Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More genius from the best TV show around
The 3rd series of the West Wing continues right where series 2 left of, resolving the cliff hanger and moving on to the fallout of Bartlett’s shocking admission. Once again the cast deliver uniformly superb performances of Aaron Sorkin's unparalleled writing. The series has many standout moments including an episode with more of the back story of Leo convincing...
Published on 8 Jan 2004 by Nick

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series! Not so great dvd release
This is a great series, let there be no doubt about that. For a political drama, getting me on the edge of my seat, it must be good.
But Warnerbros doesn't seem to put much effort in the european releases of the series. Season 3 is in 1.77:1 widescreen but it isn't anamorphic. Which means the image quality is less good and subtitles often go outside the screen...
Published on 15 April 2004


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More genius from the best TV show around, 8 Jan 2004
This review is from: The West Wing : Complete Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The 3rd series of the West Wing continues right where series 2 left of, resolving the cliff hanger and moving on to the fallout of Bartlett’s shocking admission. Once again the cast deliver uniformly superb performances of Aaron Sorkin's unparalleled writing. The series has many standout moments including an episode with more of the back story of Leo convincing Jeb to run for president. The best moment of the series however comes near the end as CJ delivers a hugely emotional speech in the episode "Enemies Foreign and Domestic", the moment is guaranteed to leave you shocked, appalled yet strangely triumphant. The episode as a whole is among the best this stunning series has to offer, moving on from that emotional speech to end on a beautiful high note of the President meeting with an ordinary father and son.
The series continues the high standards of its predecessors and builds a beautiful story arc ending once more in a stunning finale to bring tears to your eyes. Relationships deepen, and new ones are started, policy is made and battles are fought, and all the while the characters retain warmth, humour, intelligence and wit. No other series comes close to the quality of the ensemble cast or beauty of writing. The sopranos may have the best character, 6 feet under be edgier, and 24 the action but none combines drama, tension and humour to such great effect.
If you have the 1st and 2nd series you will buy this, if you don’t buy them now, and then buy this and enjoy the finest TV and DVD can offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Superb, 3 Oct 2005
By 
Lubee (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The West Wing : Complete Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
In actual fact, there's not much simple about the West Wing. I don't pretend to understand half of what's said, but neither does Allison Janney (C.J. Cregg) so I'm in good company!
However, The West Wing is undeniably superb. The writing and acting on the show is second to none, but perhaps more important is the topics that the show addresses, and the way they are addressed. Not many shows could put together a response to the Terror attacks on the World Trade Centre in such short time - most didn't bother in any time - and I'd rather have the 'preachy' element of the show than the marked silence of others.
In The West Wing, we see many difficult issues facing America and the world discussed, and it is reassuring that they are discussed, we hear the other side of the story; we see people change their minds, and it gives me hope that although fictitious, people like Toby, Josh and even POTUS himself might be in the White House in some way, shape or form.
Not many shows are thought-provoking, dramatic and funny as The West Wing.
Bartlet for America!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series! Not so great dvd release, 15 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The West Wing : Complete Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great series, let there be no doubt about that. For a political drama, getting me on the edge of my seat, it must be good.
But Warnerbros doesn't seem to put much effort in the european releases of the series. Season 3 is in 1.77:1 widescreen but it isn't anamorphic. Which means the image quality is less good and subtitles often go outside the screen. The season 2 release in the US though will be anamorphic. So why not the European season 3? A shame if you ask me.
There are also no extra's on this release. No audio commentary, no making of, no deleted scenes, no interviews, no behind the scenes footage... Things the US releases do have. In the US they have to wait long but at least it's worth waiting for.
Conclusion : a great series but it deserves much more than this poor dvd release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same - but that is a good thing!, 2 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: The West Wing : Complete Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Having already seen all the episodes on E4 what seems like an eternity ago, I can not wait for the release of Season three.
For those who are already fans of The West Wing... wait a minute - what am I talking about? Anyone who has ever seen the west wing will not be reading this review - they don't need me to tell them how great it is, and they will have just clicked on the "order now" button.
For those who have not seen it, I will quote a great line that Sam used regarding CJ's request for help understanding the Census in the excellent "Mr Willis of Ohio" episode from season 1 -
"let's forget the fact that you are late joining the party, and embrace the fact that you showed up at all."
The West Wing really is once in a generation television. The casting is superb, the story lines are solid, and the acting is little short of mesmerising. I honestly do not know anyone who, having seen one episode, has not become hooked. Season three continues the high standards set in seasons 1 and 2, wth a lot more political depth (don't let this put you off - I hate politics with a passion, but this is entertaining stuff), and even greater development of the personalities of the characters and their relationships.
I would recommend that you watch seasons 1 and 2 first if you have not already seen them, then buy this. It is an expensive business, being a West Wing fan, but believe me when I tell you that there are very few episodes that you will not watch again and again, so in terms of value for money, it is top notch.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing on TV, ever!, 14 Jan 2004
This review is from: The West Wing : Complete Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm sure everyone's heard of The West Wing by now; but if you've been living under a rock at the bottom of the ocean, let me fill you in on the basics; The West Wing, as per the title, chronicles the exploits of a left-wing Presidency led by President Bartlett (Martin Sheen), who is magnificent as always, Press Secretary C.J. Cregg (Allison Janney), Toby Ziegler (Richard Schiff), Sam Seaborne (Rob Lowe), Joshua Lyman (Bradley Whitford) and Leo McGarry (John Spencer). Now, when anyone mentions TWW to the uninitiated, they usually come back with one of two responses:
1) Who cares about some American political drama? I'll never understand the jargon anyway!
2) No sex or car crashes? You call this TV?
Let me assure you that when I was first introduced to TWW, my response was a classic '1'. My friend sighed, and then told me on what channel and time the next episode would be shown, and we spoke no more of it. After watching just one episode, I understood his sigh completely. The West Wing is one of the best written, funny, and genuinely human TV shows I have ever seen. Since becoming hooked on TV showings, I now own every DVD of The West Wing available, and am eagerly awaiting every new release.
Let me assure you if you have never seen The West Wing before - get the DVD's. It'll be one of the best things you ever do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting even better, 11 Jan 2004
This review is from: The West Wing : Complete Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Having left us hanging at the end of Season Two the West Wing returns with some well scripted stories as well as some really good acting. Episodes like "Bartlet for America" and "Dead Irish Writers" are among my favourites because of the way human stories are played out alongside bigger political events. There are some really thought-provoking topics discussed and more insight into the mechanisms of the the American political system. Women come up tops in this season with more of Josh's assistant, Donna; a new character, a woman's rights lobbyist, whose sparring with Josh extends to their private lives; and some really good parts for the First Lady. The season ends on a controversial note and a sign that the series are moving ever more into line with the current real America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even when it's below par, it's still dynamite TV!, 29 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The West Wing : Complete Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The West Wing is one of the best shows on television. If you're browsing for the Season 3 box set, chances are you will already be aware of the dynamite dialogue and relentlessly witty characters; the ingredients which keep the show head and shoulders above almost everything else on TV.
Season 3 is perhaps the least satisfying of the first four seasons. It's not as amusing as Season 1. It's not as moving as Season 2. It's more sombre, and steeped in more complicated legal and political rhetoric than ever before. But it's STILL great television. The ensemble of actors have honed their performances to perfection, and they are always a pleasure to be in the company of. And there are some wonderful standout episodes (Bartlet for America; Hartsfield's Landing) which represent everything that The West Wing gets so RIGHT.
A quick word about the box set. This is - without question - the best of the three series collections released so far in terms of special features (commentaries for the first time; deleted scenes). It also contains the 9/11 response episode Isaac and Ishmael (not listed above).
However, although this is the first West Wing collection to be released in the widescreen format, the episodes are not enhanced for widescreen TVs, and that is a big disappointment (particularly after the recent Warner Bros release of E.R. Season 1, which WAS enhanced).
Oh, and the great news is that Season four is even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes, Yes, Yes, Yes, 12 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: The West Wing : Complete Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Starting out with a special episode made after September 11th 2001, this season has a lot going for it. For the third time in a row the series got an Emmy for outstanding drama series, and it is well-earned. Plot. Lines. Acting. It's all good. "Only" five Emmys this time, but in my opinion the third season ranks among the most entertaining, as the diversity between the episodes is high; the plot is hurled back and forth between issues foreign and domestic before you can blink. One minute you're watching a legislative battle on the hill, the next you find yourself in a very real war. The White House fights off MS accusations and launches a campaign for re-election while fighting both a hostile Congress and a world full of enemies. In a fight between the good guys and the bad guys in politics, some bad guys are worse than others, and some turn out not to be so bad after all...

Besides the story line running throughout, there are lots of separate side stories in this one, all stuffed with excellent acting - particularly from John Spencer as a blend between Chief of Staff, recovering alcoholic and Josiah Bartlet's best friend. The script is fantastic, and couldn't possibly have been better enacted. In one place it's drama, in another it's comedy, and there are usually only seconds between. The comedy bits are totally awesome. There are character developments, romantic interests in particular, and relationships developing otherwise as well.

If you buy season 3 though, you have to get number 4 as well; too much of this is about the re-election campaign, and you have to have the continuation to see how that goes. Also, the best part of the campaign is the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but booklet is disappointing, 5 April 2004
By 
Andrew Scott (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The West Wing : Complete Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The second season is arguably the best, but the third is not far behind. This time round, we don't have to buy them in half-season chunks, but can get it all in one box!
Unfortunately, the booklet that comes with this 6-disc box set refers to the forthcoming US 4-disc box set. It teases us with references to several directors' commentaries and an additional disc of extras ... but doesn't deliver. The UK editions have always had minimal extras, but the new US editions are fully featured. It appears that the production company has put US booklets into the UK boxes.
I didn't want to wait for the US editions, so I was willing to pay the price, but it wasn't necessary to have my nose rubbed in it! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must buy, 21 Mar 2005
By 
H. Sarna (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The West Wing : Complete Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
i know some reviewers feel the third serious isn't as strong as the first two. i may agree to an extent, but this is still a 5 star series. it's an absolute must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf5afa2c)

This product

The West Wing : Complete Season 3 [DVD]
The West Wing : Complete Season 3 [DVD] by Stockard Channing (DVD - 2004)
12.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews