Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining ninja romp!!
Ninja Scroll is usually one of the first anime films people see along with Akira and Ghost in the Shell, and with good reason too as it's fantastic!
I can normally take or leave most ninja anime, I love mecha and enjoy most sci-fi, horror and Miyazaki stuff, but ninjas don't normally push my buttons. Ninja Scroll though, is a pleasant exception.
This 10th...
Published on 22 Jun 2005 by I. Harper

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its Cut !!!!!!!
i was disappointed when i found out this release was cut.
i didn't even know until i watched the trailer that came in the extras.
i done some research on the net and found out it was the rape scenes and the ninja star scenes which were cut.
other than then that, one of the best manga films i've seen.
i only gave it 2 stars, because that is how...
Published on 13 Jan 2001 by theman@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining ninja romp!!, 22 Jun 2005
By 
I. Harper (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ninja Scroll - 10th Anniversary Special Edition [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
Ninja Scroll is usually one of the first anime films people see along with Akira and Ghost in the Shell, and with good reason too as it's fantastic!
I can normally take or leave most ninja anime, I love mecha and enjoy most sci-fi, horror and Miyazaki stuff, but ninjas don't normally push my buttons. Ninja Scroll though, is a pleasant exception.
This 10th anniversary edition contains two discs with different versions on each disc. Disc 1 has the 4:3 ratio pan and scan version and disc 2 the 16:9 anamorphic version.
Disc 2 also has several soundtracks including DTS 6.1 and proper DD 5.1 EX tracks. Plus a number of other interesting extras, especially the interview with the director.
I won't go into the plot as several other reviews describe it in plenty enough detail already. Although I will say that the plot is very good, it moves along at a sensible pace with a good balance between dialogue and action and unfolds cleverly, giving the viewer snippets of what's going on along the way and piecing it together thoroughly at the end.
Ninja Scroll is very Japanese, more so than a lot of other anime, and makes many cultural references throughout. This, I think, gives the story more depth and weight and makes it less fantastical (even though it's about ninjas and demons). But through this 'Japaneseness' the film fully deserves it's 18 certificate as Ninja Scroll is very violent and has many other scenes and themes of an adult nature as a warning to those who decide to watch it lightly.
Jubei and Kagero, the lead male and female, are excellent characters and they develop and interact very well and much thought has been put into them. But that's not to say the other's are bad or underdeveloped, as entire animated cast is excellent. Throughout the film there are many characters and sequences that will completely take you by surprise, these are a joy to watch even on repeated viewings.
The animation, as expected on a film like this, is superb, fluid movement and excellent detail everywhere.
The only disappointing thing I found with this DVD set was the sound. Listening through my home cinema separates I found that the DD 5.1 EX track made very little use of the extra speakers. The sub effects were pretty much non-existent and only little more came through the surround speakers. The scene at the beginning when the ninjas are jumping through the trees was good with the sound of movement all around you but other than that there isn't much to shout about.
A 13 episode TV series sequel to the film following the further exploits of Jubei was released in the late 90's and is now available on DVD and Ninja Scroll 2 is currently in pre-production.
An obvious film to watch it you're new to anime and thoroughly recommended to everyone, you'll love Ninja Scroll!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of magers greats, 26 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ninja Scroll [DVD] (DVD)
in this amaisingly visual, and graphicly stunning production you see it all. the great fight sequences that the manga productions are known for and the classic ninja theme.
the main jist of the story is a ninja, "kogero" is tricked into helping a government agent track and destroy a group of devels hunting for funds to set up there empire and take over japan.
even the english dub is good you can watch it in both japanese and english, and still et the same gripping experience.
an all round winner, a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Anime on Great Blu-ray, 26 Nov 2012
This review is from: Ninja Scroll Blu-ray (Blu-ray)
I must shamefully admit, as big as an anime fan as I am, I never got round to actually watching Ninja Scroll until this Blu-ray edition took my fancy.
For a number of reasons it was just never a title that jumped out at me. Be it, its relative age: It came out in 93 in Japan but probably later here and somehow I never equated it with Akira or Ghost in the Shell, which I love and are, quite rightly, hailed as benchmarks in the genre. Maybe it was my (utterly wrong) assumption of it being just another ninja tale or possibly the animation style which is very reminiscent of another of my all time favourite animes, Cowboy Bebop. So, frankly, I should have gotten over that but whatever.....I just never got round to giving Ninja Scroll a go!

Well Im so glad I finally got acquainted with Jubei and Kagero. Their crazy, supernatural tale is not just another ninja, or indeed samurai/ronin story. Ninja Scroll is THE anime which has spawned or influenced all the later anime serials like Samurai Champloo or The Afro. All the boxes are ticked here! In spectacular style!

Too cool for the world lead character, deadly cool female lead character, wise old 'yoda' character and a bonkers assortment of 8 demon ninjas for our heroes to face off against including beautiful, evil, living tattoos chick, huge evil stone dude and shadowy, steel thread wielding guy! This motley crue are headed, of course, by a re-animated foe from our heroes past. Its super violent, (not quite Demon Fiend though) its sexually pretty graphic and its utterly utterly brilliant.

The Hi Definition transfer of this classic anime looks pretty impressive to me. Its night and day compared to my Akira DVD certainly and looks just as good as my Akira Blu-ray. It has got quite a muted palette but I think thats an animation style choice and suits the feature. The sound also is very good with a decent English dub but I always go for the original Japanese dub as I prefer to hear it as it was meant to be heard.

The main extra feature and a very welcome one is the crew commentary which is in Japanese with subtitles and although confusing at times, having a few participants, is a good accompaniment to the film for future viewings.

A highly recommended disc for me. Top work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deception and Intrigue in a blood-soaked Fuedal Japan, 3 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ninja Scroll [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The Anime culture is becoming more and more popular over time and it is films such as Ninja Scroll that further strengthen its popularity in Western culture. Beautifully drawn and evocative characters intermingle in both a seamless and often overly violent way that the viewer wonders wether to watch in awe or grimace with every blood-drenched fight scene. It is assured though that you will become engroseed in the storyline which is sufficiently complex(while not being confusing) to hold your attention. Characters such as the self-assured master ninja Jubei to the valuptuos Kagero all add to a a brilliantly realised story of intrigue and deception that will have you watching in amazement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what its all about, 28 Nov 2002
This review is from: Ninja Scroll [DVD] (DVD)
Ninja scroll, the best anime movie to date. If you like detail in a fight and not the standard dash lines and final contact images we so often get, then this is the one. The only other anime film that matches the quality and fight detail of Ninja Scroll is the original Street Fighter II.
The detail of the art work is brilliant, the animation brilliant, in fact all the detail in this film, from the colour to the animation is brilliant, except for the one small problem of using American accent voice overs. Why do they do this. They should use Japanese voice overs. Would complete the full effect of the great atmosphere thrown at you from the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NINJA SCROLL - Appealling,Fantastic,Brilliant,Beautiful!, 8 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ninja Scroll [DVD] (DVD)
Ninja Scroll is the first manga I've seen and it still remains my favourite. The story, the animation, the lighting effects, the characters and intelligence of the makers are all components which never cease to amaze me, even after watching more recent manga releases, though Ghost In The Shell Is Also superb in all the aspects I've listed above, but Ninja Scroll feels like a longer and more exciting adventue. Absolutely on top of the range Manga release. Even the DVD version with the cut scenes(which I don't even notice or care that much about, because I've got the video aswell) it's an outstanding masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Manga of all time...., 15 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ninja Scroll [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I have seen loads of the Manga animes, and "Ninja Scroll" is without a doubt my favourite. You have breath-taking enemies with the eight devils Jubei has to defeat, all with amazing skills and powers. There is an involving plot, and the love between the two central characters is masterfully portrayed. There is even some comical moments in there, which adds a light-hearted touch to the film in places. Every time I watch this incredible film, I find something new in it. If you don't watch, you are missing out on something truly great - without a doubt my personal favourite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genuinely good action film., 3 Aug 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Carlisle, Cumbria United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ninja Scroll [DVD] (DVD)
As a new initiate to the manga genre, I was looking for some kick ass action and mind blowing artwork.
Starting with the 'cut for time' TV version of AKIRA (cool but disjointed and confusing with so much left out), I then caught some Legend of the Overfiend (demon porn), all good fun but I felt there should be something more to this fantastic media I'd been hearing about.
Ninja scroll is it.
Cohesive storyline, whoop-ass action sequences, love, loss, great art - a sure winner for any novice looking to see what anime is capable of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a visual feast, 26 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Ninja Scroll [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A lone ninja finds himself involved in a anti-government conspiracy which has a lot more to it than meets the eye. His adversaries are in fact demons.
This film is visually stunning. The artwork has exceptional attention to detail, making many of the backdrops almost indistinguishable to actual landscapes, yet blending in seamlessly with the animation. The animation itself takes a great deal of advantage of the anime format, the demons performing acts of savagery taht woudl never be equalled on celluloid. There are also many more subtle touches that make this film a visual feast. The really great thing about the film is that it does not go overboard as so many animes have the rather irritating habit of doing.
Plot-wise it is fairly basic admittedly. However, I feel that it is culturally justified as many of the demons are actual figures from japanese folk-lore. For those who are not familiar with japanese buddhism, there is a pillar of the elements, which starts with earth, then water, fire, wind and ultimately void, and some of the devils correspond accordingly, for earth the demon has skin as hard as rock, and amazing brute strength. I'll leave the rest for you to decide but I will say that the good ol' blind swordsman makes an impressive appearance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 19 May 2004
This review is from: Ninja Scroll [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I was directed to this film by a friend who claimed it was 10 times better than Akira....not quite, in my opinion. However it is a gem of a manga title and for 5.99 u cannot go wrong (or possably a more interesting price on the manga website - ahem). Even though it has reached 10 years of age the animation is still wonderfull and the battles really entertain. One of the reasons it is so good is that it still has that on the edge manga feel to it, the one where you think "blimey thats a bit dogey" but its okay because its all in the name of gratuitous sex and violence(not to the urotsukidoji extent)and we like that in our manga films. It also boasts some very original charactars, my favorite being the hefty monster that has stoneskin and causes vast amounts of bloodshed wth his throwing blade. Jubei is a great lead character with convincingly dubbed voice, from the outset you know he is tougher than he looks and he is just one of the amazingly vibrant selection ofcharactars that appear in the film.

Any manga fan should give this a good watch and i'm sure, like me it will creep into your list of favourites and nestle along side the likes of Akira and Ghost in the Shell.
(P.S.- check out the special 10th aniversary edition out on DVD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ninja Scroll - 10th Anniversary Special Edition [1995] [DVD]
14.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews