Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ' Timeline ' a Good Effort
Rather than repeating the plot line I will pass general comments.

It was only after watching ' Timeline ' was I aware that it was Directed by ' Richard Donner ' { think Superman II: The Richard Donner Cut }

Timeline's has a Claimed budget of $ 80,000,000 although this may be widely inaccurate.

You really have to watch it twice as it grows...
Published on 15 Sept. 2007 by brian from london

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Archaeology is FUN!
This has an interesting and unusual idea as a basis (from a book by Michael Crichton) but sadly seems to lose it's way at times.
Basically a space/time 'wormhole' is discovered enables people to travel back in time- but only to medieval France. A group of archaeologists are coerced into going back to save one of their number stranded there.
There's a clash of...
Published on 20 Sept. 2004 by marcusmuck


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Archaeology is FUN!, 20 Sept. 2004
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This has an interesting and unusual idea as a basis (from a book by Michael Crichton) but sadly seems to lose it's way at times.
Basically a space/time 'wormhole' is discovered enables people to travel back in time- but only to medieval France. A group of archaeologists are coerced into going back to save one of their number stranded there.
There's a clash of cultures between the Scientists/Military/MoneyMen versus the History-loving Archaeologists. There's a lot of inconsistencies glossed over (presumably explained in the book) but hey- it's an action film first and foremost.
It has an abrupt start and I thought 'Great! That means there's so much to fit into the rest of the film that they've glossed over character building and scene setting!'.
I was wrong. It meanders once it gets going and seems to think it has to justify how History can be 'F.U.N'
Having said that there's a dependable and credible (if odd) cast, and Richard Donner is a veritable stalwart of cinema direction.
The locations are beautiful- shot mainly in Quebec (which is in line with it's French connection!). Some of the sets are impressive too and the stunts pretty good.
So all-in-all a bit formulaic but not a bad film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, but enjoyable fun, 8 Aug. 2004
By 
Mark Olive (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Having not read the book, my general opinion of this film is certainly higher than many of the other reviews here. I personally found it was very well paced, had very nice and well choreographed action sequences, and had a decent (if simplistic) story. It's based on a book by the same author who wrote Jurassic Park, and in fact the composition of this film seemed to be very similar to that one (substitute dinosaurs for medieval knights, genetic manipulation with time travel, and there you go).

Unfortunately, just like Jurassic Park, the characters are fairly one-dimensional and the plot is very straightforward. One failing of this film that Jurassic Park didn't have is the science (or lack thereof). The word 'wormhole' is mentioned a couple of times, but that's about it. I can understand a director/producer not wanting to confuse the audience with unnecessary jargon, but in this case where the scientific theory underpins the whole focus of the plot (e.g. getting there, and getting back), more time should have been taken explaining the machine and how (and why) it does what it does.

The acting was fairly decent for the most part, with Connolly, O'Connor and Friel giving the best performances (as you might expect). Unfortunately, I thought the main lead (Walker) was less convincing, but this is probably more to do with the weak characterisation than the actor's talent. The 'bad guys' as a whole could have been played considerably more menacing; I think Hollywood has finally past the point where just having an English accent is enough for the audience to tell that a character is supposed to be evil!

One thing missing from the film is a sense of humour. Once the main characters have gone back in time, they spend pretty much all their time hiding or fighting - the odd humorous line or moment would certainly have helped raise the tone of the film, which is strangely rather dark. It's almost as if the film makers pitched the film at the wrong audience, this should clearly have been a family action/adventure film like Jurassic Park or Pirates of the Caribbean.

I actually bought this film because its music is composed by Brian Tyler, who wrote the music for the 'Children of Dune' mini series. Unfortunately, the score to this film isn't nearly as original or atmospheric as that, which was a bit disappointing.

The DVD itself is also rather disappointing. It has no special features at all (not even a trailer or cast bios) and doesn't even have subtitles.

This is a fast paced, medieval action film. If you liked Jurassic Park and like films with knights, catapults and plenty of sword fighting you'll probably like this film. If however you expect a sci-fi film or a tense thriller (which from the trailer, you would have assumed this film was) then you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good book ruined, 20 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
How could they ruin such a good book? Completely miss cast. Half of it missing. Gone from being another Crichton blockbuster, like Jurassic park, to just another B-Movie. The book even reads like a movie! Avoid at all cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a Cliffhanger, 24 Sept. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
If you have seen LOTR twenty times and want to take a break and watch something else. Timeline might do. It is science fiction, but not good science fiction. The "science" in it leaves a lot to be desired. How did they do those quick field C-14 readings? It is a love story, but not a great love story as there is virtually no character development. It is history as there was a 100 years war, but the facts in this story are manufactured. This was year 20 of the 100 Years War and even if the English did win this battle, it really would not have altered history as England simply didn't have a big enough army to hold and occupy France, even if no one lived there. They couldn't have won that war...even in a 100 years. Yes, it is also an action flick, but don't expect a lot of it.

A corporation accidentally discovers a wormhole and time travel. The wormhole always leads to the same place in time, Castleguard in France, 1357. They transport back an archaeologist who gets stuck back there. They then send back a party to rescue him. Like most movie rescue parties, more people die trying to save one person than what it was worth. Oh yes, a woman is saved, who was supposed to die and this was supposed to have altered history, shades of Dr. McCoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ' Timeline ' a Good Effort, 15 Sept. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Rather than repeating the plot line I will pass general comments.

It was only after watching ' Timeline ' was I aware that it was Directed by ' Richard Donner ' { think Superman II: The Richard Donner Cut }

Timeline's has a Claimed budget of $ 80,000,000 although this may be widely inaccurate.

You really have to watch it twice as it grows on you and it does have some very interesting extras.

The Trebuchet Scenes make up for any plot holes . { and ' Night Arrows ' is a very interesting concept }

By the way there was a substance that was called 'Greek fire' which may have been a 'thermite-like' reaction, possibly involving a quicklime or similar compound.

Its the only DVD I know where I ended up supporting the French against the English.

All in all its a enjoyable dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Losing an ear back in time!, 5 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Timeline is a perfectly good Sci-fi adventure film, but will never be considered a classic. This is largely because of a weak lead actor in Paul Walker and a messy screenplay. I've watched the film a couple of times and have enjoyed it, despite all its historical innacuracies. There are positives such as Michael Sheen and Gerard Butler(who I don't normally like much) putting in credible and exciting performances. I enjoy the film as a kind of cross between Stargate and Ladyhawke.
Also, I know the films not as good as Michael Crichtons book, but film adaptions rarely are. As much as I like the film of Jurasic Park it wasn't anywhere near as good as Michael Crichtons book.
I think Timeline is a film like Waterworld, where it will always have it's haters, but when you sit down and watch them, they're actually quite enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weak rubbish, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A remarkably good caste drown in this odd piece. This is certainly the worst performance I have ever seen from Frances O'Conner. Can we really believe archaelogists are such caffeined-up screaming jocks? Maybe it was necessary to make Billy Connolly seem a plausible professor. If you like history or science fiction this is definitely not for you. And if you are English you will no doubt be offended by the concept of the plucky Scots going back in time to help the French out in the Hundred Years War. Just why did the director decide all the English were evil? Racialism? Some of the historic sets are laughably plasticy. I mean surely Hollywood can fake better. And as for fourteenth century English meaning you just put on a Jeeves and Wooster accent - has anyone heard of Chaucer???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Line, 5 Oct. 2013
By 
Thom (FORTROSE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Having written two books on time travel I found this really good .It brought the sense of really being there and not just being an observer looking in. It is very exciting and the acting was superb. You did not know what was going to happen next and Michael Crichton's writing had you going at full gear.
The scenery was excellent and the acting very good .Billy Connolly was very convincing .The guy who played the bad English lord really merited boos. It takes two hours but it flies past -it is a pity they had not made a follow up.More than that it made time travel doable. Great stuff I thoroughly recommend it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A pretty poor effort, 2 April 2014
By 
D. Rice "Belstane" (Kirknewton, Midlothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Michael Crichton's book, upon which this movie is based, is a jolly good read which deserved better this B-movie effort. The acting is ham (Billy Connolly is criminally bad), the script is wooden, the sets are pure polystyrene, the fight scenes are pure panto. Worse still, the characters have been bodged: the nationalities involved in the historic setting have been switched to make the English the baddies (was Mel Gibson an investor) and somehow the Scots make an appearance, no doubt a desperate adjustment to the storyline probably because casting accidentally recruited two Glaswegian actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a 2013 DVD., 27 Jan. 2014
By 
GD (Edinburgh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This movie is well underrated. I have had a DVD for many years and watched it many times. I could not find it so was happy to buy another. The reviews I looked at seemed to think it was a 2013 movie and could have made more of modern techniques available for soft, I have to refute this as it is not a 2013 film, I have had a DVD for at least 5 years. Just take a look at Billy Connolly. A great movie full of medieval action with a 14th century love affair interacting with a 1970's archaeological dig in France. Try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Timeline [DVD] [2003]
Timeline [DVD] [2003] by Richard Donner (DVD - 2004)
£3.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews