Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!......... Best season ever
Well wow is about the only word that I could use to describe how I feel about Season 8 of The X Files, this is easily the best year of the nine.
The big talking point of this season was obviously David Duchovny's absence for half of the episodes and the full time inclusion of the wonderful Robert Patrick as Special Agent John Doggett, Scullys new partner.
As far...
Published on 25 Mar. 2004 by Philip Hyland

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected.
Season Seven of The X-Files was where I lost interest, not because of the heavy-handed humour (like many people), but because Mulder left and the show's last drop of sanity dried up. The conspiracy arc had gone back and forth so often it made no sense. Season Eight, which I've finally watched after two years of promising not to, is a lot better than I'd...
Published on 14 Mar. 2006 by O. Derwood


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!......... Best season ever, 25 Mar. 2004
By 
Philip Hyland "hylo21" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The X Files: Season 8 [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Well wow is about the only word that I could use to describe how I feel about Season 8 of The X Files, this is easily the best year of the nine.
The big talking point of this season was obviously David Duchovny's absence for half of the episodes and the full time inclusion of the wonderful Robert Patrick as Special Agent John Doggett, Scullys new partner.
As far as the show is concerned of the 21 episodes there wasn't a bad episode to be found. With Patrick's inclusion the show had very much reverted back to horror roots with very easily some of the greatest stand-alones ever. "Paitence", "Roadrunners", "Invocation", "Redrum", "Badlaa" and "Medusa" are all examples of The X Files at it's terrifing best. Two stand-out episodes this year were both Doggett centric episodes, proving what an incredible asset Robert Patrick was, in "Via Negativa" Doggett and Skinner team up to investigate a series of grusome and unexpained deaths and in "The Gift" Doggett comes across a case that Mulder hid from Scully and the FBI and which may shed light on the reasons for his dissapearance. This episode also marks the return of David Duchovny.
Season 8 was also the most mytholgy laden year of the nine, ranging from the search for Mulder in the incedible two-part season opener "Within/Without" to his return in "This Is Not Happening" (which happens to have the best cliffhanger ever) and "DeadAlive". Mulder's search for answers to his dissapearance in "Three Words", the unexplained death of Doggett's son in "Empedocles", the retun of the black oil in probably the most visually stunning episode ever "Vienen" to the mysteries of Scullys pregnancy in "Per Manum" and then her delivery in the brilliant action packed two-part season finale "Essence/Existence". Amidst all the mytholgy episode towards the end of the season there was room for one fantastic stand-alone episode, "Alone". Written and Directed by Frank Spotnitz this is a must see for any fan.
I really can't begin to say enough about season 8, it was a show very much re-energised and re-focused to doing what The X Files dose best, the acting all round was incredible, Robert Patrick and Gillian Anderson(this was easily her finest year) were incredible and the two work wonderfully together, and even though I wasn't missing him it was great to see David Duchovny back as Mulder and the chemistry between he and Robert Patrick is something that has to be seen to be believed. One other thing that made this season all the better was the increased inclusion of surrounding characters. A.D. Skinner played brilliantly by Mitch Pileggi had his busiest year, Krycheck was back with a bang, Deputy Director Kersh was back, last seen in season 6, The Lone Gunmen showed up now and again to lend a helping hand to the new guy and finally the introduction of Special Agent Monica Reyes who would be seen alot more in season 9.
Anyway it really dosen't matter how much I write I could never do this season justice or the work of everybody involved so buy it and experience it for yourself, I garauntee you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best season..., 27 Jan. 2002
With season seven clearly being weaker than its predesessors, the future for the x files looked pretty dire. However, despite low expectations from (some) fans and uncertainty from the cast and crew, this season really rocked the boat and created storylines and episodes so fantastic, that they couldnt be seen past season five. Gillian Anderson once again stars as Scully and takes the lead for the entire season and of the believer, while David Duchovny as Mulder takes a back seat, which would put many DD fans off the new concept of the show. We are introduced to the new star, agent doggert who is the sceptic, and season nines lead agent, reyes who doesnt know what to believe. My favourite episodes are the opening two parter Within / Without is fabulous (and wipes the floor with requiem, S7's finale) with Scully being one step behind the aliens. Patience, about a human bat, Roadrunners about a internal slug, per manum, about the mystery of scullys baby, this is not happening / deadalive, about the return of mulder, and the seasons closing episodes, essence / existence seeing the birth of baby William, and the best finale scene the show has ever produced. Many fans moan about this being a weak season, but it show is crammed full of horror and gory stand alone episodes that the x files used to be all about. The absence of Mulder is missed, but softened by Gillian and Robert's fine acting. Trust me, this is the best season of the series, and gives strong competition with season nine (the last season, *sniff). The score (Scullys Theme) often played throughout the season, is such a touching piece, you can really feel the emotion and craving Scully has for her partner. Its quite simply the x files at its best. An undeniable success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Complete Success., 8 Feb. 2002
Unlike viewers anticipated that David Duchovny's departure would surely ruin the show, season 8 came back with a different "spice". Not Only did we get outstanding performance by Robert Patrick, and saw a whole new side to Gillian Anderson, but the show revolved back to its traditional horror/sci-fi freaky style. We never saw anymore of those hacked comedy episodes of seasons 6 and 7. The season halls extreme mythology episodes such as Per Anum, This is Not Happening and Deadalive which gave a total new face to the X-Files mythology. The Finale was too excellent and unexpected and Chris Carter managed to give Mulder a perfect exit. This is season is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You can love Mulder AND love Season 8! Honest..., 21 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The X Files: Season 8 [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I've been watching The X Files since day 1 and loved it but I expected to hate Season 8. I wanted to hate it. I just couldn't see how the series could continue without Duchovny's wonderful Mulder. But I am happy to admit that I was wrong.
The first half of the season sees Scully searching for Mulder and trying to cope with a new partner - John Dogget (Robert Patrick). Their relationship is uneasy at first and Scully finds herself in the position of playing the believer to Dogget's skeptic. Of course they slowly become an effective, equal, partnership (which is something that Scully perhaps didn't always have with the independent, headstrong, intuitive Mulder). After months of worry and searching, Mulder is returned to Scully but the poor woman is confused when Mulder doesn't seem happy to be back and starts feeling guilty/defensive about her partnership with Dogget, whose presence on the X Files Mulder resents.
The new characters (Dogget and the slightly batty Reyes) injected fresh life to the series. It is almost impossible not to respect Patrick's Dogget, no matter how much you love Mulder, and Gillian Anderson is on top form portraying a Scully whose emotions are pulled all over the place during this season. Duchovny is wonderful, of course, and although his scenes with Anderson are as good as ever, it is in the scenes with Patrick that he really shines. It's refreshing to see Mulder not just slipping back into place when he returns but rather coming to terms, not only with what happened to him but the fact that life - including the X Files - moved on in his absence.
The stories are excellent, very reminiscent of earlier seasons with standalone episodes and memorable characters.
This is a great season of The X Files. Don't be put off by the lack of Mulder, I think you'll be surprised at how quickly you warm to the changes. I hope you give it a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Plain WOW, 8 Jun. 2006
By 
S. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X Files: Season 8 [DVD] (DVD)
So, David Duchovny signs out with season 8 - a season where his cameo appearances through the first half reminded us of how much we loved him - and his partnerdhip with Scully. Then he came back, and all was good - until he left again, in preperation for a season 9 without him at all. The season gets under way with Mulder abducted and a fantastic new character added. John Doggett, head of the search for Mulder then assigned to the c-files with Scully, is an absorbing character. Sure, he'll never be able to replace Mulder, but he is different in a way that makes him new and exciting to keep the chair warm. And i realise many fans argued that Mulder's dissappearance was the end and season 8 was dragged and uneccesary, but they never gave it a chance in my opinion. Anyway, dont listen to them and try the new characters, and you'll find its much the same. I adnit some of the StandAlone episodes without that brilliant Mulder-Scully chemistry were a bit dull, but the Mythology played a bigger part than ever and Scully's pregnancy and Gillian Anderson's fantastic performances kept the excitement levels up.

The season gets under way in typically unexplained fashion, with Doggett and his cronies searching for Mulder on earth, whilst Scully and Skinner try and explain otherwise. Then the Standalone episodes kick in, and whilst they aren't as good as the ones with Mulder and Scully, they regained a dark atmosphere the show lost in seasons 6&7. For those Mulder fans or shippers, 'Per Manum' is a fine episode to prepare us for Mulder's return, with a story that makes Scully question how her pregnancy came to be, and flashbacks to her touching and *romantic* efforts to enlist Mulder as her sperm donor years before. Then comes Mulder's return, an event handled pretty well on the whole, with the reserrection being very touching in Deadalive, even if we know hes coming back to life, Andersons acting as a heartbroken Scully still knocked the stuffing out of me. Once Mulder was back, there were some excellent mythology episodes (Three Words, Vienen, Alone) which introduced the intriguing Agent Reyes, and explore the unintentionally amusing relationship between Mulder and Doggett. Then...there's Existence. Scully's baby is born, and the mystery surrounding its conceiving is to be resolved with the long awaited and superbly acted and soooo romantic and soooo touching......KISS. A fantastic moment in the x-files, for me no doubt the highlight of the season. Kim Manners tells us on the commentary that David and Gillian stood there holding each other for 5 minutes after shooting, in preparation for that scene being the last ever one they ever shot together. Thankfully, David came back for 'The Truth' at the end of season 9 (phew).

In the end, you should buy this and try this. Many will like it and maybe some will resent it. Personally, i feel that it was a fine continuing, especially considering the circumstances. Give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new beginning, 25 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The X Files: Season 8 [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
At the end of season 7 there was considerable uncertainty as to whether the show was going to continue and in what form as David Duchovny was reducing his committment. There was doubt about replacing the beloved Agent Mulder with a new partner for scully and whether the fan base would accept this new character. With the casting of the brilliant robert Patrick as Agent John Doggett all these fears were swept away. This was not a replacement but a key addition to the cast. The handling of the relationship with Scully was very well done as he became a friend and protector while Mulder was away. The story telling and relationship handling abilities of Chris Carter and co. have always been overlooked. With these DVD's experience again some of the best and most scary stories in the 9 year run of the series. The X-Files season 8 was a great year for the show. Buy this set NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 8 - refreshing, new, bright, bold and very very scary, 11 Jan. 2002
Ive been a fan of the x files since day 1, and i can remember fans getting very worried about an 8th season "because of a lack of mulder, and new characters appearing", but they shouldnt have worried because its fantastic. Its a season which is refreshing and new, but also goes back to the classic roots of the show. All the eps are well written, especially (Alone, Epidocles, Roadrunners and This is not happening). Robert Patrick makes a real impact and Gillian is great as ever.... DONT MISS IT! BUY THIS NOW!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was worried coming into season 8.. but in the end i was pleasantly surprised!, 6 Jun. 2006
By 
Mr. D. Cooper "Deano" (England Wolverhampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X Files: Season 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Ok you have heard the bad reviews

''mulder isnt in it as much anymore, they have ruined the x files''

Well i have to disagree. Its not as if Mulder had left for ever, he was abducted. And you know he will be back, and you he does come back in season 8. Thats what makes season 8 a breath of fresh air, you anxiously await mulders return. =

It new characters coming into play. Agent John Doggett, i thought he was great. He is more like skully was in the early seasons, skepitcal as hell. And skully is trying to be more like mulder. You will learn to love him for sure.

Most of the episodes on here are solid, i noticed there wasnt any stinkers. There was a few average ones, but nothing terrible unlike the past seasons.

I loved the end episode, the end when mulder and skully share a tender moment together. i liked mulders line at the time:

'' but there is a truth we do both know skully''

''whats that?''

..

i leave you to guess what happens next. it was a lovely end and i think it would of done the series no harm to end there. But of course people need to know 'the truth'.Hopefully season 9 will be as good as season 8. It definelty is one of the better seasons of the series!

Have no fear, sit back, relax and enjoy this great season:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant season with the help of new cast members., 29 May 2002
The X-files is at its best in this new season. Not only do we have the energy burst of new and exciting characters but also the interwoven mystery surrounding Scully's pregnancy. The brilliance of Carter's writing is fully operational in these episodes, a reminder of what the x-files was in the early years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth is I loved it!!!, 14 Sept. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The X Files: Season 8 [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
As a mulder&scully fan I was ready to hate a season without Mulder and with a certain John Dogget who was going to be scully's new partner. It seemed impossible to me that the x-files could survive without Mulder. For it was the special chemistry between the characters what kept me interested.
Dogget is an x-file, as the character managed to get to me so much that when Mulder comes back I do feel for Dogget. The best of this season is indeed Mulder and Dogget fight to be the leading man in the X-files. This was a season that surprised me in the most positive way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The X Files: Season 8 [DVD] [1994]
The X Files: Season 8 [DVD] [1994] by David Duchovny (DVD - 2004)
£15.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews