Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Some, The Finest Season!
By the shows’ third season the regular cast members of MASH had evolved into a homogenous ensemble who inhabited their characters with a comfortable finesse. During this season the show was honoured with the prestigious Peabody Award, the judges praising the series "for the depth of its humour and the manner in which comedy is used to lift the spirit and, as well,...
Published on 4 Mar 2004 by Maximus

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Disappointing series, later ones are better.
Published 9 hours ago by Gabriella


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Some, The Finest Season!, 4 Mar 2004
By 
Maximus (Bradford on Avon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 3 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
By the shows’ third season the regular cast members of MASH had evolved into a homogenous ensemble who inhabited their characters with a comfortable finesse. During this season the show was honoured with the prestigious Peabody Award, the judges praising the series "for the depth of its humour and the manner in which comedy is used to lift the spirit and, as well, to offer a profound statement on the nature of war."
Season three is memorable in several ways. Harry Morgan makes his first, and Emmy nominated appearance, as a mad general in the opening episode "The General Flipped at Dawn" In "The Consultant," Robert Alda (Alan's father) guest stars as a visiting doctor who cracks under the pressure of operating so close to the front. Many of the cast are given space in which to shine in their own right here, but as ever Alan Alda steals the show (he was awarded a Golden Globe that year) Perhaps the closing of series three is most notable for the fact that it is the last time we see both Colonel Henry Blake and Trapper. The season closer, "Abyssinia Henry" is regarded by many as the finest ever episode, and certainly one of the most poignant. In my view "classic" MASH came to an end here in the same way as "classic" James Bond ended with the departure of Sean Connery. Not to decry the following seasons, which are also well worth purchasing, but the appearance of BJ Hunnicutt and Colonel Potter in series four does change the mood and tone.
On a technical note, there are three discs here, each containing eight episodes. Transfer is good as always - do remember these shows are old! When first aired, MASH was intended to play without a laughter track. The US networks panicked as usual though. Mercifully the BBC insisted on the show being fake laughter free for British audiences. You have the option on all the MASH series DVD’s to switch off the laughter, and I urge you to do so - it's far better for it.
So in summary, a vintage year for MASH, and certainly one that most fans will want to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars S MASH ING!, 17 July 2004
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 3 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
My eagerly awaited parcel of Series 3 arrived and was ripped open and popped straight in the DVD player. Series 3 starts to see more rounded characters emerging, some minor players start to step more into the limelight, especially Klinger and Father Mulcahy. This is the series where we lose Henry Blake and by the beginning of Series 4 we find we have also lost Trapper John. But fear not, Mash goes on from strength to strength despite these losses. The story lines start to improve and the performances improve along with them. The final episode is so well done and a real-tearjerker. As with Series 1 and 2, there is not much in the way of special features, but the best feature of all is the ability to turn of the dreaded canned laughter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 3 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
MASH is always superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MASH, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 3 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
You cannot fault Mash, Alan Alda's masterpiece, and I would recommend it to anyone who had forgotten this great series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite comedy show of all time, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 3 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
And I fully intend to collect them all. This one is great, excellent condition and quick service. These days we can all use a guaranteed laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent series, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 3 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
We love M.A.S.H. series, and it was a present for my wife. She loved it, and we've wathced it two times already. I can recommend it to everyone. The shipping was fast and efficient, thx amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 3 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
full set now received, it took a while to get the complete set but now is a gift for my husband
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Comedy Series Ever, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 3 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
There is nothing to write about it... If you did not see it :( DO IT NOW!!!!!!
You will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 3 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
My granddad loves them! :-) he is over the moon with re-living his younger years watching these. Fan blood y tastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mash Box Set 1-11, 17 Jun 2012
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 3 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
I purchased the complete box set 1-11 plus the film.

I found all eleven series really briliant but I did miss Radar in the later episodes.

The film on the other hand was very disapointing, the 'non-mash' actors in the film were quite lifeless compared to the cast in the series.

If you get this set I would suggest you watch the film first before the characters get impressed on your memory. The film is in the last box with series eleven and the special discs.

I am not a great fan of American series but when those Yanks do make a good program then they can be really great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

M*A*S*H - Season 3 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1974]
8.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews