Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (161)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Retractable Washing Line
Great little Product does exactly what it says on the box, but will need a line prop for the middle of the line as it sags when lots of washing on.
Published on 13 Jun. 2009 by Chancey

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Retractable reel clothes line
It is neat, attractive looking and easily fitted. However the line is quite thin and seems relatively flimsy if you are used to a "normal" clothes line.
Published on 31 May 2011 by Frank Wood


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Retractable Washing Line, 13 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Minky Retractable Reel Washing Line - 15 m (Kitchen & Home)
Great little Product does exactly what it says on the box, but will need a line prop for the middle of the line as it sags when lots of washing on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent value for money, 5 Mar. 2009
By 
This review is from: Minky Retractable Reel Washing Line - 15 m (Kitchen & Home)
We've bought a second one of these Minky retractable washing lines now. We extend it to approx 12 metres and use it on a very frequent basis. It works perfectly well as long as you wrap the line around the bottom bit twice.

The first one lasted 15 months and my only criticism is that after a while it does not retract the entire line anymore as the mechanism wears out. That's why I have given it 4 stars and not 5.

Other than that - and especially for that price - it's absolutely fine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's worked just fine so far (one month) and seems to offer excellent ..., 4 Aug. 2014
By 
Roger Marsh (Salisbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Minky Retractable Reel Washing Line - 15 m (Kitchen & Home)
It's worked just fine so far (one month) and seems to offer excellent value. All screws and drill hole plugs are supplied, which is a nice touch. Those reviewers here who say that the line sags to the ground at the lightest load clearly have no clue at all how to use it and have not read its simplest of instructions, though their ignorance has clearly depressed the product's star rating – it doesn't do that at all, properly rigged and cleated off; just entirely discount what they say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Retractable reel clothes line, 31 May 2011
By 
Frank Wood (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minky Retractable Reel Washing Line - 15 m (Kitchen & Home)
It is neat, attractive looking and easily fitted. However the line is quite thin and seems relatively flimsy if you are used to a "normal" clothes line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Minky Now You see me Now you Don't - retractable washing line, 19 Mar. 2010
By 
Alessi Lover "C.A.D." (Knightley UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Minky Retractable Reel Washing Line - 15 m (Kitchen & Home)
We have been using one of these now for the last five years or more come the brighter weather.

The one big thing you have to remember to do when pulling out the line, is to wrap it around the little sticking up bit. If not (yes I will admit to it) I put the washing on for it to all fall into a heap.

The great thing I found with this item, is the fact it can go at any space that is needed. The item itself does need to be attached to a hard surface though, as a lot of weight will be on it from the pulling. No velcro or sticky pads to do the trick on putting this up, screws certainly needed.

Ours was attached to the outside wall then put around an old tree than pulled it back around the tree other side to have a double line.

You do have to pull it tight so that it feels nice and taught..... blankets, shirts, jumpers and bedding have all been on ours. Just wished the birds could fly upside down when they go past it though! There I am trying to save money/the planet by not using the dryer then along come the birds.

Better still when washing done it soon retracts back into the reel, leaving you line free.

Saves on having to clean the line before each use too when it has been retracted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Faulty already., 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minky Retractable Reel Washing Line - 15 m (Kitchen & Home)
Sadly our unit has faulted already. It no longer retracts so we are left with meters of line coiled up.
It was brilliant until then. I will be returning item for a refund and will then look for another model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not perfect, 12 July 2009
This review is from: Minky Retractable Reel Washing Line - 15 m (Kitchen & Home)
Generally happy with product as it fulfils its purpose. However, it is fiddly securing the line in position as to add sufficient strength you need to wrap the line twice round the bottom holder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, 25 Aug. 2009
By 
Alex (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Minky Retractable Reel Washing Line - 15 m (Kitchen & Home)
I have had 3 of these and all 3 broke after only a few uses. The spring inside breaks with hardly any pressure and the clothes line won't retract after that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent product, 9 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Minky Retractable Reel Washing Line - 15 m (Kitchen & Home)
This Product is Excellent. it's very handy for people who don't want a fixed washing line in their garden can be put up and taken down in seconds.delivery etc brilliant as normal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 71 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Jun. 2008
By 
Ally (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minky Retractable Reel Washing Line - 15 m (Kitchen & Home)
We thought this would be very useful, but in practice, the line is too thin for normal clothes pegs to grip and it also tends to stretch under the weight of sheets, etc., causing the washing to slide together. You are supposed to wrap the line around a knob on the base of the device to tension it, but we found that it kept slipping. This is a cheap product, so we haven't wasted too much money, but it was still a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews