Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A FIVE STAR, 27 April 2012
By 
I. Zaneres (west midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rossini: Il Barbiere di Siviglia (The Barber of Seville) [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
The opening village street is small tidy and excellent, the mottley crew of musicians gets us off to a good start, costumes are excellent and slightly amusing. Robert Deans Fiorello is a pleasing forerunner to Cossoti who has a pleasing light coloratura. When Rawnsley appears he proves to be an architype Figaro, he has a very expressive face and a good voice to boot.
When Maria Ewing appears on the balcony we have a brief taste of the vocal pleasures to come. I like the bit where Figaros shop appears and Almaviva gets his soldiers costume.
The act two set of Bartolos room is quite delightful, Maria Ewing expressing her emotions with eyes as well as voice. I have seen her in varied roles and she always seems to get to the root of the character.
Desderi is a stern self centered Bartolo, not portrayed as a comic figure as in some productions. I prefer his interpretation, he sits well in the part.
Furlanetto has a rich voice, I love his costume and his "slander" is one of the highlights.
The set for act three is again very good, I love the way Rossini makes a satisfying musical meal of " Buona Serra" in this act. It is well presented here.
I own four versions of Il Barbiere and Catherine McCord is by far the best Berta both in singing and acting, I should love to see and hear her in another role.
Watch out for the conversion of the room to the balcony, quite clever and subtle.
This is my favourite version, but Kasarova in the modernised Zurich version is very good, and Herman Prey in a stage filmed version from Alla Scala is not bad. The Met with Florez is passable but not my favourite by any means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good, solid production of an operatic gem, 21 Sep 2010
By 
L. E. Cantrell (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rossini: Il Barbiere di Siviglia (The Barber of Seville) [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
Once, a friend of Richard Wagner's (yes, he had a few) discovered him sitting in the shadows at the back of an opera house box watching "The Barber of Seville."

"How I love Rossini," said the great man, "but you must not tell my Wagnerites. They'd never forgive me."

This is a good-looking, bright, energetic and wholly entertaining production of opera's reigning comedic warhorse. If the singing is hardly likely to make hard-core fans throw away their recordings with Callas or Berganza, it is nevertheless perfectly respectable.

This is one of the all-too rare productions in which it appears that the stage director has bothered to read the text. Why, wonder of wonders, when young, lovesick Count Almaviva is supposed to be singing a serenade, the director actually has him do just that. And when Figaro, the town barber, is supposed to be shaving Dr Bartolo, the comic sort-of villain, he actually applies foamy shaving cream. Astonishing!

Maria Ewing sings pretty well as she manages to be strange-looking-but-beautiful-anyway, funny, indomitable and adorable all at once.

This is probably as good a DVD as you might hope to find for introducing a newbie to the mad, illogical and ultimately addictive world of opera.

Five stars.

A NOTE ON CASTING:
One Amazon US reviewer has noted with dismay that Maria Ewing who sings Rosina is actually identified as a soprano, not as a mezzo-soprano for which the role was written. Be reassured. More than a few sopranos have succeeded as Rosina in the nearly two hundred years since "The Barber" was premiered. Rossini, himself, coached soprano Adelina Patti in the part. She scored a triumph. (She later became so famous that the barbershop standard "Sweet Adeline" was written in her honor.) Closer to our own time, a certain Greek-American lady named Callas had some success, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun in Seville, 4 Sep 2007
By 
P. Pieters (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rossini: Il Barbiere di Siviglia (The Barber of Seville) [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
This Barber of Seville is a funny version of this comic opera. The story is not over the top. John Rawnsley is a great Figaro with his manners and facial expressions. Maria Ewing is a real cross-grained adolescent. Claudio Desderi is a credible don Bartolo. Max-Rene Cosotti is a soft and loving count Almaviva and plays a great drunk soldier. The other parts are also done well. Even my fifteen year old son liked the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Il Barbiere di Siviglia, Rossini, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: Rossini: Il Barbiere di Siviglia (The Barber of Seville) [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
Rossini'is most popular opera, The Barber of Seville, tells the story of Count Almaviva (Max-Rene Cosotti)) who is in love with Rosina (Maria Ewing). Her bad tempered guardian Dr Bartolo (Claudio Desderi), wishes to marry her for her dowry. The count seeks the help of Figaro (John Rawnsley), a mischievous barber. Figaro suggests that the count should wear various amounts of disguises, to get close to Rosina, which results in hilarious consequences.

The genius of Rossini's composition is magnificent, fast and entertaining, it's immediately recognizable overture and it's lesser known pieces are equally as marvelous, keeping the viewers on the edge of their seats, with spellbinding effects.

Max-Rene Cosotti was wonderful as the count, his voice was light and skillful. His performance of the aria "Ecco ridente in cielo", which opens the opera (after the overture), sounded beautiful. There was something that annoyed me about him, which I cant quite place, but his singing was stunning.

Rosina was played by one of my favorite Mezzo Soprano's, the brilliant Maria Ewing. Her voice was beautiful, singing "Una voce poco fa" perfectly. Her funny over the top acting and jerky movements was completely fitting for the role in contrast to her dramatically played Carmen, which shows her versatile acting ability.

Claudio Desderi is also very good, playing Bartolo, with great energy and power in his voice.

However, the best performance was given by John Rawnsley, his voice was amazing, accompanied by hilarious facial expressions. His rendition of "Largo al factotum" was brilliant, his timing perfect and his movements excellently coordinated with the music. He is definitely one of the best Figaro's I have seen and heard.

The production is amazing, with great set designs and costumes. The London Philmonic Orchestra, conducted by Sylvain Cambreling, was phenomenal, along with the superb Glyndebourne Chorus, this was an excellent production and definitely worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glydebourne Production of The Barber of Seville, 30 July 2009
By 
D. Steele - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rossini: Il Barbiere di Siviglia (The Barber of Seville) [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
This DVD was purchased as a replacement of a VHS copy of this opera as broadcast on TV a good number of years ago. The production so impressed me at the time that has remained my favourite ever since. In consequence the VHS tape became so badly degraded with the constant viewing that it had to be replaced. The DVD version naturally has better sound reproduction so is an enormous improvement on the old taped copy. It is gratifying to discover that some beautifully performed and produced opera recordings have been transferred to a modern format. This certainly represents a 'golden gem'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars opera as it should be performed, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rossini: Il Barbiere di Siviglia (The Barber of Seville) [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
I enjoyed this version very much. It was well sung and staged the orchestra was firstrate a very good allround performance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Operahead of Devon March 2012, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rossini: Il Barbiere di Siviglia (The Barber of Seville) [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
Always a wonderful opera but this production was sublime. It was obviously an old video transfered to DVD but that made not a jot of difference to the enjoyment and the quality of the performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A NOTE ON CASTING: - 2, 4 May 2013
By 
Richard di Calatrava (Dorchester, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rossini: Il Barbiere di Siviglia (The Barber of Seville) [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
With regards to L.E. Cantrell's comments 'A NOTE ON CASTING:':

Note that Maria Ewing started as a MEZZO (and is seen and heard as a fine Cherubino in the Ponnelle film of Mozart's Figaro). She then translated to a soprano but continued to perform mezzo roles such as Carmen - using the still-rich lower regions of her voice. She was a fabulous performer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glyndebourne Does it Again. Brilliant!, 29 Mar 2013
By 
H. A. Weedon "Mouser" (North Somercotes, Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rossini: Il Barbiere di Siviglia (The Barber of Seville) [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is my favourite 'Barber'. Has it ever been better performed? Not only does John Rawnsley sing the part of the barber to perfection, he also acts the part to perfection. Better still, this is how it is with the whole production, which is sung to perfection, acted to perfection and staged to perfection. One part of the staging I particularly liked was the view from Dr Bartolo's window. Dave Heather made an excellent job of directing this production for video.

You couldn't fault any of the singer-actors and the 'chemistry' between them could not have been better. The rapport between the actors is tangible. For instance, Max-Rene Cosotti as Count Almaviva and John Rawnsley's Figaro were obviously very much at home with each other. Claudio Dederi is just perfect as Dr Bartolo and Maria Ewing must surely go down as one of the all time greats as Rosina and I've never seen a better Basilo than that performed for us by Ferruccio Furlanetto. One of the pieces I always watch out for in this work is the solo sung by Berta the Maid and Catherine McCord, who is perfect for the part, didn't disappoint me.

What else can one say? You just can't fault it. In simple terms its just a case of: Glyndebourne does it again! As for the quality of the recording I can't really comment. As with all my DVDs and Blu-ray DVDs, it works perfectly on the equipment I have. Inevitably, there always something that can be picked out as not as good as it should be - picture quality and so on or sound - but I'm not aware of any that kind of thing here. But then, I have to say that I'm generally a happy, easy to please person not given to being driven up the walls by minor annoyances. The character of the Barber of Seville is a great role model. Beset as he is on all sides, he never lets anything get him down. And, believe me, his attitude works. This is great stuff. Buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rossini: Il Barbiere di Siviglia (The Barber of Seville) [DVD] [2001] [NTSC]
10.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews