Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real gem
Samantha Morton may well have deserved to win an Oscar based on this performance, but having seen the film again on the small screen I take comfort from the certain knowledge that she will one day win. Her performance as a grieving mother holding together her family and herself is subtle, moving and very powerful.
However, the role would mean nothing if she was not...
Published on 22 Mar. 2004 by Padderz

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too sentimental
Although this is really well acted by all the cast, I just found this film tipped over the edge into sentimentality. Actually, it was almost fairy-tale like with the two cute girls & the way they make fast work of befriending the local residents in a junkie-infested building/area of Manhattan. I should have guessed when the US border guard was won over by the younger...
Published on 10 Aug. 2008 by adamski


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real gem, 22 Mar. 2004
By 
This review is from: In America [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Samantha Morton may well have deserved to win an Oscar based on this performance, but having seen the film again on the small screen I take comfort from the certain knowledge that she will one day win. Her performance as a grieving mother holding together her family and herself is subtle, moving and very powerful.
However, the role would mean nothing if she was not ably supported, and this is one of those films in which every single character extracts such realism that it is hard to believe that the dialogue spoken was ever just words on a piece of paper.
Paddy Considine is magnificent as the husband and father of a loving family that is breaking down from the inside, whilst struggling to find a role within this blackened unit.
But, the real wonder and find of this film are the two young girls.
Being real life sisters may have helped but, my god, they played with such resonance, such force that when watching the hospital scene I cried.
And I rarely cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In America, 2 Aug. 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In America [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
'In America' is a poignant film about an Irish family trying to survive in new york after the death of their young baby boy. The cast play their roles to perfection and Sam Morton excels as a mother trying to hold her family together. Paddy Considine is completely authentic as the father who fights to support his family, whilst fighting his own grief at the same time. The two delightful actresses who play his daughters (sisters in real life) are a joy to watch and are incredibly natural and unaffected in front of the camera. This film follows the family as they rebuild their lives and make friends with their artist neighbour who lives downstairs (played excellently by Djimon Hounsou) and it is wonderful to see the young siblings playing joyfully amidst the turmoil of their homelife, seemingly oblivious to the struggles the family has to endure. This is a touching film and one that will stay with you after you've watched it and it can easily be viewed again and again. Well worth a look.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too sentimental, 10 Aug. 2008
By 
adamski (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In America [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Although this is really well acted by all the cast, I just found this film tipped over the edge into sentimentality. Actually, it was almost fairy-tale like with the two cute girls & the way they make fast work of befriending the local residents in a junkie-infested building/area of Manhattan. I should have guessed when the US border guard was won over by the younger girl's cuteness factor right at the start of the movie. Gimme a break!
If you're looking for grittiness (which I thought I was gonna get from this) then look elsewhere. But if you're a sentimental type, then this could well be up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was like we was on another planet., 30 Sept. 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In America [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
In America is directed by Jim Sheridan who also co-writes the screenplay with his daughters Naomi and Kirsten. It stars Paddy Considine, Samantha Morton, Sarah Bolger, Emma Bolger and Djimon Hounsou. Music is by Gavin Friday and Maurice Seezer and cinematography by Declan Quinn.

Jim Sheridan draws from personal experiences to play out a tale of an Irish immigrant family, who after a tragic family bereavement, land in New York and try to rebuild a stable family life against all odds.

2002 was a cinema year that saw a number of films released that dealt with humanistic themes of grief and loss of faith. Jim Sheridan's In America is up with the best of them. Receiving standing ovations at a number of festival screenings, it's the simplicity and honesty of the production that draws you in and forces you to to stay with it all the way. It's that rare old beast that can make you laugh one minute, only to then have you feeling uneasy in the the next scene as lead characters unfurl hang-ups and spiked emotions.

Deftly told through the eyes of the elder Sullivan daughter, Christy (Sarah Bolger), whose three wish story thread enchants greatly, film expertly deals in cross generational grief. Considine's father and Morton's mother are ploughing on through the grief, so burned by it, they are happy to live in Junkie Towers, seemingly oblivious to the perils this can cause their two young daughters. But here's the kicker, the slums of New York hold no fear for the two little darlings, the ignorance is bliss approach is never more evident, and as it happens, it defines the Sullivan family. The grief process and a turn of events come to a head to give us a outcome of some considerable emotional wallop.

Undeniably sentimental, it is, however, never cloying. Impeccably performed, especially by the two young Bolger girls, In America has that special something that appeals to those who understand that things in life are sent to test us. Whatever your age. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally Honest and Fulfilling, 3 Jun. 2004
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco/Oakland, CA.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In America [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Director Jim Sheridan ("In The Name Of The Father", "My Left Foot") has crafted one of the most emotionally honest and satisfying films in years. Paddy Considine (solid and tender) and Samantha Morton (emanating subtlety) star as Irish parents of two young girls who move to New York City to pursue Paddy's acting. The move is also a distraction from the recent loss of their young son. The summer heat is oppressive, the living conditions are near squalor and the local residents are junkies. Despite this gloom and terrible poverty, the family thrives happily, mostly due to the amazing resilience and resolve of the two young daughters. The loss of their son and an impending dangerous pregnancy are set against a backdrop of constant near danger and immense naivety (yet remarkable intuition) of the girls. Mateo, (Djimon Hounsou) the AIDS stricken painter downstairs befriends the girls and provides some of the most frightening and yet emotionally substantial moments in the film. Sheridan can take simple scenes like gambling the families rent money on a carnival doll for his child and turn it into pure suspense. The family is always in near crisis, yet they survive day by day, relishing everything those 'in America' take for granted. Sheridan portrays a wonderful story of loss, survival and love, but never becomes maudlin or overly sentimental. This is a rare film about real emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A feel of "A tree grows in Brooklyn", 1 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. Derek R. Osbourne (New Malden, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In America [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I know that real afficionados of the book of "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn" will disagree but i am more thinking of the film versions and their treatment of struggling families in New York and the depth of performance than anything else. Through the eyes of a child this perceptive and wonderful piece of cinema does give hope that we can survive emotional turmoil and grow stronger even when the world throws other obstacles.

Th performances are beautiful. Paddy Considine, Samantha Morton, and Djimon Hounsou are great as the parents and the downstaira terminally ill neighbour but the real tributes have to go to young Sarah and Emma Bolger for their portrayals of the young sisters, Christie and Ariel.

This is a largely autobiographical work for director Jim Sherida who also co-wrote the script with his own daughters, Naomi and Kirsten. He escapes mawkishness and sentimentality and directs a wonderfully appealing film. I mark hard when i do the reviews and so wish i could give four and a half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye Frankie, 1 Dec. 2005
By 
Rebecca Papin "Literary Connoisseur" (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In America [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
An Irish family moves illegally to New York to escape the tragedy of losing Frankie, their only son. Once you know that the character of Frankie was based on, and dedicated to, the Director's late brother, it becomes all the more poignant. Christy and Ariel, the couples two remaining children, are sisters in real life, and treat each other with an amazing tenderness in the movie. The acting that the children do is incredible.
This is a movie about carrying on despite being in the darkest place you've ever been in. These characters don't HAVE a choice, they must keep breathing, must find jobs, must comfort each other.
I adored this movie. It was very sad, but so is life sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I challenge you not to cry during this film!, 20 Feb. 2011
This review is from: In America [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Parents Johnny and Sarah and their young daughters, Christy and Ariel move to Manhattan from Ireland to pursue Johnny's dream of being an actor and, perhaps, to escape the death of Johnny and Sarah's son, Frankie. Of course their grief simply comes with them and the adults struggle not to blame each other for their son's death. They are a family who seem to adapt easily to their bustling new habitat taking the local druggies and weirdos in their stride. The only apartment they can fnd to rent is in a hell-hole of a building but they busy themselves making it home. Since her brother's death Christy has taken to viewing life through the lens of her camcorder. You would need a heart of stone not to be moved by a scene of her singing "Desperado" at a school concert in her pretty Irish accent. This film is a tiny bit over sentimental in places but this is a family who have faced tough times and life doesn't seem to be getting any easier. You can't help but want things to go well for them, especially when Sarah discovers she is expecting another baby. Sweet little Ariel is moved to tears by watching ET going off on his flying bicycle and this reference crops up late on in the film to very moving effect. The nice thing about this film is that the children aren't those horrible, nauseating kind that always seem to land the parts in in Disney films. These are real sisters who seem to have raw talent as actors. A film to watch more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 16 Mar. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In America [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is amazing. I am not exaggerating! It is so beautifully shot, well written and everyone in the film can actually act! The younger sister who plays Ariel (she's on the cover) is so adorable (physically and mentally).

It is about an Irish family (Mum, Dad, two girls) who are moving to New York as a fresh start, because they have lost their son Frankie about a year before. They live in a rough area in the top apartment of a really old apartment block and the Dad tries to make it as an actor to support the family. In the old building where they live they make friends with a lonely man who avoids everyone and takes out his anger in his art (he also has an illness that is wearing him down) but the children see through him and he becomes friends with them. The mother becomes expectant with another child. The doctor tells her that it would be wise to abort it early, as it will be a dangerous pregnancy. She decides against the doctor's concerns and continues with the pregnancy. Through the pregnancy she has to overcome Frankie's death. I won't say anything more! you will have to watch it!

It is so heart-warming (i shed a few tears at the end). It has sad moments, but it all comes together at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the money, 19 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: In America [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
When I first saw a preview of this film I wanted to see it. I have to say that it is the BEST film I have ever seen yet! I rate this film highly, after watching it several times over and over again, in my opinion it is a MUST! I was amazed at how well kristy and angel the 2 young girls performed. This is well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In America [2003] [DVD]
In America [2003] [DVD] by Jim Sheridan (DVD - 2004)
£5.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews