Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Breakthrough.
When I first heard about Emma's new album I was admitingly excited. :-) I wanted to hear the new stuff and what she had to offer. Little by little I heard the new tracks, and I started to love her. The cd to me is a full on 5 star album. It's a great compilation of 12 songs. The strongest being the Title track "Free Me" and a funky up beat song "Crickets Sing For...
Published on 14 Feb 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
this new album by emma may not be at the top of everyone's favourite list but she has done well to draw into the whole 60's idea with this album which will make it popular with the target audience.
we need to remember that although she may not be doing to well at least she's trying top make it on her own and she's not trying to use any other popularity (such as a...
Published on 7 Feb 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected and Astonishing, 25 Jan 2004
This review is from: Free Me (Audio CD)
I think back to the days when Emma Bunton was singing "Spice Up Your Life" and then I listen to these current singles and try to find some sort of a similarity or connection... I can't find one. Though Emma will always be a part of her former girl group, the new album, Free Me, should without a doubt prove her singing capabilities and her true talent. Free Me is filled with a 70's string that connects that album from track 1 to completion. Her first singles have given listeners a taste of what to expect but there are songs on this record that stand out as new, fresh, and quite frankly... very good. "Crickets Sing for AnnaMaria" is such a warm dose of fresh new music not only from Emma but in general and will leave you smiling. "Something So Beautiful" is another stand out track that warms you with its loving simplicity. I hope in my heart of hearts that those who doubt that a former Spice Girl is capable of putting out mature and unique music will give Free Me a shot. Baby just might be the one to surprise us all... as they say... it's the quiet ones you have to look out for! Good job Emma. Your sophomore effort is incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a mistake by Emma's old record label, 26 Mar 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Me (Audio CD)
One can only imagine that Virgin marketing department was rubbish and what a coup for Polydor to pick up one of the best artists in recent times. Not a big fan of the Spice Girls collectively but the style that Emma has adopted as a solo artist appeals. I can only recommend this to fans of Swing out Sister, Lighthouse Family etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 1 Mar 2004
This review is from: Free Me (Audio CD)
Perhaps my opinion is a little bit biased because I am a huge Emma Bunton Fan, but this CD is amazing. I have always been and still am an obsessive fan of the Spices, and will continue to support their solo efforts. However, Emma always has been my favorite, and will continue to be if she keeps putting out music like this! I liked her first album, but this CD just blows me away; it is nothing like anything she has ever done or like anything out there today. It is really a breath of fresh air and it really really works for her and her voice. I can listen to this music on repeat day after day (and do) without ever getting tired of it; it's that great. Anyone who likes light pop music with a bit of a 60's feel, this CD is great to blast on high or to listen to as background music - very calming and relaxing and very pretty. DEFINITELY a good job, Em!!! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emma- Free Me, 26 Feb 2004
By 
N. Wilson "nigel-wilson" (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Free Me (Audio CD)
This is a really good album from Ex-Spice Girl Emma Bunton. As Baby I always thought of her as the worst of the group, but it seems she has come up trumps with all the bands solo careers. Although her first album and singles were a little weak, this is a vast improvment and Emma has found her place in the music world with this great release. Her album incorperates a 60/70's feel and is really fun and upbeat and happy. There no dening that her 3 singles are the best on the album, with their fantastic tantalising vocals but all of the other songs are just as gripping. And although shes singing classy songs in a modern world, they actually work and make her seem really vampy.
My favorite song on the album is "Maybe" which is so dancable and enjoyable. Its upbeat and uplifting and reflects the result of the rest of the album
A great 9/10 for emma- well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great album!, 23 Feb 2004
This review is from: Free Me (Audio CD)
"A wonderfull album with a cathy 60's style and beautiful voice. This album is just brilliant! a must have"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 1960's feel to a 2004 album, 22 Feb 2004
This review is from: Free Me (Audio CD)
This is a really great CD with a huge 1960's feel to it. This is a different style of album for Emma and it really works. There are some truly beatifuul songs on this album, some so catchy that you just can't get out of your mind. This is a perfect cocktail party kind of CD. Recommended for all you lounge lizards out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a slice of pure pop heaven, 18 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: Free Me (Audio CD)
by far the best pop solo effort by one of the former spice gals. has a nostalgic 60's groove feel to it which is not surprising considering a large portion of it was produced by mike peden. if his name sounds familiar, it should since he was a founding member of the chimes and then went on to do some brilliant producing for yo yo honey, shara nelson and daryl hall. he strikes again by teaming up with emma bunton. with this cd, she goes from pop princess to woman seductress. all 12 tracks are radio friendly. the marcos valle track "crickets" plus tracks 9 and 12 are the stand-outs. now if only american radio and MTV would seize on this, the american public would go nuts. much better than kylie's body lang. the only other cd to come down the pike within the past six months by a pop chanteuse deserving of such kudos is nelly furtado's folklore. 'nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good., 18 Feb 2004
By 
Peter Ferenz (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Free Me (Audio CD)
I didn't much enjoy her first album save a few of the tracks and the first single. However, what strikes me listening to this album is that Emma has found a musical style that really complements her voice. I think her pop-style songwriting is actually pretty good - better than most pop music I'm hearing these days. Plus, I like the fact that the songs are built around actual instruments and orchestration. Thanks, Emma, for making such a musical album, especially given people's doubts about your own 'musical ability.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEELGOOD!!!!!, 16 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Free Me (Audio CD)
At last, an artist who's prepared to break out of the run-of-the-mill pop formula and take a risk with something a little different, but which they believe in. Well, this is a risk which has certainly paid off. Emma Bunton's cool vocals are ideally suited to the 60s mood of this album. It's a heady cocktail of Motown and Salsa brought right up to date. "Maybe" is the outstanding track, but having bought the album based on the singles, it doesn't disappoint. Emma - you've found your niche! More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly fabulous!!!, 10 Feb 2004
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Free Me (Audio CD)
Looking at the below reviews, it would seem this is a love or hate album (though, it should be noted that the album only came out on 09/02/04 - AFTER those reviews were written?)
For me personally, this cd is a BIG surprise.
After Emma's frankly boring debut solo album , she has hit back hard with a very polished, and thoroughly enjoyable pop album.
How to categorise it? Think 50/60's Cinema Italiano, throw in a little bit of Motown, some gorgeous strings, some Bossanova beats, excellent vocals and pop at its best, and you're nearly there.
There aren't any pop albums around at the moment that sound like this in my opinion.
It has already spawned 3 excellent singles (Free Me, Maybe, and I'll Be There), and there are many more possibilities to chose from (the crazy bossanova beats of 'Crickets Sing For Anamaria', the gorgeous pop 'No Sign Of Life', and the truly beautiful 'Something So Beautiful').
This is definately a pop highlight for me - and I am very pleasantly surprised. The album packaging is in keeping with the music, in a fifties style, using the old 50's stereo logos etc. Well thought out to the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Free Me
Free Me by Emma Bunton (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews