Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best there is for this price
Excellent headphones, Comfortable / Light. The sound is just..............Brilliant, these are the second pair I have owned, the First pair lated 20 Years.what more can I say.
Published on 18 Feb 2011 by Mr. Richard D. Whan

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Lasted me a week before one of the speakers broke.
Published 8 days ago by Peter graham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best there is for this price, 18 Feb 2011
This review is from: AKG K 240 Studio Headphones,Wired (Electronics)
Excellent headphones, Comfortable / Light. The sound is just..............Brilliant, these are the second pair I have owned, the First pair lated 20 Years.what more can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Set of Headphones, 28 May 2009
This review is from: AKG K 240 Studio Headphones,Wired (Electronics)
These are fine pair of headphones for anybody who intends to spend long periods of time wearing them. They are comfortable, self adjusting for the head, light and unobtrusive - I often forget that I'm wearing them.

The sound reproduction is excellent and probably the best you will get for their price point. The design is circumaural, though the cups being losely fitting mean you don't get perfect noise isolation.

The cable is detachable, so you can replace it if it snaps or frays. The two cables available (EK 300 which is straight, and EK 500 which is coiled) have a mini-XLR on one end can be found for under 20 pounds online (which is a better situation than previously). You can also buy mini-XLR plugs which can be soldered on to the end of ordinary TRS audio cables. The ear-pads are also replaceable, which is a good job as the faux leather ones always start to crack after so long.

The headphones themselves are very durable and withstand quite a lot of punishment. Having said this, I did have to solder a wire which worked lose inside one of the cups after a couple of years. However, these headphones are designed with this in mind and allow you to dismantle and repair them if need be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If it ain't broke, don't fix it, 22 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AKG K 240 Studio Headphones,Wired (Electronics)
25 years ago I needed a pair of studio headphones, and after exploring all the music technology stores (no internet!) I bought a pair of AKG K240s. Not cheap, but worth every penny. I thought they would last for ever, but a few years ago my son started borrowing them for gaming, and as the crimps in the cable accumulated they eventually gave up. Unlike in the new version, the cable could not be replaced.

I assumed that technology would have moved on, so I tested some new makes and models at comparable prices, and was disappointed. They sounded good but were uncomfortable, or they sat nicely but the treble was harsh, the bass booming. Eventually I reverted back to the K240s, with their comparatively dull looks, and it was a revelation, like discovering the obvious all over again. So comfortable that you can wear them all day and fall asleep in them, bright high ends but not harsh, clear bass, and totally neutral - you hear the music the way it was recorded.

AKG have made a few subtle tweaks, but externally they are identical to my first pair - and 3 decades on they still set the standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Akg K 240 wired headphone., 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AKG K 240 Studio Headphones,Wired (Electronics)
A big boy in headphones. Good sound, good channel seperation, comfortable to wear. Flexible and yet very strong reliable construction. Very good value for the price I paid at Amazon UK. I am delighted to have acquired it and I hope others do too. The only shortcoming worth mentioning is it would have been nice to have had a tone control wheel. Nevertheless the sound quality is so good and clear that I hardly miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't do better at this price, 23 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AKG K 240 Studio Headphones,Wired (Electronics)
Excellent headphones. I can wear them for hours with little to no ear fatigue. And they are far more comfortable than they look. They could use a bit more separation and clarity but that's a minor quibble. You really can't beat the price on these if you're doing any audio work or even just listening to music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic sounding., 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AKG K 240 Studio Headphones,Wired (Electronics)
These are great headphones, really solid and comfortable.
Unfortunately they are not really suitable for Ipods or the like as the power
of the Ipod limits their effectiveness. For listening through your laptop
or home computer though these cannot be beaten on price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite headphones, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AKG K 240 Studio Headphones,Wired (Electronics)
I've used many headphones in the past, including for mixing and the K240s are definitely my favourite.

They have light, responsive low-impedance XXL transducers that deliver accurate, true-to-the-source reproduction of even very quiet signals. With AKG's patented Varimotion diaphragm, XXL transducers produce a flat, neutral frequency response from 15 to 25,000 Hz, revealing every nuance of your music. And because of the semi-open-back design, they provide less bleed and more acoustical isolation than typical high-end reference headphones, making them perfect for everything from tracking in the studio to casual listening to an MP3 player. The included adapter make K240 headphones compatible with standard 1/4" or 1/8" headphone jacks.

They are also lightweight with a springy headband that opens or closes wider for large heads and closes in for smaller ones automatically, without adjustment. A fully detachable, replaceable 10-foot cord means that if you've rolled over your headphone cable one too many times, there's no need to buy a whole new pair of K240s -- you can easily swap out the cable for a third of the price, should you ever need to. But as a studio commodity, K240 headphones are priced so everyone in the band can wear them. Where else can less than 100 buy such an essential critical-listening tool?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing studio cans, 16 Sep 2010
By 
Howard Turner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AKG K 240 Studio Headphones,Wired (Electronics)
These have been around as studio headphones for at least a quarter of a century and are still unsurpassed for sound quality. They are designed to sound like a pair of studio monitor speakers in free field and frankly they do! If you have good monitoring and then set these up at the same subjective volume, try pulling them on and off and you'll be amazed how close the reproduction from the cans is to the monitor sound!
Sweet, detailed, comfortable and nigh on indestructible (all the parts are replaceable and not too expensive either). Never have a vocalist complain about a headphone mix again, and have the chance to pull up a decent mix on cans as well! What more can you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sound, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AKG K 240 Studio Headphones,Wired (Electronics)
A quality product with separately replaceable leads for a long term view of ownership. The sound quality is great. The headphones are extremely comfortable and do not pinch the ears or head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fidelity, 23 Feb 2008
By 
M. Pickles (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AKG K 240 Studio Headphones,Wired (Electronics)
Overall i'm happy with these headphones. For about 70 you think you'd be getting quality and you do as far as audio reproduction. However you'd have thought for that money you'd receive something that felt expensive in your hand and as though you'd looked like you'd got the best bang for your buck. However as far as aesthetics go these headphones go, they look like they were designed in the 50's and haven't been revamped since. There are some gold stickers that have a tacky gel feel to them on the side which on mine are slightly skew-whiff and the band that fits snug to your head have these plastic buckles on the side where it's attached to elastic to allow it to spring up and down; the buckles just clip the monitors when retracting, in a way that looks like they've got the measurements wrong. None of these observations really affect the listening and wearing enjoyment of the headphones. They just might get you bullied if you wore them on a bus because it looks like you nicked them from school.

Good features include a screw-on standard jack to the default mini-jack, this is supplied. The cable also unclips at the headphone end too so the cable is replaceable. These headphones go pretty loud too.

Despite the negative points i've made i'd still recommend them to anyone working in a studio or would like to hear flat EQ sound reproduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AKG K 240 Studio Headphones,Wired
89.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews