Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fake, a real, a witch!
Absolutely brillant video featuring all the Scooby Doo cast, no Scrappy Doo (*phew*), a slightly over the top New England horror writer (think Stephen King in a "smart casual" suit doing Tim Curry impressions ... or similar), a fake ghost (as usual) and mystery.
Add to this a real ghost of a real witch, some wiccans (though the background research done on this seems...
Published on 18 Feb. 2003 by Bernd B.

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a yawn
My daughter (and I) are a big fan of scooby doo and have a number of the full length Movies so going by some of the reviews I was looking forward to seeing this one.
Have to say we found ourselves Fast forwarding it and gave up before the end.
The story seems to drag on for ages until you get to any action, there is hardly any of the real LOL humour found in...
Published 8 months ago by Alison


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fake, a real, a witch!, 18 Feb. 2003
Absolutely brillant video featuring all the Scooby Doo cast, no Scrappy Doo (*phew*), a slightly over the top New England horror writer (think Stephen King in a "smart casual" suit doing Tim Curry impressions ... or similar), a fake ghost (as usual) and mystery.
Add to this a real ghost of a real witch, some wiccans (though the background research done on this seems to be a bit iffy!), a teen rock group akin to the Gogos ... though with a gogothic twist ... and you have a winner.
Superb animation with a lot learned from Asian masters to boot!
For me the best Scooby ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zoinks! They keep getting better and better..., 18 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This is the second recent Scooby relese, and boasts a good story coupled with all the fun of everyones favourite crime fighting canine. Tim Curry is an excellent bad guy, adding yet more class to slick animation, with catchy songs, (despite cheesey lyrics) that add something to the plot. The best thing about these new movies is that the tounge remains firmly in cheek, playing on the idea of Dapne and Fred's relationship, while pileing on the slapstick expected from Mystery Inc. The adventure is typical Scooby, with enough twists and turns to keep the young happy, and enough humour, subtlety and nostalgia for the rest of us twenty-something fans of the original cartoon. A must see for any Scooby fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the "All New" Scooby Doo movies, 1 May 2004
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I was a Scooby Doo fan as a kid in the 70's, rushing home from school to see the Gang fight weird and wonderful monsters ,unmask them and expose them as the charlatans and crooks they really were. But my interest in the series flagged as the monsters always turned out to be fake, never real, and with the introduction of Scrappy Doo (why ?), the cartoons became increasingly plotless and banal with lots of pointless monster chasing and mindless slapstick replacing the humour and depth of the earlier episodes.
However in the late 90's ,the "All New Scooby Doo" series brought the cartoon right up to date with the introduction of rock soundtracks, hi-tech gadgets and a hairstyle and clothes makeover for the re-formed original gang , with Scrappy Doo thankfully having been "hounded" out.
The "Witch's Ghost" is probably the best of the "All New" movies. Like "Zombie Island" , at last we see ghosts and monsters which are real and beyond rational explanation. "Witch's Ghost" is perfect Scooby Doo- it has a multi-layered storyline , with several clever twists, detailed characters, a lot of humour and seriously scary monsters. We meet the engaging Hex Girls, the sinister Ben Ravenscroft and witness perhaps the most outrageous display of bad table manners ever seen in a children's cartoon as Shaggy and Scooby pig out in a New England restaurant.
This is an exciting "Scooby Doo" cartoon,which will entertain adults also, but it might scare some younger children, especially when the monsters and ghosts turn out to be real and if you don't want to explain what Wicca is to your curious offspring then this is probably not the movie for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Scooby Doo film ever!, 31 Oct. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scooby-Doo: Scooby-Doo And The Witch's Ghost [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I loved this straight-to-video movie as a kid, and more than ten years later, I still dig it out every October (yes, I know I'm 22, and I'm proud to say that I've upgraded to DVD) and it never fails to entertain me for just over an hour.

I never really cared for the old school 'Scooby Doo' on the 'Cartoon Network' channel, and grew tired of the same old 'bad guys in masks' routine, and disliked the Scrappy Doo episodes that came later even less. But 'Scooby Doo and Witch's Ghost' is brilliant, it was made for a more modern audience, with a story that is more mature, and quite clever.

Scoobs and the gang visit the small town of Oakhaven after a chance meeting with the famed horror writer Ben Ravencroft at their last mystery. There, they hear of Ben's ancestor, a Wiccan who was killed because the locals thought she was a witch. There are circulating rumours that she is now haunting the town, and the gang spring into action.

Tim Curry does an excellent job as the voice actor behind Ben Ravencroft, and there is also genuinely decent music from a band called The Hex Girls, despite one of their songs, 'Earth, Wind, Fire and Rain' having uninspired lyrics, but what the hell - it's a cartoon! Speaking of music, Billy Ray Cyrus was even called on to sing the Scooby Doo theme song.

If your looking for some good old animated fun with a spooky plot and lots of laughs, not to mention lots of pop culture references thrown in, I can strongly recommend this DVD to you. As today is Halloween, I'm off to continue the tradition and dust it off again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Witches, magic, music, fun!, 14 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scooby-Doo: Scooby-Doo And The Witch's Ghost [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I bought this DVD because I had previously been familiar with the band trio calling themselves the 'Hex Girls' and wanted to see the movie that they were in and the roles that they played in it. This movie is great for all that love witch stories, but be aware that most things in this movie are neither historically accurate or truthful in terms of terminology or fictional rules. Being a descendant of a witch, being male, evil and able to do magic does not make someone a warlock, it makes them a witch, because the term witch is not gender specific. Warlocks are not the male equivalent of witches, and being a witch most certainly does not mean that they are evil either. Hence the Hex girls preferring to be referred to as Wiccans rather than witches makes only little sense. It is explained due to the fact that their beliefs and practices are very close and connected to earth and nature, but then again so are those of witches. When watching this with an audience that would not know these things I think it would be appropriate to let them watch the movie and enjoy it, but them enlighten them about mistakes and wrong facts that the movie contains so that fictional stereotypes are not enforced in people's minds even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a yawn, 6 Jun. 2014
By 
Alison (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scooby-Doo: Scooby-Doo And The Witch's Ghost [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
My daughter (and I) are a big fan of scooby doo and have a number of the full length Movies so going by some of the reviews I was looking forward to seeing this one.
Have to say we found ourselves Fast forwarding it and gave up before the end.
The story seems to drag on for ages until you get to any action, there is hardly any of the real LOL humour found in more recent releases, nor any of the thrill of a bit of a scare that kids like. All in all found the story dry and boring.

Obvious nods to Stephen King of course in the story but that's overplayed as the only thing holding the storyline together.

The ending with him revealing his true intentions and conjuring up the Witch is neither spooky or exciting and continuous references to "evil" and "demons" seems out of place in a Scooby cartoon. Its all too heavy and OTT with little humour to lighten the mood.

We got fed up with it and put it off.

Put this one in the bag for the Charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining!, 10 April 2006
By A Customer
This film is responsible for my 3 and a half year old becoming a major Scooby Doo fan!!
I really enjoyed it too, it's a non-stop, funny, suspenseful adventure - the musical score is very catchy and we often sing the songs from it together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SCOOBY-DOO, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scooby-Doo: Scooby-Doo And The Witch's Ghost [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Scooby-doo and the witch's ghost is just one more for my grandson's collection this christmas thank you from SUSAN CLAYTON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scooby does it again, 4 April 2013
By 
serendipity (liverpool, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scooby-Doo: Scooby-Doo And The Witch's Ghost [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Forget the abonimation that is Mystery inc, this is scooby and the gang at their best. A lively entertaining film with great music added that all ages can enjoy. I'm 42 and I love scooby. Don't be ashamed let your inner child out and buy the DVD, it won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars scooby doo, 17 Jan. 2013
By 
rachael rose (merseyside england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scooby-Doo: Scooby-Doo And The Witch's Ghost [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
my fave scooby dvd along with zombie island,better than the live films and tim curry never fails to be a cunning sinister charecter,lots of fun and great to watch with the kids,and scooby will always be one of my fav ever cartoon doggs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scooby-Doo: Scooby-Doo And The Witch's Ghost [DVD] [2004]
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews