Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great sync cord... but expensive
As you'd want and expect, this flash sync cord allows you a greater degree of flexibility when using your Speedlight. Instead of being stuck on top of your camera, you're free to position your flash wherever you like in relation to your subject. This not only gives you control of which direction your shadows will go. It also lets you position the Speedlight closer or...
Published on 24 Dec 2009 by Mr. Sa Bell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Remote cord
Provides and adequate solution to obtaining off camera flash.

I would prefer a full wireless solution if I could afford to buy one!
Published 19 months ago by Vic


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great sync cord... but expensive, 24 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Sa Bell "Harpo_the_bad" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon SC-29 TTL Remote Cord (Camera)
As you'd want and expect, this flash sync cord allows you a greater degree of flexibility when using your Speedlight. Instead of being stuck on top of your camera, you're free to position your flash wherever you like in relation to your subject. This not only gives you control of which direction your shadows will go. It also lets you position the Speedlight closer or further away as well as making bounce flash much quicker and easier, no holding in buttons to rotate that flash head anymore! Just point it where you need it.

Although the SC-29 does everything that I would expect of it; I have to admit that it is quite expensive. A fair bit more than I would expect to pay for a cord to be honest. But you do get quality for your money including a handy locking male connector for the safety of you and your gear.

The only other downside is that by holding your flash in one hand, you only have one hand left for your camera, which can cause problems with operating your cameras controls. If you're handholding, it can also make holding the camera still quite difficult.

One last thing that you may be wondering is: is it worth my money to go for the SC-29 instead of the cheaper SC-28? The difference being that the SC-29 has a built in AutoFocus Illuminator and the SC-28 does not.

I have both sync cords and I would probably say no. If you shoot subjects that frequently give your cameras AF problems then you may benefit from the AF illuminator but personally my D300 has never had any such problems and I rarely use the AF assist when on camera or off so I would say: if cost is an issue then save yourself the slight difference in price and go for the 99% identical SC-28.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Duty, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. B. Smith "UKsocketman" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon SC-29 TTL Remote Cord (Camera)
This genuine Nikon lead is very good quality; yes expensive but that shows in the build, heavy duty lead with cable grips on both ends. I also needed one with AF assist which this has. Well pleased with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars expensive but worth every penny, 10 July 2012
By 
Hooshiar Arabi (Bristol, South Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon SC-29 TTL Remote Cord (Camera)
I bought a cheap cable thinking whats the point of paying for an expensive cable, after all a cable is a cable, right? no wrong. This is a cable build to last and you also do not have to constantly worry about the AF light on your flash pointing directly at your subject (in dark places). The AF light on this is built in on the part that connects to the camera, freeing you to point the flash at any angle you want without the lens hunting to get focus.

If you are a serious photographer and want to use your flash as more than just a "point and shoot" then this cable is a must, specially in the dark. With out it, you will need to take a small tourch to ensure the lens can lock focus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As normal with Nikon a good product, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon SC-29 TTL Remote Cord (Camera)
I already have a short TTL cord as I prefer to use a single flash on an off camera bracket. I wanted this one to give me a few feet (off camera) to mount the flash on a stand. so that I could use it as the commander to trigger other speedlights in CLS mode. It works well but my only slight complaint is that you cannot get the full extension of the cord. The coil is a bit too tight and is likely to pull over the stand if stretched too far. Still it does the job in most circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It may be the dearest but its also the best, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon SC-29 TTL Remote Cord (Camera)
If you're a Nikon shooter looking to get your flash off the camera where it belongs then I'd heartily recommend the SC-29. The main difference between this and the SC-28 is the autofocus sensor on the camera end which replaces the sensor on the flash. This can be turned on or off as required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of equipment, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon SC-29 TTL Remote Cord (Camera)
Does what it says on the tin!!!

Would recommend to other users of Nikon equipment, guarantee no camera shake, should be in every photographers pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Remote cord, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon SC-29 TTL Remote Cord (Camera)
Provides and adequate solution to obtaining off camera flash.

I would prefer a full wireless solution if I could afford to buy one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simple to use, 8 Dec 2012
By 
jmm (Aldershot, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon SC-29 TTL Remote Cord (Camera)
efficient, looks robust . am looking forward to using it with my new flash and being more creative in my photo taking. all the grandchildren had better watch out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than rebranded products, 19 July 2014
By 
Dappa Don (East Midlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon SC-29 TTL Remote Cord (Camera)
Yes this costs more than you other brands but they simply are inferior products.
If you want quality buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Totally overpriced, 21 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: Nikon SC-29 TTL Remote Cord (Camera)
It is hard to believe why a simple cord should cost nearly 60 - this is 1/4th of a top-of-the-range TTL flash which is a highly complex masterpiece of electronic engineering!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nikon SC-29 TTL Remote Cord
54.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews