Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All 6 episodes of NDTP on one disc? Bring it on!
In the future, Newport City is engulfed in a fairly toxic cloud due to pollution. Due to crime running out of control, the local police gained its own tank batallion, and from then on became the Tank Police.
Much of the police activity centres around relative newcomer Leona Ozaki, a former cop of the biker division, who's hot-headed but determined to bring criminals...
Published on 10 May 2004 by Mr. A. T. Whitaker

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CLOSE! BUT NO CIGAR
I was a little dissapointed that it lacked the unique edge in which Metropolis and Akira had and also the fact, it was highly overrated by many. I loved the soundtrack and thought that the sixth act(Last One) revived the movie. The great sequence where Bonaparte rampages down the aircraft runway while the theme song hits. I think if you like Metropolis and Akira it MIGHT...
Published on 24 April 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All 6 episodes of NDTP on one disc? Bring it on!, 10 May 2004
By 
This review is from: New Dominion Tank Police [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
In the future, Newport City is engulfed in a fairly toxic cloud due to pollution. Due to crime running out of control, the local police gained its own tank batallion, and from then on became the Tank Police.
Much of the police activity centres around relative newcomer Leona Ozaki, a former cop of the biker division, who's hot-headed but determined to bring criminals to justice at any cost, with the help of her unique manoeuvrable little tank named Bonaparte. Her partner (and Bonaparte's driver and mechanic) is Al, who's very calm and pacifist -- a complete antithesis to Leona -- which leads to some comic moments.
The other characters include Four-Eyes (technology expert), Chaplin (Christian pacifist officer), Nam (weapons expert), Captain Brenten (loud-mouthed action-seeking leader) and the Chief of Police (who's constantly going at the others for causing so much trouble when catching criminals, especially with the damage claims!).
However, a series of events involving the local Dai Nippon Geiken company may mean that the Tank Police may be a necessary evil after all...
The material on view here is all six episodes of New Dominion Tank Police, courtesy of 'Ghost In The Shell' and 'Appleseed' author Masamune Shirow, and it is fairly top-class comedy action.
The biggest difference here compared to the previous VHS versions is that (a) you get all six episodes on one disc, which consumes less shelf space(!), and (b) you get the option to watch it in its original Japanese language with English subtitles. The English dubbing is exactly the same as in the aforementioned VHS tapes, with voices by the likes of Toni Barry (Leona), Sean Barrett (Brenten), Alison Dowling (Annapuna and Unipuma, the cat sisters) and Jesse Vogel (Chief of Police); some of the dubbing dialogue is a little bit on the broken and cheesy side, but the voices fit the characters quite well, especially Barrett and Vogel.
The extras are restricted to information about the characters and vehicles used in the Tank Police division, as well as some trailers for other Manga films.
This is one of my favourite Manga titles, and it's still fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable in every way, 7 May 2004
This review is from: New Dominion Tank Police [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I had no expectations for this anime at all. I know that Shirow is supposedly a master yet i was underwhelmed by Ghost in the shell. Maybe it was the huge expectations i had for it but whatever it was - I didn't enjoy it and that's what really matters right? Not that the story tries to confuse you as much as possible.
This is much lighter despite being set in a similar kind of World. I love the animation on this, it's not computer enhanced but it has a wholesome feel that ghost in the shell lacked. The story isn't overly complex; there are police in tanks and there are bad guys. The bad guys try to make profits on illegal weapons while the police clan up the mess it leaves.
Likeable characters and slapstick humour makes for an anime that you can lay back and enjoy. the animation on the actual tanks is really cool too. The other thing i should mention is the value - 3hours for 15 quid, that's pretty good. what's more is you get a poster with it too! Now that is a rareity for Manga who usually just give yuo the rubbish 'out to own' list.
all in all then, worth buying and watch out for the theif female twins making an appearance in Ghost in the Shell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Dominion Tank Police Review, 1 Dec 2010
This review is from: New Dominion Tank Police [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this series more than the original, it had a very good storyline; it was very entertaining. At least having 6 Acts, it didn't cut off too short; having an ending which you could be satisfied with. Quite enjoyed this one, definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag, but now a bargain...., 14 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Dominion Tank Police [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I was a big fan of Volumes 1-4, and had eagerly looked forward to these (5-10).

However, that change in animation style make the visuals seem a bit less fun for me. Also, the increasingly infuriating nature of the Leona Ozaki character I found to be too OTT. Even for Tank Police.

Other than that, there is still a lot of entertainment and some laughs to be had from these episodes, a couple of which are really good. On the plus side, the final part is not bad. A pleasent change when so many series end up fizzling out.

At the original RRP of 15:99, I'd say it was a bit of a stretch. Not a rip-off, but not a bargain. But at under four quid (yes, not just under a fiver, under *four*) there's very little to complain about at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masamune Classic, 8 Mar 2008
By 
JBV "JBV^_^" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: New Dominion Tank Police [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
While Masamune Shirow is perhaps best known for Ghost in the Shell, Dominion was the first of his Manga to be translated into Anime. While the original OVA follows the manga (though only 4 of the 6 episodes were made), this follows the manga's style with lots of action and humour.

If you like Shirow's more recent works, then you really should watch this. While less "real world" then either Appleseed or GitS, this is still an excellent series. Dominion (both the original oav and New Dominion) have some of the best one-liners in animé including the classic by Benten (Britain in the OAV) "We put the Terror back into inTerrorgation!"

So if you like comedy and action, this is an essential purchase.

pxb^_^

This is also notable for being the first animé by a then unknown company called JC Staff (it was supposed to be JC Stuff, but they misspelled it^^;). JC Staff works include DiGi Charat, Azumanga Diaoh and the recent Japanese releases Kimi Kiss and Zero's Familiar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TANK!!!, 18 April 2007
By 
THC Ife "felixdance17" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Dominion Tank Police [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
This is an incredibly tongue in cheek parody of manga set in the same universe as Ghost in the Shell (Newport city is the setting for both stories in the mangas). Whilst not the greatest animated feature in the world, i enjoyed this piece of escapism on the basis that it is borderline insane in an Excel Saga style way, with the protagonists destroying half the city in the search for justice. The characters are humourous if a little two dimensional at times, but the action is fast paced, the dialogue very sarcastic and the visuals are great but not perfect. All in all, one worth watching if you need cheering up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kick ass heroine, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Dominion Tank Police [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Set in a future Japan that is rife with corruption and crime and choking pollution the Government attempts to control the situation by forming the Tank police. Leona Ozaki the leader and her modified tank Bonaparte head a squad that is totally undisciplined set out to keep law and order in their own hilarious way. Their main aim is to destroy the insidious Dai Nippon Gaiken Corporation from flooding the streets with a new virtual drug. Their attempts to bring the ringleader to justice are so funny and I just love the kick ass attitude of Leona and her long suffering boss the way she is so tough and bolshie crease me up. I love this series and the author of the original Manga, Masamune Shirow (who also created Ghost in the shell and Appleseed) worked on this series personally so it stayed loyal to the original.

A must have for all Anime fans collections
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAN-MANGA-TASTIC!, 13 May 2004
This review is from: New Dominion Tank Police [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Finally, the dominion tank police is ours to own on dvd in all it's cel shaded glory. This is by far, the best manga comedy going on dvd. The music is mind blowing in it's 5.1 form, the lip-syncing is spot on, unlike many other great manga titles out there and i was laughing for the whole 3 hours of masumune shirow mayhem. So what are you waiting for, if you like manga, go get this. If you don't laugh, your not human.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Replica of Bubblegum Crisis with different characters, 14 Jan 2005
This review is from: New Dominion Tank Police [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
New Dominion Tank Police is a 6 episode dvd about a police force in the future who use tanks instead of police cars. As you can imagine, it causes a lot of damage that cheeses off all the citizens. The main character, Leona, is the woman pictured on the front. On the box it appears this is a serious manga, but its quite zany. Leona is in your face and disobeys orders using her own tank that she loves and cherishes. Her personality is a mix between Priss and Nene from Bubblegum Crisis.
This was a good dvd, but the only qualm I had was the beginning to each episode was just a clip show. It was really poorly done, and the music didn't help. The artwork was good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CLOSE! BUT NO CIGAR, 24 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: New Dominion Tank Police [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I was a little dissapointed that it lacked the unique edge in which Metropolis and Akira had and also the fact, it was highly overrated by many. I loved the soundtrack and thought that the sixth act(Last One) revived the movie. The great sequence where Bonaparte rampages down the aircraft runway while the theme song hits. I think if you like Metropolis and Akira it MIGHT be up your street,MIGHT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Dominion Tank Police [1993] [DVD]
New Dominion Tank Police [1993] [DVD] by Noboru Furuse (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: 2.86
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews