hacer lo mejor que puede. Son muy buenas canciones para que queden tan mal.
Published 19 months ago by Eric Mascarin Perigault


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In The Wee Small Hours Vol 2???, 22 Mar. 2004
By 
Mr. R. B. Ager "Ronald Ager" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Only You (Audio CD)
For someone who, for the past fifteen years, has been railing against the popular mantle of "young Sinatra", and doing all he can to disclaim and destroy that moniker, Harry Connick Jr has here made one hell of a Sinatra album. With one blindingly notable difference.
While the current fashion is for some young pretenders to copy Sinatra and his contemporaries, with mixed success to say the least, Harry has gone his own way, as he always does, and done his own arrangements and orchestrations, for a small string and rhythm group, rather than the big band.
The result will not be to everyone's taste. His voice, more Sinatra in tone and phrasing than ever, is gorgeous, clear and easy; there's no problem there. The arrangements now have a very stylised, stripped down, much more jazzy feel, but the rhythm section is a bit ponderous, not to say monotonous. It's a great cure for insomnia.
So I'm very torn. On the one hand these are fine original treatments of some great songs, and you only have to compare "For Once In My Life" here with Michael Buble's version to realise how fine they are. And it could easily have been the album Sinatra never made - In The Wee Small Hours Vol 2?? On the other hand it is just a shade too laid-back and leaden footed for comfort. Still, streets ahead of most of the competition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only Harry!, 12 Mar. 2004
By 
L. Bishop (Andover, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Only You (Audio CD)
I have most of Harry's offerings and this does not disappoint at all. It is however a slower paced bluesy jazz as opposed to his enliving big band arrangements! What you get here is to appreciate the genius and diversity of this man - not many people will arrange, orchestrate and conduct their own album as well as sing on it! It is an album that will not be gathering dust on my CD rack for want of playing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only You - a fantastically romantic album, 22 Jan. 2005
By 
suziesunshine (Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Only You (Audio CD)
Harry Connick Jnr's voice was made for these songs, which are unashamedly romantic and ideal for mellow nights in or listening whilst eating dinner. Very smooth and relaxing, even the more upbeat songs float along like silky smooth chocolate. Songs about being happy in love - Gorgeous album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars in particular at the end of "The God Father" when the credits roll towards the end you hear Harry Connick JR singing a love song, 11 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only You (Audio CD)
This is the first purchase I have made of Harry Connick JR, obviously I have heard his voice, in particular at the end of "The God Father" when the credits roll towards the end you hear Harry Connick JR singing a love song and I found it captivating. As this CD is so easy to listen to the first song on the album is "The Very Thought of You", I play it at least two times, I just love it so. I love his voice, to me its on this recording a young Frank Sinatra, but then does not every fan of his say that. The entire album is so relaxing and romantic. Maybe I am too soft but I do find I have to use the tissues somewhat. Please try for yourself, you will enjoy it. Best in a dark room apart from candles, glass (small) of wine, sit back and dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only You, 9 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Only You (Audio CD)
You will have a magical time when listening to this CD. It is fab. If you are a romantic or love classic love songs than this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More, 16 Sept. 2013
By 
Eric Mascarin Perigault (Panamá) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Only You (Audio CD)
A bit boring, Harry tries to do the best he can. They are very good songs to make them so bad.

Un poco aburrido, Harry trata de hacer lo mejor que puede. Son muy buenas canciones para que queden tan mal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fabulous !, 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only You (Audio CD)
Wow what a voice !
Whilst Michael Buble seems to be the current 'King of Swing' (and nothing wrong with that I might add !)
Let's not forget HC Junior's magnificent influence - fabulous CD !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The voice of an angel, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only You (Audio CD)
I really enjoy listening to Harry Connick Jr. He is easy to listen to and has to be on my favourite playlist as I am studying or reading. I don't have a TV so music is often in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pure romance, 9 Sept. 2010
By 
Hong Guan Lee (Berlin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Only You (Audio CD)
put this cd on when you want to impress someone, love someone, bring someone to your arms. harry's voice will just do all the tricks of romance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unable to review as did not receive, 9 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Only You (Audio CD)
Unfortunately, due to a postal probelm, I did not receive the goods. However after an email to the seller, a very quick receipt was given with apologies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only You
Only You by Harry Connick Jr. (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews