Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice tale
It is nice tale about time.I do not know why is it rated so low in Rotten Tomatoes.There is everything in this move what you can expect in tale.adventure,history,love friendship,loyality...whatever you want.
Just sit down,relax and enjoy.
And,be sure,Gerard Butler is a cherry on the top.
sweet.
Published on 13 May 2009 by Ocean Girl

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Archaeology is FUN!
This has an interesting and unusual idea as a basis (from a book by Michael Crichton) but sadly seems to lose it's way at times.
Basically a space/time 'wormhole' is discovered enables people to travel back in time- but only to medieval France. A group of archaeologists are coerced into going back to save one of their number stranded there.
There's a clash of...
Published on 20 Sep 2004 by marcusmuck


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Archaeology is FUN!, 20 Sep 2004
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This has an interesting and unusual idea as a basis (from a book by Michael Crichton) but sadly seems to lose it's way at times.
Basically a space/time 'wormhole' is discovered enables people to travel back in time- but only to medieval France. A group of archaeologists are coerced into going back to save one of their number stranded there.
There's a clash of cultures between the Scientists/Military/MoneyMen versus the History-loving Archaeologists. There's a lot of inconsistencies glossed over (presumably explained in the book) but hey- it's an action film first and foremost.
It has an abrupt start and I thought 'Great! That means there's so much to fit into the rest of the film that they've glossed over character building and scene setting!'.
I was wrong. It meanders once it gets going and seems to think it has to justify how History can be 'F.U.N'
Having said that there's a dependable and credible (if odd) cast, and Richard Donner is a veritable stalwart of cinema direction.
The locations are beautiful- shot mainly in Quebec (which is in line with it's French connection!). Some of the sets are impressive too and the stunts pretty good.
So all-in-all a bit formulaic but not a bad film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, but enjoyable fun, 8 Aug 2004
By 
Mark Olive (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Having not read the book, my general opinion of this film is certainly higher than many of the other reviews here. I personally found it was very well paced, had very nice and well choreographed action sequences, and had a decent (if simplistic) story. It's based on a book by the same author who wrote Jurassic Park, and in fact the composition of this film seemed to be very similar to that one (substitute dinosaurs for medieval knights, genetic manipulation with time travel, and there you go).

Unfortunately, just like Jurassic Park, the characters are fairly one-dimensional and the plot is very straightforward. One failing of this film that Jurassic Park didn't have is the science (or lack thereof). The word 'wormhole' is mentioned a couple of times, but that's about it. I can understand a director/producer not wanting to confuse the audience with unnecessary jargon, but in this case where the scientific theory underpins the whole focus of the plot (e.g. getting there, and getting back), more time should have been taken explaining the machine and how (and why) it does what it does.

The acting was fairly decent for the most part, with Connolly, O'Connor and Friel giving the best performances (as you might expect). Unfortunately, I thought the main lead (Walker) was less convincing, but this is probably more to do with the weak characterisation than the actor's talent. The 'bad guys' as a whole could have been played considerably more menacing; I think Hollywood has finally past the point where just having an English accent is enough for the audience to tell that a character is supposed to be evil!

One thing missing from the film is a sense of humour. Once the main characters have gone back in time, they spend pretty much all their time hiding or fighting - the odd humorous line or moment would certainly have helped raise the tone of the film, which is strangely rather dark. It's almost as if the film makers pitched the film at the wrong audience, this should clearly have been a family action/adventure film like Jurassic Park or Pirates of the Caribbean.

I actually bought this film because its music is composed by Brian Tyler, who wrote the music for the 'Children of Dune' mini series. Unfortunately, the score to this film isn't nearly as original or atmospheric as that, which was a bit disappointing.

The DVD itself is also rather disappointing. It has no special features at all (not even a trailer or cast bios) and doesn't even have subtitles.

This is a fast paced, medieval action film. If you liked Jurassic Park and like films with knights, catapults and plenty of sword fighting you'll probably like this film. If however you expect a sci-fi film or a tense thriller (which from the trailer, you would have assumed this film was) then you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice tale, 13 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
It is nice tale about time.I do not know why is it rated so low in Rotten Tomatoes.There is everything in this move what you can expect in tale.adventure,history,love friendship,loyality...whatever you want.
Just sit down,relax and enjoy.
And,be sure,Gerard Butler is a cherry on the top.
sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bonkers but brilliant, 14 April 2014
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
You might need to know where I'm coming from. I like adventure films and still enjoy the old Doug McClure "At the Earths Core" and "Warlords of Atlantis" features. To me, this carries on their tradition of being a bit mad but going for it anyway. I couldn't give a tuppence for plot plausibility or pseudo science, I just want to be entertained and I find this does that rather well. There are a couple of love stories going on and plenty of action. Walker and Butler lead a scooby gang of archeologists back in time courtesy of David Thewliss "3d" fax machine. Before you can say chain mail, they're knee deep in cannon fodder as an English army lays siege to a French castle. There's some hokum about changing the past and Billy Connoll turns up for a bit along with the dependable Neil McDonough. I understand that they left out plenty of Crichtons source material and that made his fans very cross but I don't give a monkeys about that because this had a decent enough budget and made me forget about work for an hour or two. I lapped up every mad minute of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slick adaptation of the original novel, 10 Dec 2008
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Virtually Maria (Virtual Trilogy)

As a great fan of the sadly lamented Micheal Crichton, who has written a trilogy of time travel books of my own, I would recommend this DVD as a slick and entertaining adaptation of the original novel.

OK - there isn't the attention to detail and the intricately woven technical explanation that made Crichton's novel so believable that you felt you could go out and build a time machine of your own out of a fax machine and a laser pointer. But hey, this is Hollywood!

The techno-babble is plausible enough, the battle scenes are fantastic, the bad guys are wonderful and the extras on the DVD - particularly the documentary narrated by Richard Donner on how the movie was made - are extremely good and well worth the money.

It's not quite Jurassic Park, but it's a good movie and a great way to spend an evening with a cold beer and a hot pizza.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good book ruined, 20 Aug 2010
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
How could they ruin such a good book? Completely miss cast. Half of it missing. Gone from being another Crichton blockbuster, like Jurassic park, to just another B-Movie. The book even reads like a movie! Avoid at all cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ' Timeline ' a Good Effort, 15 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Rather than repeating the plot line I will pass general comments.

It was only after watching ' Timeline ' was I aware that it was Directed by ' Richard Donner ' { think Superman II: The Richard Donner Cut }

Timeline's has a Claimed budget of $ 80,000,000 although this may be widely inaccurate.

You really have to watch it twice as it grows on you and it does have some very interesting extras.

The Trebuchet Scenes make up for any plot holes . { and ' Night Arrows ' is a very interesting concept }

By the way there was a substance that was called 'Greek fire' which may have been a 'thermite-like' reaction, possibly involving a quicklime or similar compound.

Its the only DVD I know where I ended up supporting the French against the English.

All in all its a enjoyable dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a Cliffhanger, 24 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
If you have seen LOTR twenty times and want to take a break and watch something else. Timeline might do. It is science fiction, but not good science fiction. The "science" in it leaves a lot to be desired. How did they do those quick field C-14 readings? It is a love story, but not a great love story as there is virtually no character development. It is history as there was a 100 years war, but the facts in this story are manufactured. This was year 20 of the 100 Years War and even if the English did win this battle, it really would not have altered history as England simply didn't have a big enough army to hold and occupy France, even if no one lived there. They couldn't have won that war...even in a 100 years. Yes, it is also an action flick, but don't expect a lot of it.

A corporation accidentally discovers a wormhole and time travel. The wormhole always leads to the same place in time, Castleguard in France, 1357. They transport back an archaeologist who gets stuck back there. They then send back a party to rescue him. Like most movie rescue parties, more people die trying to save one person than what it was worth. Oh yes, a woman is saved, who was supposed to die and this was supposed to have altered history, shades of Dr. McCoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Line, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Alan (FORTROSE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Having written two books on time travel I found this really good .It brought the sense of really being there and not just being an observer looking in. It is very exciting and the acting was superb. You did not know what was going to happen next and Michael Crichton's writing had you going at full gear.
The scenery was excellent and the acting very good .Billy Connolly was very convincing .The guy who played the bad English lord really merited boos. It takes two hours but it flies past -it is a pity they had not made a follow up.More than that it made time travel doable. Great stuff I thoroughly recommend it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A pretty poor effort, 2 April 2014
By 
D. Rice "Belstane" (Kirknewton, Midlothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeline [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Michael Crichton's book, upon which this movie is based, is a jolly good read which deserved better this B-movie effort. The acting is ham (Billy Connolly is criminally bad), the script is wooden, the sets are pure polystyrene, the fight scenes are pure panto. Worse still, the characters have been bodged: the nationalities involved in the historic setting have been switched to make the English the baddies (was Mel Gibson an investor) and somehow the Scots make an appearance, no doubt a desperate adjustment to the storyline probably because casting accidentally recruited two Glaswegian actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Timeline [DVD] [2003]
Timeline [DVD] [2003] by Richard Donner (DVD - 2004)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews